Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: how to add link to the menu  (Read 81999 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

YUKAHO89

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
how to add link to the menu
« on: August 31, 2004, 03:45:55 pm »

THx like this
« Last Edit: November 22, 2005, 04:37:18 am by Nibbler »
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: how to add link to the menu
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2004, 11:46:58 pm »

edit themes/mac_ox_x/theme.php, find
Code: [Select]
<!-- BEGIN logout -->
                                                <a href="{LOGOUT_TGT}">{LOGOUT_LNK}</a> |
<!-- END logout -->
EOT;
and replace with
Code: [Select]
<!-- BEGIN logout -->
                                                <a href="{LOGOUT_TGT}">{LOGOUT_LNK}</a> |
<!-- END logout -->
                                                <a href="myfile.htm">my link text</a> |

EOT;


Find
Code: [Select]
                                        <td><img src="themes/mac_ox_x/images/menu_button_bg_left.gif" border="0" alt="" /><br /></td>
                                        <td background="themes/mac_ox_x/images/menu_button_bg_middle.gif" valign="top">
                                                <a href="{SEARCH_TGT}" onMouseOver="MM_showHideLayers('Menu1','','hide')">{SEARCH_LNK}</a>
                                        </td>
                                        <td><img src="themes/mac_ox_x/images/menu_button_bg_right.gif" border="0" alt="" /><br /></td>
and add after it
Code: [Select]
                                        <td><img src="themes/mac_ox_x/images/menu_button_bg_left.gif" border="0" alt="" /><br /></td>
                                        <td background="themes/mac_ox_x/images/menu_button_bg_middle.gif" valign="top">
                                                <a href="myfile.htm" onMouseOver="MM_showHideLayers('Menu1','','hide')">my link text</a>
                                        </td>
                                        <td><img src="themes/mac_ox_x/images/menu_button_bg_right.gif" border="0" alt="" /><br /></td>

In the future, please search before posting, as this has been asked before already.

Joachim
Logged

brownbabe

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: how to add link to the menu
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2005, 08:50:25 pm »

edit themes/mac_ox_x/theme.php, find
Code: [Select]
<!-- BEGIN logout -->
                                                <a href="{LOGOUT_TGT}">{LOGOUT_LNK}</a> |
<!-- END logout -->
EOT;
and replace with
Code: [Select]
<!-- BEGIN logout -->
                                                <a href="{LOGOUT_TGT}">{LOGOUT_LNK}</a> |
<!-- END logout -->
                                                <a href="myfile.htm">my link text</a> |

EOT;


Find
Code: [Select]
                                        <td><img src="themes/mac_ox_x/images/menu_button_bg_left.gif" border="0" alt="" /><br /></td>
                                        <td background="themes/mac_ox_x/images/menu_button_bg_middle.gif" valign="top">
                                                <a href="{SEARCH_TGT}" onMouseOver="MM_showHideLayers('Menu1','','hide')">{SEARCH_LNK}</a>
                                        </td>
                                        <td><img src="themes/mac_ox_x/images/menu_button_bg_right.gif" border="0" alt="" /><br /></td>
and add after it
Code: [Select]
                                        <td><img src="themes/mac_ox_x/images/menu_button_bg_left.gif" border="0" alt="" /><br /></td>
                                        <td background="themes/mac_ox_x/images/menu_button_bg_middle.gif" valign="top">
                                                <a href="myfile.htm" onMouseOver="MM_showHideLayers('Menu1','','hide')">my link text</a>
                                        </td>
                                        <td><img src="themes/mac_ox_x/images/menu_button_bg_right.gif" border="0" alt="" /><br /></td>

In the future, please search before posting, as this has been asked before already.

Joachim

HELP!!!!!
I did exactly as above and now everything's gone blank!!!!!
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: how to add link to the menu
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2005, 08:52:05 pm »

I expect you did the editting incorrectly. Attach your theme.php to this thread, rename it first.
Logged

brownbabe

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: how to add link to the menu
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2005, 09:31:13 pm »

Sorry, but do I just copy and paste it here? Is that what you are asking?
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: how to add link to the menu
« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2005, 09:39:26 pm »

rename a local copy from theme.php to theme.txt, reply to this thread, click on "additional options" at the bottom left when composing your message and attach your file to your reply.
Logged

brownbabe

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: how to add link to the menu
« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2005, 09:54:21 pm »

I hope I did this right:
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: how to add link to the menu
« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2005, 10:34:09 pm »

you didn't, there's no attachment that goes with your posting. If you're having issues with attaching a file, upload the theme.php renamed to txt or zipped and upload it to your server. Then post a link to the file so we can download it from there.
Logged

brownbabe

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: how to add link to the menu
« Reply #8 on: November 20, 2005, 11:39:44 pm »

you didn't, there's no attachment that goes with your posting. If you're having issues with attaching a file, upload the theme.php renamed to txt or zipped and upload it to your server. Then post a link to the file so we can download it from there.

I am totally stupid when it comes to this stuff so here is the link to the file I attempted to attach.
http://womenmotorcyclistsunited.com/coppermine/themes/mac_ox_x/themes/mac_ox_x/macox

Is that OK? All I wanted to do was add a link so that people could get back to my homepage and now I am a big whiny baby :\'(
Logged

brownbabe

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: how to add link to the menu
« Reply #9 on: November 20, 2005, 11:44:02 pm »

Can't I just re download the mac ox template somehow?
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: how to add link to the menu
« Reply #10 on: November 20, 2005, 11:51:28 pm »

The idea is that you give us the version of the file that you modified so we can see what the problem is. Giving us a completely unmodified file is pointless.
Logged

brownbabe

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: how to add link to the menu
« Reply #11 on: November 21, 2005, 12:49:35 am »

The idea is that you give us the version of the file that you modified so we can see what the problem is. Giving us a completely unmodified file is pointless.

