Advanced search  

News:

CPG Release 1.6.26
Correct PHP8.2 issues with user and language managers.
Additional fixes for PHP 8.2
Correct PHP8 error with SMF 2.0 bridge.
Correct IPTC supplimental category parsing.
Download and info HERE

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Possible to change the " > " in breadcrumb path  (Read 4523 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Gephri

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 235
Possible to change the " > " in breadcrumb path
« on: January 25, 2006, 08:36:40 am »

Is it possible to change the " > " arrow that is the default pointer in the breadcrumb path to a more exciting image file on my site?

If so, can you please instruct... simple Img insertion has not worked.

Thanks in advance
« Last Edit: January 26, 2006, 10:10:22 am by GauGau »
Logged

Tranz

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 6149
Re: Possible to change the " > " in breadcrumb path
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2006, 08:46:42 am »

I don't see why not. Could you post the code you use?
Logged

Gephri

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 235
Re: Possible to change the " > " in breadcrumb path
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2006, 08:47:59 pm »

Typical image location in my root image file.  Code is:

<IMG src="/images/icons/arrw_y.gif" width="6" height="7" border="0" alt="arrw_y.gif" title="">

The problem in Coppermine is that the first instance of the new image doesn't show and instead shows the image code - except for the <I characters.

Thanks for the help in advance
Logged

Tranz

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 6149
Re: Possible to change the " > " in breadcrumb path
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2006, 09:04:26 pm »

Could you post that line in the context of where you put it? Like a few lines before and after? We also need a link to the page where you see this.

Please try to provide as much detail as possible when requesting help.
Logged

Gephri

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 235
Re: Possible to change the " > " in breadcrumb path
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2006, 08:37:54 am »

Sorry for being so cryptic - tried to not bore you with unneccesary info.

CPG Coding found in: functions.inc.php

Code: [Select]
// we check if the theme_breadcrumb exists...
        if (function_exists('theme_breadcrumb'))
        {
            theme_breadcrumb($breadcrumb_links, $BREADCRUMB_TEXTS, $breadcrumb, $BREADCRUMB_TEXT);
            return;
        }
        // otherwise we have a default breadcrumb builder:
        $breadcrumb = '';
        $BREADCRUMB_TEXT = '';
        foreach ($breadcrumb_links as $breadcrumb_link)
        {
            $breadcrumb .= ' > ' . $breadcrumb_link;
        }
        foreach ($BREADCRUMB_TEXTS as $BREADCRUMB_TEXT_elt)
        {
            $BREADCRUMB_TEXT .= ' > ' . $BREADCRUMB_TEXT_elt;
        }
        // We remove the first ' > '
        $breadcrumb = substr_replace($breadcrumb,'', 0, 3);
        $BREADCRUMB_TEXT = substr_replace($BREADCRUMB_TEXT,'', 0, 3);
        //echo $breadcrumb;


CPG Link: http://www.superstarparents.com/gallery_ss3/index.php?cat=8
(you'll see the default ">" in between "Public Galleries" and "Hillside...")

Page showing yellow arrow in a different breadcrumb: http://www.superstarparents.com/index/home.php
(top center between "SuperStar Parents" and "Index")

« Last Edit: January 26, 2006, 08:52:04 am by GauGau »
Logged

Tranz

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 6149
Re: Possible to change the " > " in breadcrumb path
« Reply #5 on: January 26, 2006, 08:57:22 am »

Replace this with the corresponding one in your copy:

Code: [Select]
        foreach ($breadcrumb_links as $breadcrumb_link)
        {
            $breadcrumb .= ' <IMG src="/images/icons/arrw_y.gif" width="6" height="7" border="0" alt="arrw_y.gif" title=""> ' . $breadcrumb_link;
        }
        foreach ($BREADCRUMB_TEXTS as $BREADCRUMB_TEXT_elt)
        {
            $BREADCRUMB_TEXT .= ' >  ' . $BREADCRUMB_TEXT_elt;
        }
        // We remove the first ' > '
        $breadcrumb = substr_replace($breadcrumb,'', 0, 95);

The key part was where it says to remove the first ' > '. Since the img tag is 95 characters, that's the number needed to remove the extra img code.
« Last Edit: January 26, 2006, 09:39:30 am by TranzNDance »
Logged

Gephri

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 235
Re: Possible to change the " > " in breadcrumb path
« Reply #6 on: January 26, 2006, 09:47:20 am »

Thanks so much for the help.

For anyone else following along for fun - you should probably also change the line that follows the updated coding from


        $BREADCRUMB_TEXT = substr_replace($BREADCRUMB_TEXT,'', 0, 3);

to


        $BREADCRUMB_TEXT = substr_replace($BREADCRUMB_TEXT,'', 0, 95);

Logged

Tranz

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 6149
Re: Possible to change the " > " in breadcrumb path
« Reply #7 on: January 26, 2006, 04:26:46 pm »

Do you see a difference when modifying the $breadcrumb_text -related code? I don't see any difference that's obvious so I changed the code back in my example.
Logged

Gephri

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 235
Re: Possible to change the " > " in breadcrumb path
« Reply #8 on: January 27, 2006, 12:05:37 am »

I did not detect a difference - but I did not look across all possible locations that it could show up.

I took a 'best guess' that it should probably match the line above.

If i run into any prob's - I'll post here.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.021 seconds with 16 queries.