Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Install.PHP Click let's go! and nothing happens  (Read 4205 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

elmo2274

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Install.PHP Click let's go! and nothing happens
« on: August 31, 2004, 08:17:22 pm »

I've scoured this forum and can't seem to find this same issue. I did find one post which was the same http://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/index.php?topic=8696.0 but that didn't seem to resolve.

I'm running a standalone Win 2K3 server (IIS 6.0). Installed PHP5.0.1, MYSQL4.0.20d, and ImageMagick.
I got PHP up and running just fine and I beleive I have MYSQL up just fine. I have created a new DB called coppermine and a new user through the MySQL Administrator GUI. I granted all schema privileges to the Coppermine and mysql databases.

I configured IIS for the PHP extension and such. I bring up my website (http://elliot.serveftp.net) and It brings up the coppermine page saying it hasn't been installed correctly and sends me to the install page. I enter what I want for my admin account

Username: elmo2274
Password: ******(yes it is just letters and numbers)

my SQL config is:

Localhost
coppermine
elmo2274 (the user I setup in MYSQL with all permissions granted)
****** (just letters and numbers, same as above)
cpg132_

ImageMagick path is "C:/ImageMagick/"

Click Let's Go and page just seems to refresh\reset all info.
« Last Edit: September 02, 2004, 02:34:05 am by kegobeer »
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Install.PHP Click let's go! and nothing happens
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2004, 11:03:59 pm »

Make sure you have set permissions to let the webserver have read/execute permissions for the whole coppermine folder and read/write/execute for the include and albums dir (and everything within it) - although Windoze/IIS doesn't have CHMOD, it has nevertheless permissions. If the coppermine install keeps on sending you to the install script, even though you went through the install routine already this usually means the script doesn't have write access to the include folder (this is where the database connection data is being stored, the install routine tries to create a file called config.inc.php there.

Joachim
Logged

elmo2274

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: Install.PHP Click let's go! and nothing happens
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2004, 04:14:45 am »

Ok. Well I double checked all my permissions both on the folders and on my server config and it all looked fine. I did find that I hadn't updated one of my php.ini files (one in the c:\PHP folder and the other in C:\Windows) to turn on the register_long_arrays. Once I did that I also restarted IIS and I was able to get semi past the lets go issue.

I now seem to have the flush issue which I read about earlier. From what I see in http://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/index.php?topic=1642.0 With PHP5.0.1 mysql support is built in. I do have libmysql.dll and libmysqli.dll. I can remove all the flush() commands in the index.php, searchnew.php, and editpics.php. It also mentions mod_deflate\mod_gzip but as far as I know that is only an apache feature.

Any other ideas?
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Install.PHP Click let's go! and nothing happens
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2004, 07:17:36 am »

urm, sorry - I'm running out of ideas, as I don't have php5 myself. I know for sure though that although you might find 2 versions of php.ini on your server, only one of them is taken into account. I recommend finding out which actually is "in charge", so you won't have to fiddle with both.

Joachim
Logged

kegobeer

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4637
  • Beer - it does a body good!
    • The Kazebeer Family Website
Re: Install.PHP Click let's go! and nothing happens
« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2004, 03:54:18 pm »

This is from a PHP5 issue over at http://www.simplemachines.org.  Maybe it will help:

Quote
Here is the solution to my problem (thanks to unknown for assistance with this via pm).

Even though the PHP5 installation instructions says to AVOID using the C:\WINNT folder if possible and to add c:\php to your system paths, this method would not work for IIS 5 and PHP5 using ISAPI mode. The solution was to copy php.ini, libmysql.dll, and php5isapi.dll into the c:\WINNT folder and give them permissions for the IUSR_ account (a step you can easily forget if you've already given permissions to c:\php and files inside of it).

Once you do that, follow the steps to adding the .php extension to your IIS configuration and reboot (actually, I didn't have to reboot IIS, but it's better to be safe).

Silly PHP5. =)
Logged
Do not send me a private message unless I ask for one.  Make your post public so everyone can benefit.

There are no stupid questions
But there are a LOT of inquisitive idiots

elmo2274

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: Install.PHP Click let's go! and nothing happens
« Reply #5 on: September 02, 2004, 02:28:33 am »

Ok well after about another 6 hours of playing and deleting everything (coppermine, mysql, php) and reinstalling I still didn't have any luck. I uninstalled php5 and reinstalled php4 used the same settings except for changing php5ts.dll and php5isapi.dll to version 4 files and all worked perfectly. Not sure what it is about my setup but it just didn't like php5.

Thanks for all your help. You ppl are the greatest. Very fast and good suggestions.
Logged

kegobeer

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4637
  • Beer - it does a body good!
    • The Kazebeer Family Website
Re: Install.PHP Click let's go! and nothing happens
« Reply #6 on: September 02, 2004, 02:33:45 am »

PHP5 is still very new and there aren't a lot of good guides on how to install it, configure it, and get it working with MySQL.  Once it's been around for a while you'll see some guides pop up.

Marking this thread as solved.
Logged
Do not send me a private message unless I ask for one.  Make your post public so everyone can benefit.

There are no stupid questions
But there are a LOT of inquisitive idiots

tycoonrp

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
Re: Install.PHP Click let's go! and nothing happens
« Reply #7 on: September 02, 2004, 09:56:29 pm »

I read the manual and your posting and I still confused on how to get the CPG started.  Do you have your own easy step on how to get it started?  I host my own webpage.  Thanks in advance.
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Install.PHP Click let's go! and nothing happens
« Reply #8 on: September 02, 2004, 11:38:56 pm »

Just follow the instructions step by step and post what exactly you don't understand. If you run your own server, you shouldn't run into any difficulties, since doing so (running a server on the internet) should mean you know your way around.

Joachim
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.021 seconds with 19 queries.