Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Album can be viewed by specified users (not groups)  (Read 5133 times)

milda

• Coppermine newbie
    • Mildas web
Album can be viewed by specified users (not groups)
« on: July 30, 2004, 09:20:24 am »

I like to set up rights (who can view category) not for groups but for users.
Example:
I have users A, B, C, D and E and I want to:
-category1 is viewable for A, B, C
-category2 is viewable for B, C
-category3 is viewable for A, B, C, D
-category4 is viewable for A, C, D, E

so now I must create groups for all this permutations (or for whole categories).
I am new in coppermine so maybe I missed something. So is there any way to do that? I dont think so.

« Last Edit: August 03, 2004, 09:52:36 am by GauGau »

Joachim Müller

• Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Album can be viewed by specified users (not groups)
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2004, 09:34:54 am »

no, but setting permissions by user is not a good idea, that's why groups have been created. You'll find that in most advanced apps or operating systems, groups permissions are better than user permissions, giving you a much more flexible approach.

Please understand that this board is labelled "feature requests" and is exactly what the name says. There's no support here, you just requested a feature for a future version of coppermine and I just tried to explain to you nicely that this feature won't go into a future version.

GauGau

milda

• Coppermine newbie
    • Mildas web
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2004, 11:12:10 am »