Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4   Go Down

Author Topic: Migrating coppermine gallery to another server  (Read 50742 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ohara

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
Re: Migrating coppermine gallery to another server
« Reply #20 on: December 13, 2012, 03:20:20 am »

I have already made the changes recommended by the theme update docs page.

Searchnew.php still draws a blank page.
Logged

Phill Luckhurst

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4713
    • Windsurf.me
Re: Migrating coppermine gallery to another server
« Reply #21 on: December 13, 2012, 10:55:53 am »

I don't do any image manipulation on the server anyway.


Coppermine does, that is how it generated the thumbnails and intermediate images. You can use GD2 or Imagemagik but one of the two must be installed and usable by CPG.

In addition your problems are definately theme related. Your custom theme needs some work by the looks of it. I have checked the functionality of your site at http://dedi.smileserv.co.uk/~sott/smiles/ with the curve theme and all is working as expected. Please zip your theme folder and attach it to your next post.
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

ohara

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
Re: Migrating coppermine gallery to another server
« Reply #22 on: December 13, 2012, 01:22:49 pm »

GD is installed, I'm not sure why coppermine thinks otherwise.

My theme is attached. Thanks again for your help.
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15761
Re: Migrating coppermine gallery to another server
« Reply #23 on: December 13, 2012, 02:44:40 pm »

It might be difficult to upgrade a cpg1.4.x theme to cpg1.5.x if your theme.php file contains a lot templates and functions (I hadn't a look at it yet). However, they need to be upgraded, too, but that's sometimes not straightforward. Unfortunately, there's no upgrade tutorial which explains this in detail because of the various possibilities.
Logged

ohara

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
Re: Migrating coppermine gallery to another server
« Reply #24 on: December 13, 2012, 06:52:41 pm »

Ok that's fair enough. That doesn't explain why other things don't work (like searchnew.php) though does it?


I don't understand why the transition didn't just work straight off as it was, everything is the same on both sides. I know the version I was running is massively out of date but it at least it works. I would have been happy to leave that running on the new server if it had been a simple swap over.
Logged

Phill Luckhurst

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4713
    • Windsurf.me
Re: Migrating coppermine gallery to another server
« Reply #25 on: December 13, 2012, 09:29:58 pm »

Ok that's fair enough. That doesn't explain why other things don't work (like searchnew.php) though does it?


Does it work with the curve theme if you first browse to this link - http://dedi.smileserv.co.uk/~sott/smiles/index.php?theme=curve
It seems to work for me.
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

ohara

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
Re: Migrating coppermine gallery to another server
« Reply #26 on: December 14, 2012, 05:02:01 am »

No, it doesn't work for me even with the curve theme. It thinks about it for a minute, but just loads a blank page.
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15761
Re: Migrating coppermine gallery to another server
« Reply #27 on: December 14, 2012, 11:12:20 am »

Please try if it works when you toggle "Browsable batch-add interface" in config.
Logged

ohara

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
Re: Migrating coppermine gallery to another server
« Reply #28 on: December 14, 2012, 02:05:04 pm »

Ok, I actually get the batch-add page now. But once I choose the directory and click OK, I just get taken to a blank white page again.
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15761
Re: Migrating coppermine gallery to another server
« Reply #29 on: December 14, 2012, 02:34:35 pm »

Please check if it happens for all directories. Furthermore, please post more details if you expect help. E.g. copy the link from the address bar and tell us something about that directories' content.
Logged

ohara

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
Re: Migrating coppermine gallery to another server
« Reply #30 on: December 14, 2012, 03:31:07 pm »

I just created a folder under /albums called JPEG with a bunch of photos in there. When I try to batch add it, it calls this url

Code: [Select]
http://dedi.smileserv.co.uk/~sott/smiles/searchnew.php?startdir=JPEG
But just gives a blank white page.
Logged

ohara

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
Re: Migrating coppermine gallery to another server
« Reply #31 on: December 16, 2012, 09:52:26 am »

Anyone? Starting to get a little worried now, I only have 1 week left of the month before I have to pay for another month on my original server. I hoped to have the whole site over so I could end the original one. It isn't cheap either :(

I'm getting really desperate now, I'll stay on 1.4.x if that's what it takes, I just need to know why it won't work straight out of the box when I restore the backup on the new server...can someone PLEASE help me?
Logged

Phill Luckhurst

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4713
    • Windsurf.me
Re: Migrating coppermine gallery to another server
« Reply #32 on: December 16, 2012, 10:26:29 am »

Does 1.5 work on your old server? I am a little confused as to what is working where at the moment.
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

ohara

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
Re: Migrating coppermine gallery to another server
« Reply #33 on: December 16, 2012, 11:51:33 am »

Ok. The original gallery is on 1.4.5. I don't want to try upgrading to 1.5 on that one because it has so many plugins and a heavily customised theme and I can NOT afford the downtime if it breaks which I am 100%  certain it will.

I just want a fully working version of my gallery on my new server, I don't care which version it is. So far I have not been able to get any to work, even restoring a complete backup from my old server on to my new server did not work. I think that is the best option despite it being so outdated, because at the end of the day it works and that is what I need.
Logged

Phill Luckhurst

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4713
    • Windsurf.me
Re: Migrating coppermine gallery to another server
« Reply #34 on: December 16, 2012, 12:45:13 pm »

While I understand what you are saying we really cannot support 1.4.x. There are so many reasons one of the biggest being that it would take any hacker a very short time to destroy your site. In addition, that version has a number of known problems especially with later releases of PHP.

http://documentation.coppermine-gallery.net/en/upgrading.htm#upgrade_why
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

ohara

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
Re: Migrating coppermine gallery to another server
« Reply #35 on: December 17, 2012, 10:25:12 pm »

thanks
Logged

Phill Luckhurst

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4713
    • Windsurf.me
Re: Migrating coppermine gallery to another server
« Reply #36 on: December 17, 2012, 11:51:08 pm »

Have you fixed it then? We will try and help with 1.5.x but I am sure you can appreciate our reasons for no longer supporting 1.4.x - http://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/index.php/topic,66659.0.html
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

ohara

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
Re: Migrating coppermine gallery to another server
« Reply #37 on: December 18, 2012, 01:20:39 am »

I fully appreciate that you don't want to support and old, insecure version. I would be happy to run the latest one but it is absolutely imperative that it works almost exactly the same as the old one. So far through my own efforts and with the help from here I have not been able to achieve a result anywhere near that. I am not a coder or a web developer so it is not within my skills to redesign an entire theme.
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15761
Re: Migrating coppermine gallery to another server
« Reply #38 on: December 18, 2012, 01:12:44 pm »

To upgrade your theme you need to know what exactly has been adjusted in which functions and why (what happens because of that code change). The probably easiest way to find that out is to compare the content of your theme's theme.php file with its corresponding unmodified code blocks in include/themes.inc.php, e.g. with a diff viewer like WinMerge.

Now, you have to replace the outdated code blocks in your theme's theme.php file with their cpg1.5.x counterparts. Then, you have to re-apply the code changes. Depending on what exactly has been changed that may be trivial or not.
Logged

ohara

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
Re: Migrating coppermine gallery to another server
« Reply #39 on: December 21, 2012, 12:29:12 pm »

This is really getting beyond me now. All I want is this to work, I honestly thought it would be simple.

How do I solve this error?

Quote
Fatal error: Cannot redeclare cpgGetMicroTime() (previously declared in /home/sott/public_html/smilenew/include/init.inc.php:25) in /home/sott/public_html/smilenew/include/init.inc.php on line 27
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.033 seconds with 20 queries.