Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Unable to upload Lightbox plugin  (Read 4247 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Nigelb

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Unable to upload Lightbox plugin
« on: December 10, 2012, 06:02:58 pm »

I have downloaded the latest version lightbox plugin to my hard drive and used the plugin manager to upload. I choose the file which the appears in the browse box and upload but nothing happens just goes to a blank browse box.

I have read that I can upload using FTP, but how do I know if i have this and where do i find it.

Thanks
Nigel
Logged

phill104

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4849
    • Windsurf.me
Re: Unable to upload Lightbox plugin
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2012, 06:08:48 pm »

FTP stands for File Transfer Protocol. It is a method of getting files to your server and should have been what you used to install Coppermine in the first place?

Filezilla (google it) is a free FTP app that you could use.
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

Nigelb

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: Unable to upload Lightbox plugin
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2012, 06:24:13 pm »

Thanks for the response Phill

I am not very It literate and as I loaded coppermine through softaculous, is this the FTP?

If so what do I do in softaculous to get the plug in to coppermine?

Nigel
Logged

phill104

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4849
    • Windsurf.me
Re: Unable to upload Lightbox plugin
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2012, 06:35:39 pm »

Softalicious is not FTP. It is an installer provided by your host. As the hosts modify coppermine to get it to work with their scripts we cannot support them as we simply do not know what modifications they make. It is not because we do not want to.

However, upgrading your install using the upgrade method outlined in the docs will turn your install into a propper Coppermin install - http://documentation.coppermine-gallery.net/en/upgrading.htm

I know it is not what you wanted to hear but the problems you seem to be running into are probably related to your hosts installer. Updating using the above method may fixt that. But you would need to learn how to use an ftp app first. Google is your friend here and will detail exactly how to do that. There is nothing scarey about FTP and using an app like Filezilla is just like using explorer in Windows, you just drag and drop files once you have made your connection. Making the connection to your host is as simple as putting 3 pieces of information into the Filezilla app. Thise details only your host can provide as they are unique to you, such as your password.
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

Nigelb

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: Unable to upload Lightbox plugin
« Reply #4 on: December 11, 2012, 02:49:54 pm »

Hi Phill

Thanks for your reply and with a few looks on u-tube have managed to get the lightbox up and running on my site and is great improvement :)

Best Wishes
Nigel
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.018 seconds with 21 queries.