Advanced search  

News:

CPG Release 1.6.26
Correct PHP8.2 issues with user and language managers.
Additional fixes for PHP 8.2
Correct PHP8 error with SMF 2.0 bridge.
Correct IPTC supplimental category parsing.
Download and info HERE

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: picture optimizer  (Read 5261 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

FaithytheGreat

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
picture optimizer
« on: September 25, 2010, 09:28:29 am »

Hi everybody
Thanks to Coppermine team for this great job they've done.

I'm looking for a plug-in or solution to optimize fullsize images in my gallery.
I searched everywhere but couldn't find anything.
There is a "Quality for JPEG files" in configs but it affects on thumbs and intermediate pictures.
I need to optimze fullsize pictures

Thanks in advance
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: picture optimizer
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2010, 12:29:53 pm »

What do you mean by optimize?
Logged

FaithytheGreat

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
Re: picture optimizer
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2010, 05:38:23 pm »

something just like "Quality for JPEG files" option in config which reduce the quality to save space but i want it for full size images not just thumbs
Logged

Jeff Bailey

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1322
  • Fishing relaxes me.
    • Bailey Family Co.
Re: picture optimizer
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2010, 05:59:06 pm »

You can do that before you upload them instead of making the Server do all the work.
Use Photoshop or a similar application.
Logged
Thinking is the hardest work there is, which is probably the reason why so few engage in it. - Henry Ford

FaithytheGreat

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
Re: picture optimizer
« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2010, 09:47:28 am »

yeah actually i thought of that, it would be much faster and the photoshop output quality is much much better than gd2 but when you have slow connection you have to
i don't download pictures and then upload them to my server. i just copy them online
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15764
Re: picture optimizer
« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2010, 11:33:22 am »

There is a "Quality for JPEG files" in configs but it affects on thumbs and intermediate pictures.
That setting will be applied to all pictures that are processed by Coppermine. If you enable the setting Auto resize images that are larger than max width or height and use a proper number for Max width or height for uploaded pictures your full size picture will also be resized.
Logged

Stramm

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 6006
    • Bettis Wollwelt
Re: picture optimizer
« Reply #6 on: September 27, 2010, 11:36:07 am »

Enable watermarking! That requires the fullsized to get recompressed even if you have set not to resize the fullsized. The quality set in config is used for that. If you do not want a watermark, then create a 1x1px fully transparent png.
The backup files you can delete later (command line) to save hd space.

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15764
Re: picture optimizer
« Reply #7 on: September 27, 2010, 11:37:30 am »

Enable watermarking
Yeah okay that's another (fail-safe) solution :)
Logged

FaithytheGreat

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
Re: picture optimizer
« Reply #8 on: September 28, 2010, 04:24:41 pm »

thank you so much for your useful help guys
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.023 seconds with 19 queries.