Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Using intermediate images instead of thumbnails?  (Read 4072 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

wbnp

  • Contributor
  • Coppermine novice
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
Using intermediate images instead of thumbnails?
« on: August 20, 2010, 06:10:07 pm »

Hello!

How can I use the intermediate size images instead of thumbnails on pages such as Album View, Most Recent etc.

I thought I saw some information regarding this but it has been a while since I've had a chance to work with CPG and I'm unable to find it now.  (It wasn't using CPGfetch.)


http://www.whyboysneedparents.com/Coppermine/

Thanks!
Logged

papukaija

  • Contributor
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 333
Re: Using intermediate images instead of thumbnails?
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2010, 06:38:55 pm »

Just delete the intermediate size images using admin tools and then disable the creation of intermediate size images from your gallery's settings.
Logged

dawjv

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
Re: Using intermediate images instead of thumbnails?
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2010, 06:41:33 pm »

^^^ plus change the thumbnail size from Config Menu in Admin Controls, if you are comfortable with bigger thumbnails.
Logged

phill104

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4856
    • Windsurf.me
Re: Using intermediate images instead of thumbnails?
« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2010, 06:53:26 pm »

Ypu will be better off copying the relavent functions from the sample theme and adjusting as required. You will also need to redusce the number of columns to display in your config. To get a nice and tidy display will take some work.
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

wbnp

  • Contributor
  • Coppermine novice
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
Re: Using intermediate images instead of thumbnails?
« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2010, 06:56:03 pm »

Just delete the intermediate size images using admin tools and then disable the creation of intermediate size images from your gallery's settings.

Thanks for the reply papukaija!

I don't understand - I WANT to use the intermediate size images so I'm not sure how deleting them would help.  Am I missing something?
Logged

wbnp

  • Contributor
  • Coppermine novice
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
Re: Using intermediate images instead of thumbnails?
« Reply #5 on: August 20, 2010, 06:57:53 pm »

^^^ plus change the thumbnail size from Config Menu in Admin Controls, if you are comfortable with bigger thumbnails.

Hi dawjv,

I don't want to use the thumbnails because I don't think you can watermark them and I've found the the quality is degraded compared to the intermediate size image.
Logged

wbnp

  • Contributor
  • Coppermine novice
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
Re: Using intermediate images instead of thumbnails?
« Reply #6 on: August 20, 2010, 07:07:34 pm »

Ypu will be better off copying the relavent functions from the sample theme and adjusting as required. You will also need to redusce the number of columns to display in your config. To get a nice and tidy display will take some work.

Hi Phill,

I think this is exactly what I want to do but I'm not sure what the relevant functions are or what I need to substitute.

I assume you are talking about theme.php and while I can find a lot of references to "thumbnails" I'm not sure what I need to change.  Would it be possible for you to give me an example? 

I do know the site needs a lot of work but I think I need to figure out changing the thumbnails to the intermediate image before I can scale everything else and start working on the layout.

Thanks for your reply!
Logged

papukaija

  • Contributor
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 333
Re: Using intermediate images instead of thumbnails?
« Reply #7 on: August 23, 2010, 10:40:45 pm »

Thanks for the reply papukaija!

I don't understand - I WANT to use the intermediate size images so I'm not sure how deleting them would help.  Am I missing something?

Sorry. I misread/misunderstood your question.
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15765
Re: Using intermediate images instead of thumbnails?
« Reply #8 on: September 02, 2010, 03:11:38 pm »

I've found the the quality is degraded compared to the intermediate size image.
That's not true. Coppermine doesn't differentiate the quality between the picture types.


Ypu will be better off copying the relavent functions from the sample theme
I don't know if this is possible in that way.


@wbnp: try to open include/functions.inc.php, find
Code: [Select]
       $pic_prefix = array(
            'thumb'    => $CONFIG['thumb_pfx'],
            'normal'   => $CONFIG['normal_pfx'],
            'orig'     => $CONFIG['orig_pfx'],
            'fullsize' => '',
        );
and replace with
Code: [Select]
       $pic_prefix = array(
            'thumb'    => $CONFIG['normal_pfx'],
            'normal'   => $CONFIG['normal_pfx'],
            'orig'     => $CONFIG['orig_pfx'],
            'fullsize' => '',
        );
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.02 seconds with 19 queries.