Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: joomla / coppermine visual integration - without bridging  (Read 11018 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

theramius

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
joomla / coppermine visual integration - without bridging
« on: February 11, 2013, 08:11:37 am »

hi

though i do not realy have a need for the bridge to joomla 3 (would be a nice to have, but ok)
i would very much appreciate a way to visually integrate my cpg 1.5.x into my joomla 3 (or the other way around)

mehdi made a coppermine plugin for the visual integration which trims the output of the joomla page to integrate it into the coppermine output
unfortunately this does not work without the bridge active
is there a way to activate this without having the bridge active?

coppermine is in localhost/cp/
joomla (3) is in localhost

thank you very much

best regards,
stefan
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15760
Re: joomla / coppermine visual integration - without bridging
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2013, 09:25:24 am »

Probably mehdi can answer that question, unfortunately he hasn't visited our board since 2 years. I personally cannot answer your question without inspecting mehdi's code.
Logged

theramius

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: joomla / coppermine visual integration - without bridging
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2013, 05:37:20 am »

yeah, mehdi vanished somehow.... :-(

i understand there is a bridge hack for joomla 2.5 in this forum but it does not like joomla 3 it seems
(mehdis version modified by another user)

as i stated the joomla visual integration (add joomla top and menu above, add joomla footer below)
would totally suffice

would you take a look at the code?
or who would?
for all joomla users this would be a great script/plugin to integrate coppermine again like it was available before

would also pay for the time spent !!

thx

best regards,
stefan
Logged

Phill Luckhurst

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4822
    • Windsurf.me
Re: joomla / coppermine visual integration - without bridging
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2013, 08:30:50 am »

It would be great if someone came up with a J3.x bridge but the changes from J2.5 to J3.x are quite substantial so it would need someone very familiar with this. On the plus side Joomla have switched from mootools to jQuery so for many there will be less problems with library conflicts that dogged the old bridge (CPG uses jQuery).
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

Veronica

  • Contributor
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: se
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 106
  • Coppermine 1.5.22
Re: Re: joomla / coppermine visual integration - without bridging
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2013, 02:31:08 pm »

It would be great if someone came up with a J3.x bridge but the changes from J2.5 to J3.x are quite substantial so it would need someone very familiar with this. On the plus side Joomla have switched from mootools to jQuery so for many there will be less problems with library conflicts that dogged the old bridge (CPG uses jQuery).

What are the advantages when CPG is using JQuery 1.3.2 and Joomla-3 is using JQuery 1.8.1 and the lastest version to download from JQuery is 1.9.1 ?

The CPG version of JQuery is dated from 2009-02-19 17:34:21

When will you start thinking of updating a 4 years old JQuery in CPG?
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15760
Re: Re: joomla / coppermine visual integration - without bridging
« Reply #5 on: February 12, 2013, 02:43:25 pm »

When will you start thinking of updating a 4 years old JQuery in CPG?
jQuery won't be upgraded in cpg1.5.x as it might introduce unexpected behavior. If you need a more recent jQuery version in cpg1.5.x, feel free to add it and report any unexpected behavior.
Logged

Veronica

  • Contributor
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: se
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 106
  • Coppermine 1.5.22
Re: Re: Re: joomla / coppermine visual integration - without bridging
« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2013, 03:05:54 pm »

jQuery won't be upgraded in cpg1.5.x as it might introduce unexpected behavior. If you need a more recent jQuery version in cpg1.5.x, feel free to add it and report any unexpected behavior.

Only report unexpected behavior without your support.

Conclusion no CPG support for a JQuery update and the team has no plans to update 4 years old JQuery
Logged

Phill Luckhurst

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4822
    • Windsurf.me
Re: joomla / coppermine visual integration - without bridging
« Reply #7 on: February 12, 2013, 03:17:02 pm »

Veronica,

Please try and be more positive. We are trying to be supportive of our users and we currently have a perfectly servicable script which is also secure. To update to a later version of jQuery as I am sure you are aware will take a lot of coding time as we KNOW that the changes introduces DO cause problems. We are happy for people to assist us in updating the jQuery scripts for a future release (CPG1.6.x) but for the current release we do not want to cause problems not just for the core program but also for the many plugins out there that also use jQuery.

Again, to anyone who is talented with jQuery please feel free to test later versions and show us your contributions, that is something we more than welcome.
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

Phill Luckhurst

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4822
    • Windsurf.me
Re: Re: joomla / coppermine visual integration - without bridging
« Reply #8 on: February 12, 2013, 03:21:21 pm »

What are the advantages when CPG is using JQuery 1.3.2 and Joomla-3 is using JQuery 1.8.1 and the lastest version to download from JQuery is 1.9.1 ?


To try and keep the subject on the Joomla bridge we have seen many problems where moo and jQuery do not play nicely. Important things like the often used Mega Menu's in Joomla failed when bridged. Putting script in quarantine is a lot easier with regards to different versions of jQuery loaded on a page than it is to stop moo and jQuery conflicting.
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

theramius

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: joomla / coppermine visual integration - without bridging
« Reply #9 on: February 12, 2013, 07:32:46 pm »

wow.... that escalated quickly.....
please can we stick to the topic / my original request and offer?
thank you very much
i understand there is a bridge hack for joomla 2.5 in this forum but it does not like joomla 3 it seems
(mehdis version modified by another user)

as i stated the joomla visual integration (add joomla top and menu above, add joomla footer below)
would totally suffice

would you take a look at the code?
or who would?
for all joomla users this would be a great script/plugin to integrate coppermine again like it was available before

would also pay for the time spent !!

best regards,
stefan
Logged

Phill Luckhurst

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4822
    • Windsurf.me
Re: joomla / coppermine visual integration - without bridging
« Reply #10 on: February 12, 2013, 08:47:31 pm »

theramius,

My suggestion if you are willing to pay would be to use a site such as joomlancers.com where there are many Joomla freelancers who can bid to undertake this kind ot job for you. If they have the original code to look at then a skilled Joomla pro should find the task quite easy.

If you go down that route and all works out well then it would be fantastic if you could share with us the final plugin.
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

theramius

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: joomla / coppermine visual integration - without bridging
« Reply #11 on: February 16, 2013, 10:14:57 pm »

hi

just an update

prices range from 400 to 2000 dollar / euro
.... ouch....

best regards,
stefan
Logged

Lunado

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 11
Re: joomla / coppermine visual integration - without bridging
« Reply #12 on: May 28, 2013, 11:39:42 am »

yeah, mehdi vanished somehow.... :-(

i understand there is a bridge hack for joomla 2.5 in this forum but it does not like joomla 3 it seems
(mehdis version modified by another user)
Please where a bridge hack for joomla 2.5  ???
I can not find
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.022 seconds with 20 queries.