Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Errors Uploading pics with GD1, GD2 and / or ImageMagick  (Read 7023 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

plankbr

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Errors Uploading pics with GD1, GD2 and / or ImageMagick
« on: May 10, 2006, 10:08:12 pm »

I am having the same issue when I try to batch add files to a newly created photo gallery.  I already have 4 successful galleries in place. I am running Wndows XP SP2, IIS 6, PHP 5.1.2 and MySQL Server 4.1.  In debug mode whe I try to batch files, this is the code is received:

***REMOVED CODE***


Is there something that might have gotten corrupted in the coppermine *.php files that I do not see?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
« Last Edit: May 15, 2006, 09:34:49 pm by kegobeer »
Logged

Paver

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1609
  • Paul V.
Re: Errors Uploading pics with GD1, GD2 and / or ImageMagick
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2006, 11:51:56 pm »

It's not clear what your error is.  You need to give more details - i.e. "When I do this, I get this message."

We prefer that you do not give debug_info unless requested.

Are you saying you have 4 Coppermine galleries running fine, and this 5th one is having problems?

A link to your site with a non-admin test account may be useful as well.

And it would be useful if you read through the sticky thread "Troubleshooting the upload process" as well and see if anything there helps you.  (If you have, please say so.)
Logged

plankbr

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Errors Uploading pics with GD1, GD2 and / or ImageMagick
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2006, 03:03:17 pm »

I apologize for not being so clear.  When I try to batch add files, eith via ftp-ing them or transferring them over the LAN to the albums folder, I get the message that "image or thumbnail cannot be created.  The message I receive next to each picture is "click for details or to reload".  I click on the link and see the message "Unable to create thumbnail or reduced size image." when I am on the setting od GD2 Library. 

It is also correct that I have 4 successful galleries, and while I can create multiple new ones, I just can't add the photos to the newly created galleries.  I have also created a temp account for your perusal.  The username and password is temp / temp. 
I read through the sticky thread "Troubleshooting the upload process"and, from what I read, did not pertain to my issue.  I have gd2lib.dll (sp?) enabled on my php.ini file and am not getting any errors in the event viewer pertaining to php. 

Thanks again,

plankbr
« Last Edit: May 16, 2006, 02:21:48 pm by plankbr »
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Errors Uploading pics with GD1, GD2 and / or ImageMagick
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2006, 06:12:11 pm »

try the method suggested in "upload troubleshooting" anyway - the error message you will get should give you more details on what is wrong (permissions, ImageLibrary etc)
Logged

plankbr

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Errors Uploading pics with GD1, GD2 and / or ImageMagick
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2006, 09:28:49 pm »

I have exhaustively re-read the troubleshooting topics and still have no luck.  All permissions are set correctly (windoews XP SP2) in IIS and on the folder level.  It is looking like a combination of errors in debug/safe mode:
\include\logger.inc.php

    * Warning line 155: unlink(logs/global.log.php) [function.unlink]: Permission denied
    * Warning line 155: unlink(logs/security.log.php) [function.unlink]: Permission denied
    * Warning line 51: fopen(logs/global.log.php) [function.fopen]: failed to open stream: Permission denied
    * Warning line 53: fwrite(): supplied argument is not a valid stream resource
    * Warning line 54: fclose(): supplied argument is not a valid stream resource
    * Warning line 51: fopen(logs/global.log.php) [function.fopen]: failed to open stream: Permission denied
    * Warning line 53: fwrite(): supplied argument is not a valid stream resource
    * Warning line 54: fclose(): supplied argument is not a valid stream resource

\searchnew.php

    * Notice line 465: Undefined variable: edit_pics_content



Does this provide any insight?

plankbr
Logged

kegobeer

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4637
  • Beer - it does a body good!
    • The Kazebeer Family Website
Re: Errors Uploading pics with GD1, GD2 and / or ImageMagick
« Reply #5 on: May 11, 2006, 09:58:36 pm »

What versions of Coppermine are working correctly, and what version(s) aren't?  Have you upgraded PHP recently?

You also need to follow the troubleshooting guide, specifically the parts that tell you to only allow single file uploads.  I can't help troubleshoot until that's done.

http://coppermine-gallery.net/demo/cpg14x/docs/index.htm#upload_trouble
Logged
Do not send me a private message unless I ask for one.  Make your post public so everyone can benefit.

