Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: stuck on connection with db (newb)  (Read 4320 times)

brynn

• Coppermine frequent poster
    • Inkscape Commmunity
stuck on connection with db (newb)
« on: September 12, 2013, 12:15:42 am »

Hi Friends,
Yesterday, I successfully installed CPG to a subdomain I have that I use only for testing stuff.  I'm new to webmastering/admin-ing, and this is only the 2nd time I've tried to install something (manually).  So I wanted to try it on the test subdomain, in case anything goes wrong.  Anyway, it installed successfully, but I couldn't bridge it to my forum (according to my understanding of the manual) from there.  So today, I'm trying to install it to my main domain.

As such a newbie, I didn't see any reason why I couldn't use the same db that I had created for the test gallery.  But when I got to the step (I think 8.) where it populates the db, I got an error.  The only part of the error that I could understand, said "MySQL error: Table 'cpg15x_albums' already exists on query".

I thought that probably means that the wizard can't proceed because it found the db already poplulated.  So I thought I would just create a new db.  So I do have the new db created and the new user and both connected together.  But when I go back to step 6, to make the connection to the new db, I keep getting an error which I don't understand.  Here's the error msg:

"MySQL could not locate a database called 'brynn_cpg' please check the value entered for this"