Advanced search  

News:

CPG Release 1.6.26
Correct PHP8.2 issues with user and language managers.
Additional fixes for PHP 8.2
Correct PHP8 error with SMF 2.0 bridge.
Correct IPTC supplimental category parsing.
Download and info HERE

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: problem with moving db to new host  (Read 11720 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

genom

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
problem with moving db to new host
« on: July 13, 2010, 12:02:16 am »

I am using hebrew letters
after I uploaded the db to the new server it shows ????? letters instead of hebrew
what is the problem with the encoding?
http://www.diet2all.org/gallery/index.php
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2010, 09:43:47 am »

You have set the charset in coppermine's config to iso8859-1. It's not surprising that this happens then: iso8859-1 can of course not display hebrew chars. If the content from your database is in utf-8, you need to set the config option back to utf-8 as well. Looks like you haven't performed the move as you should have done, but instead you appear to have performed a fresh install and a merge of the database and files afterwards. That's not how you should perform a move to another server. Not related to initial install - moving accordingly.
Logged

genom

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2010, 03:41:47 pm »

so what do I need to do that it will work out fine?
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2010, 05:45:33 pm »

I think I already told you, didn't I:
You have set the charset in coppermine's config to iso8859-1. It's not surprising that this happens then: iso8859-1 can of course not display hebrew chars. If the content from your database is in utf-8, you need to set the config option back to utf-8 as well.
Documentation -> Config -> Character encoding
Logged

genom

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2010, 07:07:40 pm »

when I put it as utf8 then it looks like this
http://www.diet2all.org/gallery/index.php
2 �����, ������ ������ �27 �������,

what to do now?
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2010, 07:36:03 am »

Well, then use the encoding you originally used to create the content in the first place. Maybe you used to have it set to Hebrew (iso-8859-8-i)? How should we know what your settings used to be?
Logged

genom

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #6 on: July 14, 2010, 11:16:54 am »

but it is iso hebrew already
and in the database you cant use this encode only utf or hebrew ci /hebrew bin or something like that
so I dont know what to do
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #7 on: July 14, 2010, 11:47:46 am »

Right now your encoding is set to utf-8 and not to iso-8859-8-i. Set it explicitely to iso-8859-8-i in Coppermine's config.
Logged

genom

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #8 on: July 14, 2010, 12:06:23 pm »

this is what it was at the start
now I set it back to iso
but still I see question marks instead of hebrew
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #9 on: July 14, 2010, 02:33:38 pm »

Maybe you should update your gallery for a start to make sure that this is not related to an issue that already was fixed. You're running behind many versions.
Logged

genom

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #10 on: July 14, 2010, 05:36:27 pm »

ok I've updated the script to the new version still same problem with the encoding...
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Logged

genom

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #12 on: July 14, 2010, 06:22:21 pm »

its not a custom theme I only changed the logo photo...
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #13 on: July 15, 2010, 07:27:20 am »

...which is what makes it a custom theme. It's a theme theme that was designed for cpg1.4.x that can't be used with cpg1.5.x without performing the modifications that I refered to. I'm not posting this without a reason.
Logged

genom

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #14 on: July 15, 2010, 07:48:19 am »

even when I use original theme still show "????"...
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #15 on: July 15, 2010, 10:19:39 am »

I didn't say that your initial issue will go away if you perform the upgrade properly. It's you who rolled several issues into one.
Use a third party tool like phpMyAdmin to directly access the database content. Find out in what encoding the database's textual content has been written.
Logged

genom

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #16 on: July 15, 2010, 04:01:56 pm »

I uploaded it as utf 8
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #17 on: July 15, 2010, 05:03:59 pm »

You did what?
Logged

genom

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #18 on: July 15, 2010, 05:39:49 pm »

I uploaded the database as utf8
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #19 on: July 15, 2010, 05:44:35 pm »

I have no idea what you did - you can't do what you claim to have done. You must have gotten something wrong. Maybe you should re-apply the move from the old server to the new one, doing as suggested in http://documentation.coppermine-gallery.net/en/export.htm#moving_server
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.022 seconds with 20 queries.