Can you walk me thru this so I can do it right? Just tell me what buttons I need to press. I can follow step by step instructions well enough.
Logged

brownbabe

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: how to add link to the menu
« Reply #12 on: November 21, 2005, 04:47:49 am »

I have somehow managed to restore the moc_ox_x back into my photogallery where it doesn't revert to classic. Now I am afraid to do anything to it. Please tell me again in concise steps how I can place a link back to my homepage on that particular template. I don't want to lose it again by doing something stupid.

Logged

brownbabe

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: how to add link to the menu
« Reply #13 on: November 21, 2005, 05:39:12 am »

edit themes/mac_ox_x/theme.php, find
Code: [Select]
<!-- BEGIN logout -->
                                                <a href="{LOGOUT_TGT}">{LOGOUT_LNK}</a> |
<!-- END logout -->
EOT;
and replace with
Code: [Select]
<!-- BEGIN logout -->
                                                <a href="{LOGOUT_TGT}">{LOGOUT_LNK}</a> |
<!-- END logout -->
                                                <a href="myfile.htm">my link text</a> |

EOT;


Find
Code: [Select]
                                        <td><img src="themes/mac_ox_x/images/menu_button_bg_left.gif" border="0" alt="" /><br /></td>
                                        <td background="themes/mac_ox_x/images/menu_button_bg_middle.gif" valign="top">
                                                <a href="{SEARCH_TGT}" onMouseOver="MM_showHideLayers('Menu1','','hide')">{SEARCH_LNK}</a>
                                        </td>
                                        <td><img src="themes/mac_ox_x/images/menu_button_bg_right.gif" border="0" alt="" /><br /></td>
and add after it
Code: [Select]
                                        <td><img src="themes/mac_ox_x/images/menu_button_bg_left.gif" border="0" alt="" /><br /></td>
                                        <td background="themes/mac_ox_x/images/menu_button_bg_middle.gif" valign="top">
                                                <a href="myfile.htm" onMouseOver="MM_showHideLayers('Menu1','','hide')">my link text</a>
                                        </td>
                                        <td><img src="themes/mac_ox_x/images/menu_button_bg_right.gif" border="0" alt="" /><br /></td>

In the future, please search before posting, as this has been asked before already.

Joachim


Sorry, I am having great difficulty understanding this. But a question or 2 that might help me get this a little clearly.

Step 1. OK I found this code:
find
Code: [Select]
<!-- BEGIN logout -->
                                                <a href="{LOGOUT_TGT}">{LOGOUT_LNK}</a> |
<!-- END logout -->
EOT;

Step 2. Replace code with:
Code: [Select]
<!-- BEGIN logout -->
                                                <a href="{LOGOUT_TGT}">{LOGOUT_LNK}</a> |
<!-- END logout -->
                                                <a href="myfile.htm">my link text</a> |

EOT;


I just copied and pasted it....was that not what I do? Do I have to replace "myfile.htm" With a file of my own? Or do I leave it as is?

Step 3

Find second set of code. OK I did that too.

Step 4 Add after it.....I just copied and pasted that too. I have no clue if that is what I am to do.....or do I fill in or change something in this line under "myfile.htm":


  <td background="themes/mac_ox_x/images/menu_button_bg_middle.gif" valign="top">
                                                <a href="myfile.htm" onMouseOver="MM_showHideLayers('Menu1','','hide')">my link text</a>
                                        </td>

For example do I write the line as such.

  <td background="themes/mac_ox_x/images/menu_button_bg_middle.gif" valign="top">
                                                <a href="return to website.htm" onMouseOver="MM_showHideLayers('Menu1','','hide')">my link text</a>
                                        </td>

Or is it like this:
  <td background="themes/mac_ox_x/images/menu_button_bg_middle.gif" valign="top">
                                                <a href="myfile.htm" onMouseOver="MM_showHideLayers('Menu1','','hide')">return to website</a>
                                        </td>

Sorry for all the code copying but I am trying to understand this.

P.S. Is there anywhere I can test this before I try it on my own gallery. I don't want to make a mistake again.

« Last Edit: November 21, 2005, 05:47:12 am by brownbabe »
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: how to add link to the menu
« Reply #14 on: November 21, 2005, 07:08:18 am »

download the attached file, rename it from theme.php.txt to theme.php and replace the one you have inside your folder /coppermine/themes/mac_ox_x/ with the one I supplied. For the future, I recommend following instrctions more thoroughly and learning some HTML. Use a plain text editor to edit your files, notepad.exe is fine.
Logged

brownbabe

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: how to add link to the menu
« Reply #15 on: November 22, 2005, 04:16:21 am »

Gaugau,

THANK YOU!!!! so much. I really appreciate what you did. (((((BIG HUG)))))

And yes, I think I need to take some lessons of this code thing.

Thanks again. It works now. ;D
Logged

Loïc

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 165
Re: how to add link to the menu
« Reply #16 on: December 12, 2005, 10:33:17 am »

I've already done this by myself and it works perfectly. But I want my gallery to be available in several languages. So I guess I have to add some new variables in the language files and to use it instead of "<a href="myfile.htm">my link text</a>". Can someone tell me where I have to difine those variables?
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.031 seconds with 20 queries.