Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Is there a solution to Coppermine looking "good" on a mobile phone?  (Read 5393 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

sharpo

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 326
Re: Is there a solution to Coppermine looking "good" on a mobile phone?
« Reply #20 on: November 13, 2018, 09:06:42 am »

Haven't had a chance to change theme yet, but did try another site I looked at a couple of days ago. Chuckster had posted and linked to his mopartsunlimited site, and that behaves exactly the same as my site.

I can try my site on an old phone, and my wife's later.
Logged
Sharpo (not an expert, just a Coppermine user)
3 live galleries, first started in 2006, all now 1.6.04.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/BB3cpg/ (1.6.07)with over 8,000 images.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/cpg/ with over 25,000 images
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/kc/ with over 300 images

sharpo

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 326
Re: Is there a solution to Coppermine looking "good" on a mobile phone?
« Reply #21 on: November 13, 2018, 12:19:39 pm »

Here we go with the latest news....

My theme works fine on my wife's mobile with Chrome.

I installed Monicadesign 12 and tried it on my phone. HTML5 slideshow with Firefox works perfectly, but not Chrome or Samsung browser.

Samsung, swiping left on the first slideshow sends the image to the left and freezes when you stop swiping, but then starts to work if you jiggle back and forth as in the video.

Chrome gives an enormous image too large to fit on the screen, as in the video.

So is it just Chrome and Samsung browser phone that are screwed up? Do you know of any settings within those browsers to change? Chrome is version 70.0.3538.80

Logged
Sharpo (not an expert, just a Coppermine user)
3 live galleries, first started in 2006, all now 1.6.04.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/BB3cpg/ (1.6.07)with over 8,000 images.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/cpg/ with over 25,000 images
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/kc/ with over 300 images

sharpo

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 326
Re: Is there a solution to Coppermine looking "good" on a mobile phone?
« Reply #22 on: November 13, 2018, 12:50:44 pm »

SHOCK ANNOUNCEMENT>>>

Turned off "force enable zoom" in Chrome and HTML5 slideshow works. Turned off "manual zoom" with Samsung browser and that works as well.

Looks like we're almost there. Need a break now, will change theme back again later.
Logged
Sharpo (not an expert, just a Coppermine user)
3 live galleries, first started in 2006, all now 1.6.04.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/BB3cpg/ (1.6.07)with over 8,000 images.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/cpg/ with over 25,000 images
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/kc/ with over 300 images

ron4mac

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1366
Re: Is there a solution to Coppermine looking "good" on a mobile phone?
« Reply #23 on: November 13, 2018, 01:34:24 pm »

YAY  :)
Logged

sharpo

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 326
Re: Is there a solution to Coppermine looking "good" on a mobile phone?
« Reply #24 on: November 13, 2018, 03:06:43 pm »

Thanks to all for help and assistance over the last days, weeks, months, years or whatever. I think I've now got to the end of the line (that's train talk, as my photos would indicate.)

I've just changed a couple of things in my original 1.6 test and it seems to work with the three browsers I've been playing with. To be honest, I've lost track (trains again!) of the minor modifications I've made to the cpgmob test I was working on in recent days, think the answer will be to download the basic mobile_light theme and other plugins I use, then correct the problems I come across by making the edits.

I'll make a note of each modification that I make, then if other people have similar problems they may find the answer here. Or maybe the themes/plugins themselves need tweeking so that other people who download don't have the same problems???

That's probably it for today, gotta catch up on a few other jobs.
Logged
Sharpo (not an expert, just a Coppermine user)
3 live galleries, first started in 2006, all now 1.6.04.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/BB3cpg/ (1.6.07)with over 8,000 images.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/cpg/ with over 25,000 images
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/kc/ with over 300 images

sharpo

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 326
Re: Is there a solution to Coppermine looking "good" on a mobile phone?
« Reply #25 on: November 13, 2018, 05:50:29 pm »

Looks like I'll be keeping you amused for a bit longer!!

Deleted the plugins and theme so as to start from the basics of the site. Reactivated comments, installed theme_switch 1.1 and the "special" mobile_light added to one of the posts in a reply to me. Gave it a try, and as expected with the "comments" activated, the page was too wide, so deactivated comments again. This made the page fit - BUT the image became narrow and tall.

I really thought I had it all under control. obviously not.

