Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Critical Error, upgrading from 1.4 to 1.5.  (Read 5378 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

sneax

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Critical Error, upgrading from 1.4 to 1.5.
« on: June 09, 2010, 10:33:20 pm »

Here is the situation: I had a coppermine gallery 1.4.20 bridged with SMF 2.0 RC3 on host1. Recently I had to change to host2. I made a backup of the database. I then upped the database in the new host. Then I installed phpBB3, converted from the old SMF and all that is working. Then I uploaded albums directory from host1 to host2. Then I uploaded the latest stable 1.4 package. I then changed config.inc.php.sample to reflect new database settings and removoed .sample. I then realised my bridge would be broken, also I couldn't access the gallery simply because of the broken bridge.

I then went into the database and in bridge table I changed 'short_name' from smf to coppermine (as I found that file in bridge directory and after looking in init.inc.php how the bridging file was initiated). I tried again and coppermine was running fine standalone on new host.

I tried some stuff and the album seems to be fully functional (albeit stanadlone but I figured I'd fix the bridging after upgrade to 1.5), so I started the upgrade. I uploaded all 1.5 files but kept albums directory and include/config.inc.php.

Now, when I go to the update.php page I get this error:
Coppermine critical error:
The group table does not contain the Anonymous group !


And that's where I am right now. I tried using the 'old' files from the 'old' host for coppermine but that gave the same error. I tried looking in the source files for the above error statement and where it was invoked but it are too many files. I also tried to run the update sql straight into phpmyadmin but that gave me errors which probably weren't show-stopping but on error, phpmyadmin stopped the sql so that didn't work.

So I tried installing again as clean as possible and ask for help.

Note: I only have the backup files (data/database) from the old host. It's not online anymore.

Need any more info, please ask.
Logged

papukaija

  • Contributor
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 333
Re: Critical Error, upgrading from 1.4 to 1.5.
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2010, 10:46:33 pm »

Please read this from the documentation or post a link to your gallery if you need further support as requested in board rules.
Logged

sneax

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: Critical Error, upgrading from 1.4 to 1.5.
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2010, 11:05:20 pm »

Link to gallery: http://lotjeronstissen.snx.be/album

But this is 1.5 files with 1.4 dbase because update.php doesn't work therefore, there isn't much to see ...
Logged

Phill Luckhurst

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4822
    • Windsurf.me
Re: Critical Error, upgrading from 1.4 to 1.5.
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2010, 11:12:26 pm »

Hmm, not sure what has gone wrong. Was the bridge disabled before upgrading?
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

sneax

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: Critical Error, upgrading from 1.4 to 1.5.
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2010, 10:09:57 am »

Unfortunately, no, so I tried manually disabling the bridge by going into the database. I found that changing 'short_name' in the bridge table from smf to coppermine disabled the bridge. But I'm not sure if that's the correct procedure.

It would already help if I knew where that error is invoked (which file) so I can find out what exactly it means.
Logged

sneax

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: Critical Error, upgrading from 1.4 to 1.5.
« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2010, 11:26:37 am »

FIXED!

This is how I did it for futher reference:
- I moved 1.4 from the old to the new host (again)
- I installed a NEW copy of 1.4 on that same host (other database and other subfolder)
- I went into the database and moved the these tables from the new install to the old install: bridge, config, users, usergroups.
- I then went to update and all went fine!
Note: you will lose all group/user and config structures of coppermine. But since I bridge, I don't mind.

My album has been converted from coppermine to gallery 2 and back in the past, has been bridged to different forums and back, and I thought this was an ideal way to clean up the database. As long as my hundreds of pics and category structure is OK I don't mind that I have to reconfigure.
Logged

Phill Luckhurst

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4822
    • Windsurf.me
Re: Critical Error, upgrading from 1.4 to 1.5.
« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2010, 07:06:26 pm »

Glad you got it sorted. There are however ways to disable the bridge as outlined in the docs for both 1.4.x and 1.5.x. Using those will probably have saved you a lot of effort.

Thanks for resolving your post. I wish more users would mak the effort without us having to prompt them. Well done.
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.018 seconds with 20 queries.