Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: add the possibility of 2FA  (Read 919 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

FrA1l3

  • Translator
  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Country: es
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 68
    • ACMSB
add the possibility of 2FA
« on: March 17, 2021, 09:34:44 am »

Hi, has anyone explored the feasibility of including a 2FA in coppermine? either through plugin or within the code itself? I would be interested in developing the idea via plugin. Just ask for a google authenticator / Authy token or similar.
If someone has started with it, it would be nice to gather ideas.
Logged

Phill Luckhurst

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4801
    • Windsurf.me
Re: add the possibility of 2FA
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2021, 02:04:01 pm »

I donít think this has been looked at in any way. I look forward to seeing what you come up with as it is a great idea.
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

ron4mac

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1676
Re: add the possibility of 2FA
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2021, 05:55:56 pm »

I think a plugin could be the most appropriate way to add 2FA to CPG.  The current problem in creating such a plugin is that the login process is/was written without any accommodation for plugins to intervene. When I have some extra time, I'll investigate it more fully.
Logged

Phill Luckhurst

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4801
    • Windsurf.me
Re: add the possibility of 2FA
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2021, 08:10:05 pm »

Hopefully we could just add a hook for it. One user added bridging just so they could use 2FA from their bridged app. Seemed very extreme to install PHPbb just for its 2FA but some will go to any extent.
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

ron4mac

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1676
Re: add the possibility of 2FA
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2021, 02:24:30 am »

I've hacked together a Beta plugin to provide CPG with 2FA. Those willing to try it out ... please provide feedback. Especially useful will be any issues it may cause with login forms in various themes.

[ see released plugin ]

« Last Edit: March 21, 2021, 05:24:38 pm by ron4mac »
Logged

FrA1l3

  • Translator
  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Country: es
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 68
    • ACMSB
Re: add the possibility of 2FA
« Reply #5 on: March 22, 2021, 09:52:57 am »

Awesome, thank you in advance. I will comment here.

best regards
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.017 seconds with 20 queries.