Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: About disabling intermediate pics  (Read 3216 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

skyone

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 75
About disabling intermediate pics
« on: March 18, 2014, 12:26:01 pm »

My web host has a  file number limit so I thought disabling intermediate pics will help
My question is, if I do that and I set a maximum file size so the pictures can display within the same page (embedded) rather than a popup, for the other 100’s of pics that I already uploaded to my gallery and that are much larger than the maximum dimensions that I would like to set up.. is Coppermine gonna resize all those hundreds of pics automatically at once? I’m worrying if this task will take too much on the CPU.



Logged

gmc

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 785
    • GMC Design Photo Gallery
Re: About disabling intermediate pics
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2014, 04:37:02 am »

Possibly a simpler solution....
Assuming you have had cpg create intermediate images all along at the size you want - continue to do so.
Use admin tools to 'delete original size photos'
this will delete the full size, and rename the normal_ file to original name.

Going forward, continue to have cpg create intermediates (to handle the resize) and periodically use admin tools to cleanup (only needed on albums you have added photos to...)

or of course use a webhost that allows more files..  :)
Logged
Thanks!
Greg
My Coppermine Gallery
Need a web hosting account? See my gallery for an offer for CPG Forum users.
Send me money

skyone

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 75
Re: Re: About disabling intermediate pics
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2014, 11:01:13 am »

Possibly a simpler solution....
Assuming you have had cpg create intermediate images all along at the size you want - continue to do so.
Use admin tools to 'delete original size photos'
this will delete the full size, and rename the normal_ file to original name.



ok but the problem is that  the size I had was just 400 px on the intermediates and I would like now the pics to be about 800px and embed them onto the same page as if it was the intermediate but larger. If I delete the original pics then I’ll end up with smaller pics sized with my original intermediate pics (400 px)  :-\
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15760
Re: About disabling intermediate pics
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2014, 11:08:33 am »

In this case, if your desired size is 800px and your full-sized pictures are bigger than that value, you need to re-size all pictures. I'll perform some tests how to do this the best way if you attach a screenshot of your current settings of the "File settings" section (actually I just need the first 7 rows, compare to my attached screenshot).
Logged

skyone

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 75
Re: About disabling intermediate pics
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2014, 04:02:18 pm »

Andre, settings attached
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15760
Re: About disabling intermediate pics
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2014, 05:02:32 pm »

This worked for me as expected:
  • Disable "Create intermediate pictures"
  • Set "Max width or height for uploaded pictures" to "800"
  • Set "Auto resize images that are larger than max width or height" to "Yes: Everyone"
  • Save new configuration
  • Use "Admin tools -> Update thumbs and/or resized photos -> Both resized and full sized (if an original copy is available)" on the desired or all albums

Make a backup before you start if anything goes wrong.
Logged

skyone

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 75
Re: About disabling intermediate pics
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2014, 06:49:46 pm »

Thank you guys !
Logged

allvip

  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1362
Re: About disabling intermediate pics
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2014, 11:31:08 pm »

You will proabibly need this too:

Images to fit screen resolution and show full size on click (no pop up. will show on place):

I use only the full size pics (original image).I deleted the intermediate pics.

http://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/index.php/topic,76542.msg369162.html#msg369162

demo: http://allvip.us/gallery/displayimage.php?album=508&pid=20299#top_display_media
Logged

skyone

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 75
Re: About disabling intermediate pics
« Reply #8 on: March 25, 2014, 09:24:54 pm »

Thanks for the tip allvip !
Logged

allvip

  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1362
Re: About disabling intermediate pics
« Reply #9 on: March 25, 2014, 09:32:52 pm »

You're welcome.

The image will resize to fit the monitor.If users view your gallery from a table or iphone the image will resize and will show full size on click.
This way you can upload very big images and in config set the width to original image to max value.This way coppermine won't crop your images if they are bigger then 800px width when you upload them.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.019 seconds with 21 queries.