Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Edit SYS_MENU, SUB_MENU etc content  (Read 7439 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

fabo92

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Edit SYS_MENU, SUB_MENU etc content
« on: June 14, 2010, 03:28:04 pm »

Hello all,

I'm trying to change completely the visual of coppermine because I would like to integrate it with my forum (MyBB) graphic..

So I edit the theme files, template.html and style.css (the theme.php I don't understand the use).

But now I want to edit the {SYS_MENU} and {SUB_MENU} content and I can't find them!!

Can you help me?!
Logged

Joe Carver

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1503
  • aka 'i-imagine'
    • Home Page
Re: Edit SYS_MENU, SUB_MENU etc content
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2010, 03:40:21 pm »

First you must help yourself and "help the helpers".

Post a link to your Coppermine, that is a requirement of all support requests.

Read your documents about theming. You will find a lot of good information to start your task.

fabo92

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: Edit SYS_MENU, SUB_MENU etc content
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2010, 03:44:40 pm »

Ok, thanks. I see that in this site all the staff is really strict.. But I like, I'm not criticising you... So, I'll read the documentation.
This is the link to the gallery: http://www.netmodding.org/forum/gallery/
Logged

Joe Carver

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1503
  • aka 'i-imagine'
    • Home Page
Re: Edit SYS_MENU, SUB_MENU etc content
« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2010, 04:25:29 pm »

Ok, thanks. I see that in this site all the staff is really strict.

Just for the record and not for the sake of argument....posting the link helps the helpers to see what you are doing and might be doing wrongly. It saves time and also helps other people like yourself when they read the postings in the future. It is a very simple rule to follow.

You are using a modified version of the Waterdrop theme, but your style.css is coming from the Sample theme.

You need to make a new name for your theme's directory and place all of the files and folders in that directory. Then open up the file /themes/sample/theme.php. At the beginning of the file you will see the sections that refer to menus and buttons. Copy each section as you need into your file /themes/new_directory/theme.php. Then make your modifications. Example:

Code: [Select]
/******************************************************************************
** Section <<<$template_sub_menu>>> - START
******************************************************************************/
code
code
code
/******************************************************************************
** Section <<<$template_sub_menu>>> - END
******************************************************************************/

Remember to copy the complete section into your custom theme.php

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Logged

fabo92

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: Edit SYS_MENU, SUB_MENU etc content
« Reply #5 on: June 15, 2010, 11:01:54 am »

Thanks guys, I find out how to do.
I have only two question:

 -How to retrieve the username (is there a string like {LOGOUT_LNK} or something)?
 -How to retrieve the date and time and display it?

Thanks for the help
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Edit SYS_MENU, SUB_MENU etc content
« Reply #6 on: June 15, 2010, 12:32:30 pm »

Thanks guys, I find out how to do.
Then please resolve your thread.

I have only two question:
It's a pity though that we have this strict "one issue per thread" policy that you agreed to respect when signing up.
Logged

fabo92

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: Edit SYS_MENU, SUB_MENU etc content
« Reply #7 on: June 15, 2010, 03:38:55 pm »

Solving:

I followed this page to understand the way to modify the sys_menu and sub_menu.
I created a new theme from the sample one (I copied it), I opened the theme.php and deleted all. Then I copied from the sample theme.php only what I needed to edit.
The result can be seen at the top of this page.

I post either the theme.php, in case I'll modify that page.

Logged

fabo92

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: Edit SYS_MENU, SUB_MENU etc content
« Reply #8 on: June 15, 2010, 03:41:15 pm »

Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.031 seconds with 21 queries.