Advanced search  

News:

CPG Release 1.6.26
Correct PHP8.2 issues with user and language managers.
Additional fixes for PHP 8.2
Correct PHP8 error with SMF 2.0 bridge.
Correct IPTC supplimental category parsing.
Download and info HERE

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Index coppermine database (index coppermine tables)  (Read 3942 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

allvip

  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1362
Index coppermine database (index coppermine tables)
« on: July 23, 2014, 12:25:49 pm »

Can you please,please help me index all the tables.
Is important for the database to use less server resources.
Is the default coppermine database.Nothing changed.
I belive all the copermine databases look the same.
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15764
Re: Index coppermine database (index coppermine tables)
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2014, 12:27:52 pm »

Don't forget to add some information what exactly needs to be indexed in your opinion.
Logged

allvip

  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1362
Re: Index coppermine database (index coppermine tables)
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2014, 12:31:46 pm »

what exactly needs to be indexed in your opinion.

I have no ideea.
The ex host was telling me to do that and I thought is something that everyone should do:index the database to make the website use less server resources.
I hate all that index ideea because I do understand nothing.
I searced google and tryed to understand how to do that and what it is and all I got is a head pain.
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15764
Re: Index coppermine database (index coppermine tables)
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2014, 12:53:11 pm »

Then I suggest to leave the database as-is. Some columns are already indexed. I haven't checked that in detail, but I assume there's no further indexing needed for a stock Coppermine installation.
Logged

allvip

  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1362
Re: Index coppermine database (index coppermine tables)
« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2014, 12:59:04 pm »

OK.I am glad is no need to index.
Thanks.
Logged

gmc

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 785
    • GMC Design Photo Gallery
Re: Index coppermine database (index coppermine tables)
« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2014, 02:19:53 pm »

I was away and couldn't respond to this thread.
I agree with Andre, that indexing is correct for a 'stock' Coppermine installation.

As I recall, you were doing something custom at high volume that was resulting in a table scan - which is why I suggested both the use of LIMIT and a new INDEX in your case.

Greg
Logged
Thanks!
Greg
My Coppermine Gallery
Need a web hosting account? See my gallery for an offer for CPG Forum users.
Send me money

allvip

  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1362
Re: Index coppermine database (index coppermine tables)
« Reply #6 on: July 26, 2014, 07:28:09 pm »

Thanks Greg.
Andre updated redirect.php with the LIMIT 1 ideea.

http://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/index.php/topic,76683.40.html
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.021 seconds with 19 queries.