Logged
Sharpo (not an expert, just a Coppermine user)
3 live galleries, first started in 2006, all now 1.6.04.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/BB3cpg/ (1.6.07)with over 8,000 images.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/cpg/ with over 25,000 images
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/kc/ with over 300 images

sharpo

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 326
Re: Is there a solution to Coppermine looking "good" on a mobile phone?
« Reply #26 on: November 13, 2018, 08:43:37 pm »

I'm seriously losing the plot at the moment, had a second attempt at re-installing the themes and plugins and messed it up, getting that narrow image again. Probably did something stupid, as usual, then decided to restore all the files I backed up this afternoon.

As it stands at the moment, fully working the way I wanted it to. Will have a break for a few days.
Logged
Sharpo (not an expert, just a Coppermine user)
3 live galleries, first started in 2006, all now 1.6.04.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/BB3cpg/ (1.6.07)with over 8,000 images.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/cpg/ with over 25,000 images
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/kc/ with over 300 images

ron4mac

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1366
Re: Is there a solution to Coppermine looking "good" on a mobile phone?
« Reply #27 on: November 13, 2018, 09:15:30 pm »

I will likely update the mobile_light theme as soon as I've found time to correct the issues caused by the add-a-comment section.
Logged

sharpo

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 326
Re: Is there a solution to Coppermine looking "good" on a mobile phone?
« Reply #28 on: November 13, 2018, 11:34:56 pm »

No rush on my account Ron, I don't really need it.

If nothing else, at least I've helped discover a problem - even if I didn't know what the cause was or how to fix it.
Logged
Sharpo (not an expert, just a Coppermine user)
3 live galleries, first started in 2006, all now 1.6.04.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/BB3cpg/ (1.6.07)with over 8,000 images.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/cpg/ with over 25,000 images
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/kc/ with over 300 images

sharpo

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 326
Re: Is there a solution to Coppermine looking "good" on a mobile phone?
« Reply #29 on: November 14, 2018, 12:02:05 am »

Ron, going back a few posts in this topic you posted the link to that "new" mobile_light theme zip for me. It seems that was causing the narrower images I got a couple of times when trying to recreate what I had done. Just tried 1.5 version 1.0 and the images come out the right shape on my mobile. Still a way off finishing the test rebuild, but it gets me one step further.

I think there may have been some little fiddles or fixes we tried that wouldn't have been needed if the settings in 2 of my browsers hadn't been causing a problem.

At least if it gets sort of "documented" in this topic it'll maybe make it easier if people are searching for similar problems. I'll continue with the recreate project and keep you posted on progress - when I get stuck that is!!

Logged
Sharpo (not an expert, just a Coppermine user)
3 live galleries, first started in 2006, all now 1.6.04.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/BB3cpg/ (1.6.07)with over 8,000 images.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/cpg/ with over 25,000 images
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/kc/ with over 300 images

sharpo

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 326
Re: Is there a solution to Coppermine looking "good" on a mobile phone?
« Reply #30 on: November 14, 2018, 11:29:33 am »

I'm obviously up for "Idiot of The Week" award.

I tried again to set up a new site with the mobile modifications. Ended up with the narrow intermediate images again, that's too high in relation to the width. Thinking carefully, I thought the answer would be to use mobile_lite theme and theme_switch from the working site - so deleted those 2 folders and uploaded what I thought would fix the problem. It doesn't, the intermediates are still taller than they should be in relation to the width. BUT if I tip the phone sideways the proportions seem right.

Setting theme_switch for other ordinary themes, including Monicadesign, does get the right proportions, but not for mobile_lite. Was there some other modification done to the "working" one of mine that made function correctly that isn't within the theme? Totally confused now......

Logged
Sharpo (not an expert, just a Coppermine user)
3 live galleries, first started in 2006, all now 1.6.04.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/BB3cpg/ (1.6.07)with over 8,000 images.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/cpg/ with over 25,000 images
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/kc/ with over 300 images

sharpo

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 326
Re: Is there a solution to Coppermine looking "good" on a mobile phone?
« Reply #31 on: November 14, 2018, 08:27:20 pm »

Hope you haven't fallen off your chairs laughing at my problems. Just thought, reset theme to mobile_light for all, so it will distort the intermediate image if you slide in the edge of your desktop pc browser screen.

http://www.sharpo.co.uk/cpgtest/index.php
Logged
Sharpo (not an expert, just a Coppermine user)
3 live galleries, first started in 2006, all now 1.6.04.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/BB3cpg/ (1.6.07)with over 8,000 images.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/cpg/ with over 25,000 images
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/kc/ with over 300 images

ron4mac

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1366
Re: Is there a solution to Coppermine looking "good" on a mobile phone?
« Reply #32 on: November 14, 2018, 08:33:48 pm »

