Advanced search  

News:

CPG Release 1.6.26
Correct PHP8.2 issues with user and language managers.
Additional fixes for PHP 8.2
Correct PHP8 error with SMF 2.0 bridge.
Correct IPTC supplimental category parsing.
Download and info HERE

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Film Strip missing in IE 8  (Read 7033 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

hlabout

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 118
    • Harald Labout Fotografie
Film Strip missing in IE 8
« on: May 08, 2010, 11:20:49 am »

I experienced a strange behavior in my coppermine gallery.
Using coppermine 1.4.26 and all seems to work fine in my own browser FF 3.6.

www.haraldlabout.nl

Today I discovered that when my gallery is shown in IE 8 the intermediate page does not show the complete Film strip.
In IE 8 only four tile.gif images are shown, top lh/rh and bottom lh/rh.
Strange behavior, in FF all tile.gif images are shown like a complete filmstrip.

Here is an link to an intermediate page of my gallery:

http://haraldlabout.nl/fotografie/displayimage.php?album=23&pos=0

Searched the board for a topic like this, could not find one.
I hope someone can explane this strange behavior and perhaps supply some information about how to correct this problem in IE 8.

Harald
Logged

Gene-2008

  • Contributor
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 188
Re: Film Strip missing in IE 8
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2010, 03:00:18 am »

Look for:
Code: [Select]
<td valign="top" style="background-image: url(images/tile.gif);"><img src="images/tile.gif" alt="" border="0" /></td>
In the theme.php and add the following:

 
Code: [Select]
BACKGROUND-REPEAT: repeat-x;
To make it look like:
Code: [Select]
<td valign="top" style="background-image: url(images/tile.gif); BACKGROUND-REPEAT: repeat-x;"><img src="images/tile.gif" alt="" border="0" /></td>
Gene

[Edit Joachim] Added code tags to posting [/Edit]
« Last Edit: May 09, 2010, 09:38:08 am by Joachim Müller »
Logged

hlabout

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 118
    • Harald Labout Fotografie
Re: Film Strip missing in IE 8
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2010, 09:14:30 am »

Gene,

Thanks for the great advice.
Found in themes.inc.php following code:

Code: [Select]
// HTML template for filmstrip display
if (!isset($template_film_strip)) { //{THEMES}
$template_film_strip = <<<EOT

        <tr>
         <td valign="top" style="background-image: url({TILE1});"><img src="{TILE1}" alt="" border="0" /></td>
        </tr>
        <tr>
        <td valign="bottom" class="thumbnails" align="center">
          <table width="100%" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="3" border="0">
              <tr>
                 <td width="50%"></td>
                 {THUMB_STRIP}
                 <td width="50%"></td>
              </tr>
          </table>
        </td>
        </tr>
        <tr>
         <td valign="top" style="background-image: url({TILE2});"><img src="{TILE2}" alt="" border="0" /></td>
        </tr>

and added the background repeat code like you advised so the code looks like this now:

Code: [Select]
// HTML template for filmstrip display
if (!isset($template_film_strip)) { //{THEMES}
$template_film_strip = <<<EOT

        <tr>
         <td valign="top" style="background-image: url({TILE1});BACKGROUND-REPEAT: repeat-x;"><img src="{TILE1}" alt="" border="0" /></td>
        </tr>
        <tr>
        <td valign="bottom" class="thumbnails" align="center">
          <table width="100%" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="3" border="0">
              <tr>
                 <td width="50%"></td>
                 {THUMB_STRIP}
                 <td width="50%"></td>
              </tr>
          </table>
        </td>
        </tr>
        <tr>
         <td valign="top" style="background-image: url({TILE2});BACKGROUND-REPEAT: repeat-x;"><img src="{TILE2}" alt="" border="0" /></td>
        </tr>

All working fine now in IE8 and still working okay in FF.
Thanks for your information, much appreciated.

