Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: DOCTYPE issues in Google Developer Tools Audit  (Read 1030 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Lon

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
DOCTYPE issues in Google Developer Tools Audit
« on: December 15, 2018, 09:23:28 pm »

Hello,

First off, thanks for making such a great image gallery! I've been using Coppermine for many years, through several upgrades/updates, and it has never failed me once. Kudos to the developer(s).

The concern I have right now is, when I run my 1.5.46 (stable) version in Google Developer Tools "Audit" it says the following:

Quote
Page is missing the HTML doctype
Expected publicId to be an empty string



And as a result, Google dings my site in the "Best Practices" category. The DOCTYPE listed on all pages is the standard:


Code: [Select]
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN"
   "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">


Is it safe to replace it with the latest?


Code: [Select]
<!DOCTYPE html>

Or is there a newer legacy DOCTYPE that I should be using?


Thanks for any help!
Logged

Phill Luckhurst

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4659
    • Windsurf.me
Re: DOCTYPE issues in Google Developer Tools Audit
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2018, 04:11:39 pm »

It is safe to adjust as needed. I assume you are using an old theme?
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

Lon

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: DOCTYPE issues in Google Developer Tools Audit
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2018, 09:29:43 pm »

Yes indeed, it's at least 6 years old. Everything seems fine with the updated DOCTYPE. Thank you for that!

Has there been an update to the image spacer "dimensions should match natural aspect ratio" issue as well? An update perhaps using style spacing or something...

I'm also being dinged for no titles on iFrames. Is there an easy edit for this? How many files or instances are there?

Again thank you for your help!
Logged

Phill Luckhurst

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4659
    • Windsurf.me
Re: DOCTYPE issues in Google Developer Tools Audit
« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2018, 09:46:57 pm »

That is a lot of questions and ones that are impossible to answer without a link to your site so we can see what theme you are using.
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

Lon

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: DOCTYPE issues in Google Developer Tools Audit
« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2018, 11:03:04 pm »

Thanks for your quick response! I misspoke earlier, sorry. After looking at my theme files, they are 1.5.46 and using standard Curve theme.

The following is from the header of template.html, which had the DOCTYPE shown above:

Code: [Select]
<!--
  SVN version info:
  Coppermine version: 1.5.9
  $HeadURL: https://svn.code.sf.net/p/coppermine/code/trunk/cpg1.5.x/themes/curve/template.html $
  $Revision: 7809 $
-->

Not sure if it was previous theme files are new. So it looks like the latest Curve theme is using a 1x1-pixel image for formatting as well.

Is there documentation somewhere that lists iFrames in 1.5.46 Curve theme and core files?

Thanks in advance!
Logged

Lon

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: DOCTYPE issues in Google Developer Tools Audit
« Reply #5 on: December 29, 2018, 01:55:29 am »

themes.inc.php v1.5.46 (stable) writes old DOCTYPE and I'm sure there are many others.



Does anyone know the most responsive Coppermine theme that does not use tons of spacer images?

TIA
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.017 seconds with 21 queries.