I've updated the mobile_light theme to include all the changes to fix issues that you found (including the add-a-comment section with smilies). I thought you should test it before I post it in its appropriate place.
Logged

sharpo

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 326
Re: Re: Is there a solution to Coppermine looking "good" on a mobile phone?
« Reply #33 on: November 14, 2018, 09:04:26 pm »

I've updated the mobile_light theme to include all the changes to fix issues that you found (including the add-a-comment section with smilies). I thought you should test it before I post it in its appropriate place.
OK - will do it now, give me a few minutes to see what happens.
Logged
Sharpo (not an expert, just a Coppermine user)
3 live galleries, first started in 2006, all now 1.6.04.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/BB3cpg/ (1.6.07)with over 8,000 images.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/cpg/ with over 25,000 images
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/kc/ with over 300 images

sharpo

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 326
Re: Is there a solution to Coppermine looking "good" on a mobile phone?
« Reply #34 on: November 14, 2018, 09:17:58 pm »

Done it - works now as it should do, thanks.

What had I missed with what I installed for it not to have worked properly? Was there another "fix" that had been done somewhere in my other site that had not been taken into account?

If you let me know when there is a "proper" link to that zip file then I will start again with a fresh install and see if it works properly first time.
Logged
Sharpo (not an expert, just a Coppermine user)
3 live galleries, first started in 2006, all now 1.6.04.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/BB3cpg/ (1.6.07)with over 8,000 images.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/cpg/ with over 25,000 images
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/kc/ with over 300 images

sharpo

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 326
Re: Is there a solution to Coppermine looking "good" on a mobile phone?
« Reply #35 on: November 14, 2018, 11:01:01 pm »

Following on from the previous post, I have enabled comments to see if that now works with the latest mobile theme - and it does.

Making real progress now......
Logged
Sharpo (not an expert, just a Coppermine user)
3 live galleries, first started in 2006, all now 1.6.04.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/BB3cpg/ (1.6.07)with over 8,000 images.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/cpg/ with over 25,000 images
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/kc/ with over 300 images

ron4mac

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1366
Re: Is there a solution to Coppermine looking "good" on a mobile phone?
« Reply #36 on: November 15, 2018, 12:51:55 am »

What had I missed with what I installed for it not to have worked properly? Was there another "fix" that had been done somewhere in my other site that had not been taken into account?
Yes, there was another little bit that had to be taken care of that wasn't noticed earlier because lightroom had been masking it.
Logged

sharpo

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 326
Re: Is there a solution to Coppermine looking "good" on a mobile phone?
« Reply #37 on: November 15, 2018, 09:31:21 pm »

My head is getting a bit fuzzy now. Thought I would add the mobile bits and pieces to an old gallery recently updated to 1.16.04. I added 1.6 theme_switch v1.1 (can't remember where I found the link for that, but it was in my downloads) and the mobile_light theme you updated a couple of posts ago.

It all looked as expected until an intermediate image screen appeared - but did not resize, and was twice the width of a mobile screen. I can resize it when phone held horizontal, then lightbox appears too small. When vertical with large intermediate, lightbox fills screen as expected.

Have set site to be mobile_light for desktop as well, if that helps trying to locate problem.

http://sharpos-world.co.uk/kc/

Thought it would be plain sailing by now, but obviously not.
Logged
Sharpo (not an expert, just a Coppermine user)
3 live galleries, first started in 2006, all now 1.6.04.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/BB3cpg/ (1.6.07)with over 8,000 images.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/cpg/ with over 25,000 images
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/kc/ with over 300 images

ron4mac

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1366
Re: Is there a solution to Coppermine looking "good" on a mobile phone?
« Reply #38 on: November 15, 2018, 11:31:22 pm »

In the config for Album List View and Image View you need to set the width to 100%.
Logged

sharpo

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 326
Re: Re: Is there a solution to Coppermine looking "good" on a mobile phone?
« Reply #39 on: November 16, 2018, 12:21:54 am »

In the config for Album List View and Image View you need to set the width to 100%.
Thanks, that fixed the intermediate, then I noticed "last uploads", and that example of 2 column display doesn't quite fit either, too wide. After posting this I'll try and compare the config on this with one gallery that works & see if I can spot the problem, will post again if I fix it within the next few minutes, otherwise I'm stuck again.
Logged
Sharpo (not an expert, just a Coppermine user)
3 live galleries, first started in 2006, all now 1.6.04.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/BB3cpg/ (1.6.07)with over 8,000 images.
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/cpg/ with over 25,000 images
http://www.sharpos-world.co.uk/kc/ with over 300 images
Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.039 seconds with 21 queries.