Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Bridging with SMF 1.xx  (Read 15893 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

SundayNiagara

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 48
Bridging with SMF 1.xx
« on: February 24, 2011, 06:57:00 pm »

I have the latest version of SMF and was wondering that since the themes for both SMF and CPG are similar, and I'm not concerned about aesthetics, can I just bridge the two and not worry?
Thanks,
Mark
Logged

lurkalot

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 933
  • +Tinyportal Support team.
Re: Bridging with SMF 1.xx
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2011, 07:20:04 pm »

When you say version 1.xx is this SMF or Coppermine.  ;)

Either way, yes you can just bridge the two.  ;) 
Logged
Running SMF 2.0.15  / Tinyportal 1.6.4, bridged with Coppermine 1.6.06, plus cpmfetch 2.0.0

SundayNiagara

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 48
Re: Bridging with SMF 1.xx
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2011, 07:22:49 pm »

When you say version 1.xx is this SMF or Coppermine.  ;)

Either way, yes you can just bridge the two.  ;) 

Yes, it's SMF.  Thanks for your quick answer.
Mark
Logged

SundayNiagara

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 48
Re: Bridging with SMF 1.xx
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2011, 08:32:28 pm »

Just one more question, how am I to know on SMF, that the bridge is set up?
Thanks,
Mark
Logged

SundayNiagara

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 48
Re: Bridging with SMF 1.xx
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2011, 08:55:10 pm »

"Cookie prefix

This has to be the cookie name of the application you bridge with. Do not enter the cookie prefix of your coppermine gallery here! You can not make this setting up - you have to look it up in the documentation or settings that come with the application you're going to bridge with."

I know where the cookie name is on my SMF.  My question is, where is it supposed to go, that is, if it goes on CPG?
Logged

SundayNiagara

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 48
Re: Bridging with SMF 1.xx
« Reply #5 on: February 24, 2011, 09:46:13 pm »

Am I supposed to edit the bridge app?
Logged

SundayNiagara

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 48
CPG/SMF 1.xxx
« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2011, 12:07:58 am »

I see now that I was supposed to start a new thread with another q, so here it is:  Am I supposed to edit the app file for the bridge & rename it?
Thanks,
Mark

PS:  I couldn't find anything in the docs regarding this, so if it's there, please point me to it.
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15765
Re: Bridging with SMF 1.xx
« Reply #7 on: February 25, 2011, 10:04:53 am »

As you failed to use a meaningfull subject line and this thread is already a mess I merged your new thread with your existing one.


Just one more question, how am I to know on SMF, that the bridge is set up?
SMF doesn't know that a third party application (Coppermine in this case) uses its user table.


Am I supposed to edit the bridge app?
You don't have to edit SMF, if you mean this with 'bridge app'.


Am I supposed to edit the app file for the bridge & rename it?
Afaik you don't have to edit or rename any files while bridging.


Imo everything is described very well in the bridging docs.
Logged

SundayNiagara

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 48
Re: Bridging with SMF 1.xx
« Reply #8 on: February 25, 2011, 02:32:56 pm »

Can someone post a SMF tutorial, I am totally lost?
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15765
Re: Bridging with SMF 1.xx
« Reply #9 on: February 25, 2011, 02:36:59 pm »

Which part of the integration steps docs don't you understand?
Logged

SundayNiagara

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 48
Re: Bridging with SMF 1.xx
« Reply #10 on: February 25, 2011, 02:38:09 pm »

The cookies part!
Mark
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15765
Re: Bridging with SMF 1.xx
« Reply #11 on: February 25, 2011, 02:43:38 pm »

Maybe you can describe that a little bit more detailed? Please post also a link of the exact integration step.
Logged

SundayNiagara

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 48
Re: Bridging with SMF 1.xx
« Reply #12 on: February 25, 2011, 02:56:50 pm »

I am beginning to wonder, since my .com is SMF, should CPG be sharing the same db?  I don't remember seeing anything on that in the docs.  If that is the problem, I can fix it quickly.
Mark
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15765
Re: Bridging with SMF 1.xx
« Reply #13 on: February 25, 2011, 03:04:39 pm »

Depending on your setup you can use different databases or have to use the same database. If you're not able to describe your problem we cannot help you.
Logged

phill104

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4862
    • Windsurf.me
Re: Bridging with SMF 1.xx
« Reply #14 on: February 25, 2011, 03:07:05 pm »

Please post a link to your coppermine powered page and also do as Andre suggests and post a link to the exact part of the docs you do not understand. At the moment it just looks like you are trying to get loads of pposts with your links in as you have not read the docs nor the sticky telling you exactly what we require to support you with bridging problems.

