Advanced search  

News:

CPG Release 1.6.26
Correct PHP8.2 issues with user and language managers.
Additional fixes for PHP 8.2
Correct PHP8 error with SMF 2.0 bridge.
Correct IPTC supplimental category parsing.
Download and info HERE

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: GPG 1.3 Photo Rotate doesnt work on my gallery?  (Read 8921 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

arrs

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
GPG 1.3 Photo Rotate doesnt work on my gallery?
« on: June 14, 2004, 10:40:09 am »

Hello,

Im a newbie to all this.

I have setup 1.3 and all "seems" to be working fine apart from the rotate option. Im using GD 2

When I select a rotate angle then click preview I get a blank new ie window

Any ideas?

James

http://www.elliotbarrs.com/gallery
« Last Edit: June 14, 2004, 11:14:30 am by arrs »
Logged

arrs

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
Re: GPG 1.3 Photo Rotate doesnt work on my gallery?
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2004, 10:31:26 am »

Anyone?

hyperion

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1317
  • - retired -
Re: GPG 1.3 Photo Rotate doesnt work on my gallery?
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2004, 05:35:17 pm »

IS it only the preview, or does it happen when you 'Save picture' or 'Save as thumb'?
Logged
"Then, Fletch," that bright creature said to him, and the voice was very kind, "let's begin with level flight . . . ."

-Richard Bach, Jonathan Livingston Seagull

(http://www.mozilla.org/products/firefox/buttons/getfirefox_small.png)

Pacjack

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 14
Re: GPG 1.3 Photo Rotate doesnt work on my gallery?
« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2004, 05:21:39 pm »

I have the same problem. It wont let me rotate some pictures, but it did work with some other pictures (smaller maybe).
It happens with preview, save picture, save as thumbnail. So not only with preview.

What could be the problem here?
Logged

hyperion

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1317
  • - retired -
Re: GPG 1.3 Photo Rotate doesnt work on my gallery?
« Reply #4 on: June 21, 2004, 08:00:04 am »

You could be exceeding GD's memory limits.
Logged
"Then, Fletch," that bright creature said to him, and the voice was very kind, "let's begin with level flight . . . ."

-Richard Bach, Jonathan Livingston Seagull

(http://www.mozilla.org/products/firefox/buttons/getfirefox_small.png)

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: GPG 1.3 Photo Rotate doesnt work on my gallery?
« Reply #5 on: June 21, 2004, 09:15:13 am »

how big (filesize and resolution) are the pics you tried to rotate?

GauGau
Logged

sandworm

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: GPG 1.3 Photo Rotate doesnt work on my gallery?
« Reply #6 on: June 26, 2004, 07:55:19 am »

how big (filesize and resolution) are the pics you tried to rotate?

GauGau

do you know the limit? could you just tell us?
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: GPG 1.3 Photo Rotate doesnt work on my gallery?
« Reply #7 on: June 26, 2004, 09:03:34 am »

no, I can't, since it depends on your server settings.

GauGau
Logged

Pacjack

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 14
Re: GPG 1.3 Photo Rotate doesnt work on my gallery?
« Reply #8 on: June 27, 2004, 12:13:56 pm »

For example, a picture I can't rotate, gets me a blank window as said in the first post.
File Size: 1019 KB
Dimensions: 1704 x 2272 pixels
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: GPG 1.3 Photo Rotate doesnt work on my gallery?
« Reply #9 on: June 27, 2004, 11:30:42 pm »

this is what I'd call a waste of resources and a file too big for a web gallery ;). Try reducing the size of your pics before you upload.

GauGau
Logged

Pacjack

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 14
Re: GPG 1.3 Photo Rotate doesnt work on my gallery?
« Reply #10 on: June 28, 2004, 10:29:28 pm »

True, but sometimes i like to have te originals online as well as the resised versions. Is there nothing to do about this?
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: GPG 1.3 Photo Rotate doesnt work on my gallery?
« Reply #11 on: June 29, 2004, 09:57:29 am »

rotating such large pics just consumes to much resources on the server, that's why it doesn't work. Nothing that can be done about it in coppermine. If the server is yours to administer, you could try playing around with the settings in php.ini and the apache configuration (not recommended though). If you must keep the large originals on your webserver, why don't you just do the rotation on your client pc before uploading then?

GauGau
Logged

arrs

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
Re: GPG 1.3 Photo Rotate doesnt work on my gallery?
« Reply #12 on: July 07, 2004, 07:07:21 pm »

I have tried rotating a very small file and when I click priview i get a blank page.

This is the image I tried to rotate http://www.elliotbarrs.com/gallery/thumbnails.php?album=12

Any ideas?

dalon

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: GPG 1.3 Photo Rotate doesnt work on my gallery?
« Reply #13 on: August 27, 2004, 11:55:30 am »

I also tried rotating pictures, 60k, very small. No luck. Gaugau, could you tell us a little bit more about server configuration?
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: GPG 1.3 Photo Rotate doesnt work on my gallery?
« Reply #14 on: August 27, 2004, 08:40:26 pm »

please refer to the sticky threads on the upload board and check the php and apache pages for reference on server vars - this is something that can't be supported on this board. Another possibility is your image library (usually GD) just isn't capable of roting (afaik there have been others who reported a similar issue to yours, maybe a solution was posted as well - please search the board for "rotate blank page").

Joachim
Logged

Alejandrito

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 31
Re: GPG 1.3 Photo Rotate doesnt work on my gallery?
« Reply #15 on: September 30, 2004, 03:08:36 am »

Hi, i have a web with more than 3000 photos and i get a blank page also. But because of a ecard problem i tried to install a new coppermine and rotation worked without a problem there... why is that?
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: GPG 1.3 Photo Rotate doesnt work on my gallery?
« Reply #16 on: September 30, 2004, 06:34:12 am »

you should always run the most recent stable version. One of the reasons why newer versions come out is the fact that bugs are being discovered in older versions that make newer ones necessary. In fact I don't understand your question, imo the question "hwy do older versions not work" is invalid. This is something I have learned in all those years I'm involved in computer stuff: if it's running, never ask why, just be glad that it works ;D.

Joachim
Logged

Alejandrito

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 31
Re: GPG 1.3 Photo Rotate doesnt work on my gallery?
« Reply #17 on: October 07, 2004, 02:05:22 pm »

In fact I don't understand your question, imo the question "hwy do older versions not work" is invalid.

Hi!

My question was: "why does it works in the just installed version and not in the one I have now (both the same version).

I can rotate small pics (15kb?), but not the big ones (90k...but all the pics are less then 100kb) and I don't really know the limit...

This is a part of my php.ini so maybe someone has an idea?  :-\\
Code: [Select]
memory_limit = 10M
...
post_max_size = 8M
...
upload_max_filesize = 4M
...
Logged

xx-al

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
Re: GPG 1.3 Photo Rotate doesnt work on my gallery?
« Reply #18 on: March 01, 2005, 03:14:58 pm »

@ the big-file-rotate-problem :

i also had problems rotating big pictures (>1mb).In settings,  i selected ImageMagick instead of GD 2.x. now it works fine, but the thumbnails have a bigger file-size.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.041 seconds with 19 queries.