Harald

[Edit Joachim] Added code tags to posting [/Edit]
« Last Edit: May 09, 2010, 09:39:04 am by Joachim Müller »
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Film Strip missing in IE 8
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2010, 09:40:46 am »

Don't edit include/themes.inc.php, under no circumstances! Anything you can accomplish by editing that file can be accomplished as well by editing themes/yourtheme/theme.php, as suggested many, many times over already.
Logged

hlabout

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 118
    • Harald Labout Fotografie
Re: Film Strip missing in IE 8
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2010, 09:55:52 am »

Joachim,

I know you, and others, explained that to me a lot of times.
Below you see all the data that is in my theme.php file:

Code: [Select]
<?php
/*************************
  Coppermine Photo Gallery
  ************************
  Copyright (c) 2003-2005 Coppermine Dev Team
  v1.1 originaly written by Gregory DEMAR

  This program is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify
  it under the terms of the GNU General Public License as published by
  the Free Software Foundation; either version 2 of the License, or
  (at your option) any later version.
  ********************************************
  Coppermine version: 1.4.1
  $Source:
  $Revision: 1.10 $
  $Author:
  $Date: 2005/04/30 07:13:16 $
**********************************************/

define('THEME_HAS_RATING_GRAPHICS'1);
define('THEME_IS_XHTML10_TRANSITIONAL',1); // Remove this if you edit this template until
                                           // you have validated it. See docs/theme.htm.


// HTML template for template sys_menu spacer
$template_sys_menu_spacer ='::';

?>

There is not much to do there.
This is the original Blackbirch file I'am using for years.
So that is the reason I make some changes in the theme.inc.php file.
I know this can make upgrading difficult but using WinMege, tipped by you, I can manage and see the file differences during upgrade. (I know now exactly witch files are changed)

Don't know other solutions to change things.

Harald

*** Edited to add the
Code: [Select]
tags - Phill ****
« Last Edit: May 09, 2010, 11:05:18 am by Phill Luckhurst »
Logged

hlabout

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 118
    • Harald Labout Fotografie
Re: Film Strip missing in IE 8
« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2010, 10:00:35 am »

p.s. Checked the current Blackbirch file available and it is still the same file with the same information.

Please advice me if there is an other solution to change my theme settings like above.

Harald
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Film Strip missing in IE 8
« Reply #6 on: May 09, 2010, 10:25:35 am »

There is not much to do there.
So what? Who's to blame that you don't add the stuff that needs changing? RTFM
Logged

hlabout

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 118
    • Harald Labout Fotografie
Re: Film Strip missing in IE 8
« Reply #7 on: May 09, 2010, 10:40:06 am »

So what? Who's to blame that you don't add the stuff that needs changing? RTFM

I have been reading that over and over again.

I am no s/w programmer but an enthousiactic photographer that likes to show his pictures in a online gallery.
I'am not able to correct these kind of problems by changing or adding codes like described in my theme.php, I just don't get it, sorry for that.
But I still like to use and alter this great coppermine gallery and using winmerge, as you advised before does the trick for my when upgrading.

Harald
Logged

phill104

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4885
    • Windsurf.me
Re: Film Strip missing in IE 8
« Reply #8 on: May 09, 2010, 11:04:09 am »

Simply copy the relevant finction from the sampl theme.php to your theme and edit that.

For instance, in the sample theme.php you will find

Code: [Select]
// HTML template for filmstrip display
$template_film_strip = <<<EOT

        <tr>
         <td valign="top" style="background-image: url({TILE1});"><img src="{TILE1}" alt="" border="0" /></td>
        </tr>
        <tr>
        <td valign="bottom" class="thumbnails" align="center">
          <table width="100%" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="3" border="0">
              <tr>
                 <td width="50%"></td>
                 {THUMB_STRIP}
                 <td width="50%"></td>
              </tr>
          </table>
        </td>
        </tr>
        <tr>
         <td valign="top" style="background-image: url({TILE2});"><img src="{TILE2}" alt="" border="0" /></td>
        </tr>
<!-- BEGIN thumb_cell -->
                <td valign="top" align="center">
                                        <a href="{LINK_TGT}">{THUMB}</a>
                                        {CAPTION}
                                        {ADMIN_MENU}
                </td>
<!-- END thumb_cell -->
<!-- BEGIN empty_cell -->
                <td valign="top" align="center" >&nbsp;</td>
<!-- END empty_cell -->

EOT;

And you will find the same in themes.inc.php

If you wanted to change that and the above is not in your theme copy that code to your them and edit it as required.

