Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Uploading Larger Files  (Read 4366 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

BBMB32

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4
    • Brandelle
Uploading Larger Files
« on: September 10, 2004, 08:20:48 am »

I've been watching my post over at nukepohotgallery.com, but no luck. It is a very simple question - I just want to allow larger file uploads. I can upload my 1600x1200 no prob, but any larger, I (and others) get an error saying that there is a problem with the file.

Is there a doc on the correct config to change this?

Thank you - Brandon

<< CPG for NUKE >>
Logged

kegobeer

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4637
  • Beer - it does a body good!
    • The Kazebeer Family Website
Re: Uploading Larger Files
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2004, 08:23:20 am »

I don't know if the nuke port has it, but you may be running into the max file size limitation and/or hitting the group disk quota limit, and/or hitting the max dimensions limit.  Check in config for Max size for uploaded files and Max width or height for uploaded pictures, and in the groups panel, disk quota.
Logged
Do not send me a private message unless I ask for one.  Make your post public so everyone can benefit.

There are no stupid questions
But there are a LOT of inquisitive idiots

BBMB32

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4
    • Brandelle
Re: Uploading Larger Files
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2004, 08:30:36 am »

I don't know if the nuke port has it, but you may be running into the max file size limitation and/or hitting the group disk quota limit, and/or hitting the max dimensions limit.  Check in config for Max size for uploaded files and Max width or height for uploaded pictures, and in the groups panel, disk quota.

I have those set at 10000KB - Both ::: Any more Ideas?
Logged

kegobeer

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4637
  • Beer - it does a body good!
    • The Kazebeer Family Website
Re: Uploading Larger Files
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2004, 08:33:27 am »

What error are you getting?
Logged
Do not send me a private message unless I ask for one.  Make your post public so everyone can benefit.

There are no stupid questions
But there are a LOT of inquisitive idiots

BBMB32

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4
    • Brandelle
Re: Uploading Larger Files
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2004, 08:41:21 am »

This is not a image or image has errors

<<see attached pic>>
Logged

kegobeer

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4637
  • Beer - it does a body good!
    • The Kazebeer Family Website
Re: Uploading Larger Files
« Reply #5 on: September 10, 2004, 08:46:38 am »

If you've set your Maximum dimensions to something larger than 1600, then I don't know what to tell you.  You've made sure that the image isn't corrupted?

You may also be running into a php memory limitation.
Logged
Do not send me a private message unless I ask for one.  Make your post public so everyone can benefit.

There are no stupid questions
But there are a LOT of inquisitive idiots

BBMB32

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4
    • Brandelle
Re: Uploading Larger Files
« Reply #6 on: September 10, 2004, 08:53:40 am »

I'm tried numerous files - Once I slim down the file, it's all good. But I want to avoid that because I have family members that aren't familiar with that.

Is there another way to do this? Maybe a different prog?
Logged

kegobeer

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4637
  • Beer - it does a body good!
    • The Kazebeer Family Website
Re: Uploading Larger Files
« Reply #7 on: September 10, 2004, 08:57:47 am »

You never said if you increased the max dimensions allowed.

It's not for nuke, but you can also try http://www.cpgnuke.com.  They have boards for Coppermine, although it's for CPG-nuke, and not PHP-nuke.  You might get some info from them.
« Last Edit: September 10, 2004, 09:05:20 am by kegobeer »
Logged
Do not send me a private message unless I ask for one.  Make your post public so everyone can benefit.

There are no stupid questions
But there are a LOT of inquisitive idiots

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Uploading Larger Files
« Reply #8 on: September 10, 2004, 09:43:50 am »

sounds like you're running into server-sided restrictions that can not be overcome by the means of coppermine (no matter what version you use). Please take a look at the sticky threads (the ones with a pin icon) on the Upload sub-board of the cpg1.3.2 support board - there are details what server settings (both in php.ini and apache.conf) can keep you from uploading large files and/or files with large dimensions. If you're webhosted, there's little you can do except falling on your knees and begging your webhost to change those settings for you, but I doubt they will. Having pics with such large dimensions on a webserver doesn't make sense to me anyway, and it's a waste of resources. I recommend you resize them on your client before actually uploading them.

Joachim
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.017 seconds with 21 queries.