Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: problem with moving db to new host  (Read 9339 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

genom

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
problem with moving db to new host
« on: July 13, 2010, 12:02:16 am »

I am using hebrew letters
after I uploaded the db to the new server it shows ????? letters instead of hebrew
what is the problem with the encoding?
http://www.diet2all.org/gallery/index.php
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2010, 09:43:47 am »

You have set the charset in coppermine's config to iso8859-1. It's not surprising that this happens then: iso8859-1 can of course not display hebrew chars. If the content from your database is in utf-8, you need to set the config option back to utf-8 as well. Looks like you haven't performed the move as you should have done, but instead you appear to have performed a fresh install and a merge of the database and files afterwards. That's not how you should perform a move to another server. Not related to initial install - moving accordingly.
Logged

genom

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2010, 03:41:47 pm »

so what do I need to do that it will work out fine?
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2010, 05:45:33 pm »

I think I already told you, didn't I:
You have set the charset in coppermine's config to iso8859-1. It's not surprising that this happens then: iso8859-1 can of course not display hebrew chars. If the content from your database is in utf-8, you need to set the config option back to utf-8 as well.
Documentation -> Config -> Character encoding
Logged

genom

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2010, 07:07:40 pm »

when I put it as utf8 then it looks like this
http://www.diet2all.org/gallery/index.php
2 �����, ������ ������ �27 �������,

what to do now?
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2010, 07:36:03 am »

Well, then use the encoding you originally used to create the content in the first place. Maybe you used to have it set to Hebrew (iso-8859-8-i)? How should we know what your settings used to be?
Logged

genom

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #6 on: July 14, 2010, 11:16:54 am »

but it is iso hebrew already
and in the database you cant use this encode only utf or hebrew ci /hebrew bin or something like that
so I dont know what to do
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #7 on: July 14, 2010, 11:47:46 am »

Right now your encoding is set to utf-8 and not to iso-8859-8-i. Set it explicitely to iso-8859-8-i in Coppermine's config.
Logged

genom

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #8 on: July 14, 2010, 12:06:23 pm »

this is what it was at the start
now I set it back to iso
but still I see question marks instead of hebrew
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #9 on: July 14, 2010, 02:33:38 pm »

Maybe you should update your gallery for a start to make sure that this is not related to an issue that already was fixed. You're running behind many versions.
Logged

genom

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #10 on: July 14, 2010, 05:36:27 pm »

ok I've updated the script to the new version still same problem with the encoding...
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Logged

genom

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #12 on: July 14, 2010, 06:22:21 pm »

its not a custom theme I only changed the logo photo...
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #13 on: July 15, 2010, 07:27:20 am »

...which is what makes it a custom theme. It's a theme theme that was designed for cpg1.4.x that can't be used with cpg1.5.x without performing the modifications that I refered to. I'm not posting this without a reason.
Logged

genom

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #14 on: July 15, 2010, 07:48:19 am »

even when I use original theme still show "????"...
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #15 on: July 15, 2010, 10:19:39 am »

I didn't say that your initial issue will go away if you perform the upgrade properly. It's you who rolled several issues into one.
Use a third party tool like phpMyAdmin to directly access the database content. Find out in what encoding the database's textual content has been written.
Logged

genom

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #16 on: July 15, 2010, 04:01:56 pm »

I uploaded it as utf 8
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #17 on: July 15, 2010, 05:03:59 pm »

You did what?
Logged

genom

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #18 on: July 15, 2010, 05:39:49 pm »

I uploaded the database as utf8
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: problem with moving db to new host
« Reply #19 on: July 15, 2010, 05:44:35 pm »

I have no idea what you did - you can't do what you claim to have done. You must have gotten something wrong. Maybe you should re-apply the move from the old server to the new one, doing as suggested in http://documentation.coppermine-gallery.net/en/export.htm#moving_server
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.019 seconds with 19 queries.