So your theme would then be

Code: [Select]
<?php
/*************************
  Coppermine Photo Gallery
  ************************
  Copyright (c) 2003-2005 Coppermine Dev Team
  v1.1 originaly written by Gregory DEMAR

  This program is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify
  it under the terms of the GNU General Public License as published by
  the Free Software Foundation; either version 2 of the License, or
  (at your option) any later version.
  ********************************************
  Coppermine version: 1.4.1
  $Source:
  $Revision: 1.10 $
  $Author:
  $Date: 2005/04/30 07:13:16 $
**********************************************/

define('THEME_HAS_RATING_GRAPHICS'1);
define('THEME_IS_XHTML10_TRANSITIONAL',1); // Remove this if you edit this template until
                                           // you have validated it. See docs/theme.htm.


// HTML template for template sys_menu spacer
$template_sys_menu_spacer ='::';

// HTML template for filmstrip display
$template_film_strip = <<<EOT

        <tr>
         <td valign="top" style="background-image: url({TILE1});"><img src="{TILE1}" alt="" border="0" /></td>
        </tr>
        <tr>
        <td valign="bottom" class="thumbnails" align="center">
          <table width="100%" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="3" border="0">
              <tr>
                 <td width="50%"></td>
                 {THUMB_STRIP}
                 <td width="50%"></td>
              </tr>
          </table>
        </td>
        </tr>
        <tr>
         <td valign="top" style="background-image: url({TILE2});"><img src="{TILE2}" alt="" border="0" /></td>
        </tr>
<!-- BEGIN thumb_cell -->
                <td valign="top" align="center">
                                        <a href="{LINK_TGT}">{THUMB}</a>
                                        {CAPTION}
                                        {ADMIN_MENU}
                </td>
<!-- END thumb_cell -->
<!-- BEGIN empty_cell -->
                <td valign="top" align="center" >&nbsp;</td>
<!-- END empty_cell -->

EOT;

?>


Once again I have had to edit your post to add the code tags to make your code readable. Please post any code on the forum using the # button in the editor.
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

Joe Carver

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1545
  • aka 'i-imagine'
    • Home Page
Re: Film Strip missing in IE 8
« Reply #9 on: May 09, 2010, 01:43:02 pm »

p.s. Checked the current Blackbirch file available and it is still the same file with the same information.

Filmstrip works fine with IE8 in the current Blackbirch theme on the Demo Link. In this case the poster has decided to use a row of 7 thumbs, causing an over-run of the table's width.


hlabout

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 118
    • Harald Labout Fotografie
Re: Film Strip missing in IE 8
« Reply #10 on: May 10, 2010, 05:17:05 pm »

Phill,

Thanks for your reply and advice / information.
I think I get it know.
When I have the time available I will do the changes as required.
Will build my own theme with all adjustments and set back the theme.inc.php back to origional configuration.
Again thanks for the info, very helpful.

Joe,

Tested my theme without the background repeat code and set the film strip images to 2.
Same result, strip is missing.
Set it back to 7, like that on a wide screen, and applied the background repeat code again.
Now again the film strip is complete in IE8. (in FF the background repeat code is not necessary)
So the background repeat code does the trick for my.
Thanks for your reply.

Harald
Logged

hlabout

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 118
    • Harald Labout Fotografie
Re: Film Strip missing in IE 8
« Reply #11 on: May 10, 2010, 06:05:51 pm »

Phill,

Created my own theme called "harald".
Successfully installed the background repeat function in my custom "harald" theme and deleted it from the theme.inc.php.
Filmstrip still working fine.

Great, I have been reading the Cpg manual over and over again after the advice not to change the theme.inc.php.
Never got into my mind how to do things like this.
Now I have seen your code example and again reading the manual It came to my mind how it works.

And after all it is very simple.

Thanks again for your advice, now I can implement all changes in my own custom theme.

Harald
 
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.043 seconds with 20 queries.