Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: FTP upload does not work (through web interface)  (Read 5689 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

aglae

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
FTP upload does not work (through web interface)
« on: August 19, 2011, 01:43:55 pm »

The theme although downloaded in the right download section for this version (dm_halloween) does not seem to work correctly. However something more painful... when trying to upload pics to the right album through the ftp feature (web interface), it seems to be uploading to the collection I choose (green circle icon) but when I go back to the Album it shows 0 pictures.
Any idea ?

Thanks,
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15765
Re: FTP upload does not work (through web interface)
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2011, 04:01:24 pm »

What exactly doesn't work? The built-in HTTP upload or the batch-add feature? Please also read http://documentation.coppermine-gallery.net/en/upload_troubleshooting.htm#upload_trouble
Logged

aglae

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
Re: FTP upload does not work (through web interface)
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2011, 04:09:13 pm »

I FTP'ed a few folders to my albums folder on the server. Then I wanted to add the images via the files / ftp menu.
I browse to the correct folder, click OK, the select all pics that I want to add and the destination Album.
Then I Insert the selected pics. I get a green icon (suppose everything is correct) but when I go back to the Album itself, CPG tells me that are no pictures.

I will try to reupload all files from the cpg1.5.14 package from home tonight (I'm not sure my FTP client from work does a good job). So just put this post on hold while I double check everything (unless you see something obvious of course).

Thanks,
Logged

aglae

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
Re: FTP upload does not work (through web interface)
« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2011, 07:58:09 pm »

Re-uploaded all files from latest install package. Ran update again and tried again to no avail.
Any idea anyone ?

Thanks

PS: web site: raphael.gely.free.fr/rgpics (in debug mode)
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15765
Re: FTP upload does not work (through web interface)
« Reply #4 on: August 19, 2011, 08:35:54 pm »

Please post a test user account with upload privileges according to the upload troubleshooting docs: http://documentation.coppermine-gallery.net/en/upload_troubleshooting.htm#upload_support
Logged

aglae

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
Re: FTP upload does not work (through web interface)
« Reply #5 on: August 22, 2011, 11:03:51 am »

Hi everyone, Andre,

I have create user tester in group uptest and gave it privileges to upload files (as a matter of fact, a test gallery has also been created).
Web: raphael.gely.free.fr/rgpics

Adding one file at a time thru the web interface works (this user and from another admin user).

Problem lies in batch upload, it still fails (seems to work but no pictures are to be found in the collection after the upload results).

Any idea ?

thanks
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15765
Re: FTP upload does not work (through web interface)
« Reply #6 on: August 22, 2011, 04:29:22 pm »

green circle icon
Do you mean the icon attached to this message? If so, an error has occurred. Please check the file permissions if the PHP user has full privileges.
Logged

aglae

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
Re: FTP upload does not work (through web interface)
« Reply #7 on: August 22, 2011, 04:59:05 pm »

it is indeed this icon I see.
I don't see a php user anywhere, where should I be looking for this ? Should I create one and add it to the admin group ?
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15765
Re: FTP upload does not work (through web interface)
« Reply #8 on: August 22, 2011, 05:07:15 pm »

You have to check the permissions on file system level. That's not related to Coppermine, so you cannot adjust it in Coppermine. See also http://documentation.coppermine-gallery.net/en/install_permissions.htm#permissions_webserver
Logged

aglae

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
Re: FTP upload does not work (through web interface)
« Reply #9 on: August 22, 2011, 05:10:57 pm »

This had been done earlier, album folder and its subfolders have all been set to 777.
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15765
Re: FTP upload does not work (through web interface)
« Reply #10 on: August 22, 2011, 05:12:16 pm »

Please check the file permissions of newly uploaded files.
Logged

aglae

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
Re: FTP upload does not work (through web interface)
« Reply #11 on: August 22, 2011, 05:38:09 pm »

All files show 644 permissions.
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15765
Re: FTP upload does not work (through web interface)
« Reply #12 on: August 22, 2011, 05:42:16 pm »

Have you already tried to set write permissions to all users? ::)
Logged

aglae

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
Re: FTP upload does not work (through web interface)
« Reply #13 on: August 23, 2011, 09:02:18 am »

Yes, the best I can do is 644. I guess my ISP won't let me do better than that. I tried a couple ftp clients in order to do so but to no avail.
It used to work fine though before I upgraded to this version of CPG. Is this mandatory or could the problem be lying somewhere else ?
Logged

aglae

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
Re: FTP upload does not work (through web interface)
« Reply #14 on: August 24, 2011, 01:36:52 pm »

Created a new admin user, then re-uploaded all files with a lower resolution and now it works. Closing thread. Solved ! Thanks.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.027 seconds with 20 queries.