Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Coppermine 1.5.4 (Stable) - A valid form token could not be found  (Read 13611 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

SCHALK

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8

Dear Support
I know you guys are busy but I would really appreciate it if you can help me out.
I am using a current unsupported version as stated by the software, but just need advice and hope that some how it can help someone else with the same problem.

I have read a few forms on your forum with kinda the same problem. I am referring to one specific one on the following URL:
http://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/index.php?topic=65889.0

It was memtioned in this that the user had to change the lifetime of the forums tokens, by following the instructions:
Configuration → General settings → Change the lifetime of the form tokens

Since I was using Version 1.5.4, I could not find this option anyware.
I am currently experiencing a very similar problem. That is that I can't create a new user and when I try to create a new category, it gives me the error message:
"A valid form token could not be found."

I have removed all my cookies and re-tried. It still the same.
I have loaded this version from scratch, so no updates was done.
I have currently 261 photos uploaded which takes up 28.08MB of space.

If you cant assist me with this current version, then can you please help me resolve a downgrade with the current file structure in tact.
I have just downloaded version 1.5.6 (stable) and will upgrade with your assistance. I cant afford to loose anything or to reload it.

Hope I have given you all the information needed.
Best Regards
Schalk   
Logged

Jeff Bailey

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1322
  • Fishing relaxes me.
    • Bailey Family Co.
Re: Coppermine 1.5.4 (Stable) - A valid form token could not be found
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2010, 02:26:42 am »

You must upgrade as we don't support outdated versions.

You should do just fine if you follow the instructions here => http://documentation.coppermine-gallery.net/en/upgrading.htm#upgrade_any

There are little + boxes next to the steps that further explain what needs to be done. You shouldn't have any issues with losing data as long as you follow the steps correctly, including the backup.

If you do have any issues please open a new thread in the correct board and make sure to include a link to your gallery.
Logged
Thinking is the hardest work there is, which is probably the reason why so few engage in it. - Henry Ford

SCHALK

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Coppermine 1.5.4 (Stable) - A valid form token could not be found
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2010, 11:54:57 am »

Dear Jeff
I still have the same problem after upgrading to the latest version.
It also does not allow me to create a new user.
Where do I go from here?
Logged

SCHALK

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Coppermine 1.5.4 (Stable) - A valid form token could not be found
« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2010, 11:58:01 am »

oh, and the PHP setting register_globals is still enabled on my server. Will this have something to do with it?
Logged

SCHALK

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Coppermine 1.5.4 (Stable) - A valid form token could not be found
« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2010, 12:05:53 pm »

Just an update:
I have now turned off the register_global. It did not solve the problem.
Logged

Joe Carver

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1545
  • aka 'i-imagine'
    • Home Page
Re: Coppermine 1.5.4 (Stable) - A valid form token could not be found
« Reply #5 on: August 04, 2010, 01:05:23 pm »

.............. make sure to include a link to your gallery.

SCHALK

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Logged

Joe Carver

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1545
  • aka 'i-imagine'
    • Home Page
Re: Coppermine 1.5.4 (Stable) - A valid form token could not be found
« Reply #7 on: August 05, 2010, 12:16:40 am »

.....
Configuration → General settings → Change the lifetime of the form tokens

Since I was using Version 1.5.4, I could not find this option anyware.
.......

Log in to your site, click/open Config >> Click/open General Settings >> Get a screenshot of the complete "General Settings" menu and post it in your reply.

SCHALK

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Coppermine 1.5.4 (Stable) - A valid form token could not be found
« Reply #8 on: August 05, 2010, 07:07:10 am »

Dear Jeff
I have noticed that my timeout was 900 seconds and tried to adjust it. It gave me the same error on safe.
I have included a screen shot of the general settings.
Logged

SCHALK

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Coppermine 1.5.4 (Stable) - A valid form token could not be found
« Reply #9 on: August 05, 2010, 10:13:45 am »

Update:
  • I cant enable debug mode. Have tried for everyone.
  • I Cant create a new user with admin rights
  • I cant create new categories

my options is very limited and I keep on getting the Error message: "A valid form token could not be found" whenever I try to change a setting.
I have included a screenshot of this error.

I need this resolved ASAP so I am going to give you the login.
Username: ina
Password: kruger007

Thanking you in regards
schalk
 
« Last Edit: August 05, 2010, 05:51:15 pm by Jeff Bailey »
Logged

Jeff Bailey

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1322
  • Fishing relaxes me.
    • Bailey Family Co.
Re: Coppermine 1.5.4 (Stable) - A valid form token could not be found
« Reply #10 on: August 05, 2010, 06:01:14 pm »

Please never post an admin account. I have changed the password and created a test user.
username: test
password: test

I was able to create a category and obviously I was able to create a new user so there must be something wrong with your local settings. Try a different Browser or clear you cache and cookies again.

I have sent you your admins new password in a PM
Logged
Thinking is the hardest work there is, which is probably the reason why so few engage in it. - Henry Ford

SCHALK

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Coppermine 1.5.4 (Stable) - A valid form token could not be found
« Reply #11 on: August 05, 2010, 09:29:31 pm »

Best Joe
You wont believe what I just discovered. I tried everything again and it still gave me the error message.
I was baffled by this as everything worked 100% with you.
I then deleted and flushed my browser.
Both Internet and Firefox, but it did exactly the same.
I then went to another computer on my network, and tried everything again (Creating users, Categories and changing options)
It did not work! - Still gave me the same error.

I then thought about it and plugged in another internet card into my pc.
IT WORKED 100%

Its down to this that my current ISP seems to have build up a cash om my site.
AHHHH, how frustrating is that?!

I hope that this post will help future users and I am glad that I have discovered the problem.

For all new readers who has this same problem.... You will have to contact your ISP who supply you with your internet connection and request that they flush there cach file. If they are difficult about it, you can tell them that it works fine when you use another ISP connection but not when you use there service. If they still give you a hard time, tell therm that you will discontinue the service and go to another ISP if they dont attend to it. They will usually get a fright and try and assist.
This would have saved me a ton of frustration if I only had discovered this earlier.

Thanks for all your help Joe.
We can close this post now  ;D
Best regards
Schalk
Logged

Jeff Bailey

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1322
  • Fishing relaxes me.
    • Bailey Family Co.
Logged
Thinking is the hardest work there is, which is probably the reason why so few engage in it. - Henry Ford
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.022 seconds with 19 queries.