Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 35mm equivalent focal lenght  (Read 3530 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

flapane

  • Contributor
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 251
    • Flavio's page
35mm equivalent focal lenght
« on: June 04, 2010, 04:19:13 pm »

Hi,
On 1.4.x I used an old mod which modified exif_php.inc.php
http://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/index.php/topic,55219.msg285549.html#msg285549

I was wondering if anybody managed to port the mod to 1.5.x, because now the file is a little bit different.

Phill Luckhurst

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4826
    • Windsurf.me
Re: 35mm equivalent focal length
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2010, 04:46:19 pm »

I really think it is a silly mod. There are so many different camera bodies out there and most have different sized sensors even from the same brand etc. Your list could get quite large and if you really wanted it then it would be better to have the data read from a database rather than every model hard coded. We are also trying to move away from hard coded mods preferring the plugin route.

Having said that, most photographers know how to work it out anyway so in my mind it seems a bit of a pointless excercise.
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

flapane

  • Contributor
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 251
    • Flavio's page
Re: 35mm equivalent focal lenght
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2010, 05:33:02 pm »

I get the point, I hate hardcoded mods and the list is personal (in fact you can see 3 photocams only in the list).
The problem is that a big part of the photos haven't been shot with a DX photocam, so the focal lenght is somewehat confusing because the crop factor varies from photo to photo.

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: 35mm equivalent focal lenght
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2010, 06:17:11 pm »

Please resolve your thread.
Logged

flapane

  • Contributor
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 251
    • Flavio's page
Re: 35mm equivalent focal lenght
« Reply #4 on: June 04, 2010, 07:06:06 pm »

Who told it has been solved?
Somebody could have just written a plugin or something similar, or maybe he could give a hint, there isn't a solution atm.

Phill Luckhurst

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4826
    • Windsurf.me
Re: 35mm equivalent focal lenght
« Reply #5 on: June 04, 2010, 07:36:45 pm »

There is no solution at the moment. You could always code one.
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.017 seconds with 20 queries.