Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Blank page at step 2  (Read 796 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

KurisuSparda

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Blank page at step 2
« on: January 06, 2020, 02:37:25 am »

So I'm trying to install Coppermine for a college project. Everything went fine until I was already at my localhost on the install.php.
After pressing the Let's Go button on the first screen the second step appeared, but it's just a blank screen with the coppermine logo and a blue bar that says "Checking installations files", and it doesn't do anything at all.
I even tried with the stub several times because I checked a lot of topics here before deciding to make an account but it didn't work either and it's really stressing me out, and I don't know what I'm doing wrong. If anyone could help me out I would really appreciate it.
Logged

ron4mac

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1578
Re: Blank page at step 2
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2020, 04:41:50 am »

Perhaps this will help:
https://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/index.php/topic,79961.msg387363.html#msg387363

If you use the cpg_installer_stub, choose to install the version listed at the bottom of the list (in red).
Logged

KurisuSparda

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: Blank page at step 2
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2020, 10:49:45 am »

I did look at that post before posting myself but it didn't really work. I tried what you said but an error appears at step 2 saying "PHP must be enabled for XML parsing". I do have php-xml installed since the other person also had problems with that, so I don't get why is this happening.
Logged

ron4mac

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1578
Re: Blank page at step 2
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2020, 02:07:11 pm »

I do have php-xml installed since the other person also had problems with that, so I don't get why is this happening.

Perhaps you need a restart.
Logged

KurisuSparda

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: Blank page at step 2
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2020, 02:11:34 pm »

You mean a php restart or a system restart?
Logged

ron4mac

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1578
Re: Blank page at step 2
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2020, 05:26:51 pm »

You haven't given any system info ... so apply as needed.

Check that php-xml installed okay. Something like...
Code: [Select]
$ php -i | grep xml
/etc/php/7.3/cli/conf.d/15-xml.ini,
/etc/php/7.3/cli/conf.d/20-simplexml.ini,
/etc/php/7.3/cli/conf.d/20-xmlreader.ini,
/etc/php/7.3/cli/conf.d/20-xmlwriter.ini,
xmlrpc_error_number => 0 => 0
xmlrpc_errors => Off => Off
libxml Version => 2.9.4
libxml
mbstring.http_output_conv_mimetypes => ^(text/|application/xhtml\+xml) => ^(text/|application/xhtml\+xml)
xml
libxml2 Version => 2.9.4
xmlreader
xmlwriter
libxslt compiled against libxml Version => 2.9.4

If all good there, at least restart apache:
Code: [Select]
sudo systemctl restart apache2
Logged

KurisuSparda

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: Blank page at step 2
« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2020, 05:49:46 pm »

That worked since I had php xml installed for 7.3 when I have 7.0, so I installed it, thank you! But now I'm stuck in step 6. Says connection is okay when I input the database user and password but when I click to next step it goes back to step 6. Also for some reason the option of MySQL itself is not available, just MySQLI and PDO:MySQL.
Logged

ron4mac

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1578
Re: Blank page at step 2
« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2020, 07:23:06 pm »

PHP 7.x does not provide the old mysql_ functions ... only mysqli_ or PDO:mysql.
Make sure you have a database created and the database user has all permissions.
https://coppermine-gallery.net/docs/curr/en/install.htm#how_database_info
Logged

KurisuSparda

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: Blank page at step 2
« Reply #8 on: January 06, 2020, 07:35:18 pm »

Oh god I was pretty sure I did the grant all priviledges and flush priviledges commands, I wrote them again and it worked, thank you so much.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.023 seconds with 22 queries.