Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: how add pictures from another server?  (Read 4956 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

mdy

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
how add pictures from another server?
« on: June 29, 2004, 05:18:33 pm »

i wanna know if i can add pictures
to my albums which are located on
other servers?
Logged

mdy

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: how add pictures from another server?
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2004, 08:33:03 pm »

any body know? ::)
« Last Edit: June 29, 2004, 08:38:54 pm by mdy »
Logged

Casper

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5231
Re: how add pictures from another server?
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2004, 09:10:13 pm »

Yes, I know.  But I don't like being rushed, so in future please wait at least a day before bumping.

Yes, you can upload from another web location.  Use the URI/URL upload available in the upload page, providing you have set the permissions in groups to allow it (default for normal groups is yes)

If you mean by hotlinking, then the answer is no.
Logged
It has been a long time now since I did my little bit here, and have done no coding or any other such stuff since. I'm back to being a noob here

mdy

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: how add pictures from another server?
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2004, 12:55:44 pm »

i'm using the nuke version of coppermine
and i am not able to located the uri/url option...
is it available in the nuke version? if yes, where exactly?
thanx
« Last Edit: June 30, 2004, 01:28:19 pm by mdy »
Logged

Casper

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5231
Re: how add pictures from another server?
« Reply #4 on: June 30, 2004, 04:07:19 pm »

The nuke version is different from the standalone version, and most of us on this board have no experience of it.

Go to www.nukephotogallery.com for support.
Logged
It has been a long time now since I did my little bit here, and have done no coding or any other such stuff since. I'm back to being a noob here

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: how add pictures from another server?
« Reply #5 on: June 30, 2004, 05:43:27 pm »

afaik the uri upload feature doesn't exist in "Coppermine for CMS". Anyway, if I understand this right you were trying to just hotlink images. This is not possible at all, and probably never will be in the future.
In the future, please take a look at the labels/description of the boards you post in: the one you posted in clearly says "only for standalone coppermine, not for the nuked version".

GauGau
Logged

hokum

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
    • Coppermine Photo gallery
Re: how add pictures from another server?
« Reply #6 on: July 02, 2004, 10:48:29 am »

Hope you dont mind but I thought I'd chip in with a comment here rather than making a new thread about roughly the same thing.

I'm a total newbie and I like the look of the software but I have an issue with the ability to reference pictures outside the coppermine directory.

my ISP gives me 250Mb of space 50Mb of that is behind a CGI. The ISP insists that and PHP stuff must go behind the CGI for whatever reasons. This 50MB may fill up quite quickly I suspect and would like to put my pictures in the non CGI section but I fear coppermine will not be able to access it.

it would be a shame to think that this facility is "impossible" as I really like the look at feel of the software but also like my ISP.. :-[

for reference the addresses of the two sections are www.hokum.plus.com and http://cgi.hokum.plus.com/coppermine.
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: how add pictures from another server?
« Reply #7 on: July 02, 2004, 11:39:01 am »

this is not related, but the answer to your question is: edit the albums folder in coppermine config to be in a relative path outside of your PHP-enabled webspace (must be on the same server though). The path could e.g. be ../../albums. You have to understand that you can't change this path once pics are in your coppermine database, and of course the albums folder must be writtable by the script.
For details, contact your webhost.

GauGau
Logged

hokum

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
    • Coppermine Photo gallery
Re: how add pictures from another server?
« Reply #8 on: July 02, 2004, 01:30:12 pm »

thanks very much.

I've checked out on the ISP boards and the areas are definelty on different servers, however on the positive side I found that they arent so strict on the size of the cgi space. Although they dont advertise it I can put 200MB of my alloted 250 in the cgi space.

I guess that means my pictures might get served a little slower but it does at least resolve my problem. Thanks again.
hokum
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.021 seconds with 20 queries.