Please do as above and so everything outlined in the bridging docs - http://documentation.coppermine-gallery.net/en/bridging.htm#integrating_support_start

Make sure everything requested is included in your next post.
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

SundayNiagara

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 48
Re: Bridging with SMF 1.xx
« Reply #15 on: February 25, 2011, 03:09:28 pm »

Please post a link to your coppermine powered page and also do as Andre suggests and post a link to the exact part of the docs you do not understand. At the moment it just looks like you are trying to get loads of pposts with your links in as you have not read the docs nor the sticky telling you exactly what we require to support you with bridging problems.

Please do as above and so everything outlined in the bridging docs - http://documentation.coppermine-gallery.net/en/bridging.htm#integrating_support_start

Make sure everything requested is included in your next post.

I'm just trying to solve my problem.
Mark
Logged

phill104

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4862
    • Windsurf.me
Re: Bridging with SMF 1.xx
« Reply #16 on: February 25, 2011, 03:11:10 pm »

Which is why I requested the information. Pleas provide it all or we cannot help you any further.
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

SundayNiagara

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 48
Re: Bridging with SMF 1.xx
« Reply #17 on: February 25, 2011, 03:11:55 pm »

Depending on your setup you can use different databases or have to use the same database. If you're not able to describe your problem we cannot help you.
http://www.hon3forums.com/gallery .  I have followed the install/bridging, but the two don't connect.
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15765
Re: Bridging with SMF 1.xx
« Reply #18 on: February 25, 2011, 03:14:59 pm »

They are connected, as Coppermine redirects you to the SMF login page. Please follow this doc: http://documentation.coppermine-gallery.net/en/bridging.htm#integrating_support_start

If you won't follow our instructions or post useful information you'll get 2 days to read and understand the docs and our board rules.
Logged

phill104

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4862
    • Windsurf.me
Re: Bridging with SMF 1.xx
« Reply #19 on: February 25, 2011, 03:15:53 pm »

One final try. PLEASE DO EVERYTHING AS PER THE DOCS OR WE CANNOT HELP

Quote
Bridging support
With the explanations given above you should be able to bridge your (BBS) application with Coppermine. However, if things don't work as expected, you're welcome to look for help using the coppermine support board. When asking for support, please keep in mind that the supporters will need some information to enable them to help you:



■Search the board before posting - maybe somebody had similar issues to yours that have been solved already
■Post on the board that deals with your version - bridging mechanisms have changed from version to version, that's why it's important to post on the board that actually corresponds to your coppermine version
■Don't hijack threads - when looking for bridging support, start your own thread
■Read the sticky threads before posting
■Make sure you are using the latest versions of the bridging files, they are kept up to date between formal Coppermine releases. Download the relevant files from the SVN. Update udb_base.inc.php and the file that corresponds to the bridge you are using and upload them into your bridge directory, overwriting the old ones. Of course you should make sure to use the most recent stable coppermine release in the first place.
■When requesting bridge support, please post a link to your site, a test user account, and what you have set in the bridge manager.
Make sure that the test user account doesn't have admin privileges. When posting the requested data, make sure to replace passwords with asterisks.
 
This is how your posting should look like (with actual data from your setup instead of the dummy placeholders given here as an example - highlighted in red):

I have the following issue when trying to bridge coppermine and XXX:
[error message or problem description here]

Coppermine install: http://mysite.tld/my_coppermine_folder/
Bridging app install: http://mysite.tld/my_forum_folder/
Coppermine version: cpg1.5.0
Bridging app version: SuperDuper BBS app v0.8.15
Test user account: some_testuser_name / the_password_for_the_test_user_account

BridgeManager settings:
Bridge app URL:  http://mysite.tld/test/foo_bar
Relative path to your bridge app's config file:  ../bla/
Cookie name or prefix:  forum
Use bridge app custom groups?:
 1  ■Supporters need to look at the pages in question - make sure that you have bridging actually enabled when asking for support
■The test user account you're supposed to post must not be an admin account, but a regular user account. The test user account needs of course to be created in the application you bridge with, not a coppermine account (as coppermine's user management is being dropped when bridging, so there's no use for supporters to have a standalone coppermine account)
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.056 seconds with 19 queries.