Advanced search  

News:

CPG Release 1.6.26
Correct PHP8.2 issues with user and language managers.
Additional fixes for PHP 8.2
Correct PHP8 error with SMF 2.0 bridge.
Correct IPTC supplimental category parsing.
Download and info HERE

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Create a categories menu  (Read 2493 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

AzorMachine

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Create a categories menu
« on: September 06, 2011, 04:48:06 pm »

I wanna create a vertical menu that contains all of the categories of my gallery. Any code tips?
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15764
Re: Create a categories menu
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2011, 05:08:18 pm »

You need to query the database to get the categories. Something like
Code: [Select]
$result = cpg_db_query("SELECT * FROM {$CONFIG['TABLE_CATEGORIES']}");
$categories = cpg_db_fetch_rowset($rowset);
mysql_free_result($result);
should return you the whole categories table.
Logged

AzorMachine

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: Re: Create a categories menu
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2011, 05:10:02 pm »

You need to query the database to get the categories. Something like
Code: [Select]
$result = cpg_db_query("SELECT * FROM {$CONFIG['TABLE_CATEGORIES']}");
$categories = cpg_db_fetch_rowset($rowset);
mysql_free_result($result);
should return you the whole categories table.

And how can I call it, if the template base is an .html file, and don't supports php?
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15764
Re: Create a categories menu
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2011, 05:11:14 pm »

I suggest that you start to read the docs now to understand how the template system works in Coppermine.
Logged

AzorMachine

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: Re: Create a categories menu
« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2011, 09:05:38 pm »

You need to query the database to get the categories. Something like
Code: [Select]
$result = cpg_db_query("SELECT * FROM {$CONFIG['TABLE_CATEGORIES']}");
$categories = cpg_db_fetch_rowset($rowset);
mysql_free_result($result);
should return you the whole categories table.

Ok, that way the categories table is stocked. How to 'echo' it? How would stay the php code?

Best Regards
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15764
Re: Create a categories menu
« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2011, 09:31:22 pm »

Something like
Code: (http://de2.php.net/manual/en/control-structures.foreach.php) [Select]
foreach ($categories as $key => $category) echo $category['name']should work (not tested).
Logged

AzorMachine

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: Create a categories menu
« Reply #6 on: September 08, 2011, 03:18:16 pm »

Did this using html to show an static categories menu. No problem at all as there won't be a new categorie.
Thanks for the help.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.02 seconds with 20 queries.