There are no stupid questions
But there are a LOT of inquisitive idiots

plankbr

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Errors Uploading pics with GD1, GD2 and / or ImageMagick
« Reply #6 on: May 15, 2006, 07:12:58 pm »

All version of Coppermine have worked flawlessly.  I upgraded to php Version 5.1.4 and MySQL Server 5.0.  The symptoms still remain the same.

I followed your instructions allowing single file uploads and received this warning / error:
Failed to create directory albums/userpics/10033 !

File: c:\Inetpub\wwwroot\photos\db_input.php - Line: 307

Is there possibly a windows XP setting in IIS to block writing to the DB?
Logged

kegobeer

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4637
  • Beer - it does a body good!
    • The Kazebeer Family Website
Re: Errors Uploading pics with GD1, GD2 and / or ImageMagick
« Reply #7 on: May 15, 2006, 07:14:21 pm »

That isn't a database problem, it's a file permission problem.  PHP cannot create directories in the userpics directory.  Review your permissions.
Logged
Do not send me a private message unless I ask for one.  Make your post public so everyone can benefit.

There are no stupid questions
But there are a LOT of inquisitive idiots

Paver

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1609
  • Paul V.
Re: Errors Uploading pics with GD1, GD2 and / or ImageMagick
« Reply #8 on: May 15, 2006, 08:39:21 pm »

From what I read in the Upload Troubleshooting sticky thread, PHP Safe Mode ON might stop you from creating directories in the userpics directory.
Logged

plankbr

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Errors Uploading pics with GD1, GD2 and / or ImageMagick
« Reply #9 on: May 15, 2006, 09:04:42 pm »

Thanks for the quick response.  I am running XP Pro sp2 and can't find where to set permissions per the instructions.
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Logged

plankbr

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Errors Uploading pics with GD1, GD2 and / or ImageMagick
« Reply #11 on: May 15, 2006, 09:11:46 pm »

That's the problem.  When I right-click on the folder(s), I don't get that menu.  I have only seen this on a Windows Server box and not XP pro.
Logged

kegobeer

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4637
  • Beer - it does a body good!
    • The Kazebeer Family Website
Re: Errors Uploading pics with GD1, GD2 and / or ImageMagick
« Reply #12 on: May 15, 2006, 09:15:37 pm »

You must have simple file sharing enabled.  You need to disable simple file sharing to get access to the security options.
Logged
Do not send me a private message unless I ask for one.  Make your post public so everyone can benefit.

There are no stupid questions
But there are a LOT of inquisitive idiots

plankbr

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Errors Uploading pics with GD1, GD2 and / or ImageMagick
« Reply #13 on: May 15, 2006, 09:20:24 pm »

THAT WORKED!!!  Thanks a bunch!!!  /me slaps himself for the issue being so small.

Thanks again.
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Errors Uploading pics with GD1, GD2 and / or ImageMagick
« Reply #14 on: May 16, 2006, 06:44:53 am »

self-hosting is not recommended!
Logged

plankbr

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Errors Uploading pics with GD1, GD2 and / or ImageMagick
« Reply #15 on: May 16, 2006, 02:22:27 pm »

Any particular reason?  It's just for personal use.
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Errors Uploading pics with GD1, GD2 and / or ImageMagick
« Reply #16 on: May 16, 2006, 05:09:43 pm »

Any particular reason?  It's just for personal use.
Has been discussed many times over. Here are some of the threads:
http://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/index.php?topic=31383.msg145305#msg145305
http://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/index.php?topic=27071.msg125166#msg125166
http://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/index.php?topic=27106.msg125280#msg125280
If "personal use" means that you're not going to make the server available from the internet, then that's OK.
Logged

plankbr

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Errors Uploading pics with GD1, GD2 and / or ImageMagick
« Reply #17 on: May 16, 2006, 06:35:39 pm »

I understand what you mean.  I am running Proventia Desktop.  Seems like an excellent product with all UDP disabled and only port 80 opened.  And again, thanks very much for helping out.  You all are very helpful!  ;D
« Last Edit: May 16, 2006, 06:43:23 pm by plankbr »
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Errors Uploading pics with GD1, GD2 and / or ImageMagick
« Reply #18 on: May 17, 2006, 12:20:11 am »

don't get lured into a false sense of security by trusting a security app and thinking everything is going to be OK. A security app can only close some holes, but it definitely won't close the holes your drill into the server or that exist in the webserver inherently.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.023 seconds with 20 queries.