Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: [Closed]: Cropping thumbnails with the new Coppermine?  (Read 10282 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Bloom

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
[Closed]: Cropping thumbnails with the new Coppermine?
« on: April 22, 2010, 12:08:56 pm »

First of all, I just want to say I love the new version of Coppermine. It's much better than the ones before it, and it's easier and more flexible to upload my files with! I have had 0 problems whatsoever, except one.

I understand I won't need to install Stramm with this version. However, how do I edit the square thumbnails? In some thumbnails, it only shows the body, but I would like to crop the thumbnails to show what I would like it to. With Stramm, there was a link below the thumbnails when you 'Edit Files', here, there is not. Sorry if this is a really stupid question, but I'm not sure how to do this.

Thanks in advance!
« Last Edit: May 02, 2010, 02:22:10 pm by Joachim Müller »
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Cropping thumbnails with the new Coppermine?
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2010, 06:36:49 pm »

Logged

Bloom

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Re: Cropping thumbnails with the new Coppermine?
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2010, 09:53:46 pm »

Sorry I forgot to post my link! It's http://anneliese.flirtatious.org
I have used those settings, but I mean how do I crop the thumbnail, to show Anneliese's face? I was able to crop it, and move the square, then save the thumbnail how I wanted it. I am not sure why I can't now, but I might be missing something
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15765
Re: Cropping thumbnails with the new Coppermine?
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2010, 07:35:58 am »

Link to gallery: http://anneliese.flirtatious.org/gallery/

I was able to crop it, and move the square, then save the thumbnail how I wanted it. I am not sure why I can't now, but I might be missing something
I assume that feature can be used with the button 'Crop and Rotate' below the picture. But currently crop doesn't work on my testbed.
Logged

Bloom

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Re: Cropping thumbnails with the new Coppermine?
« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2010, 10:43:49 pm »

Me neither, it might be fixed with the next Stramm modpack or some add-ons, I hope. I'm keeping an eye out for anything that might help!
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Cropping thumbnails with the new Coppermine?
« Reply #5 on: April 24, 2010, 10:37:37 am »

Nonsense. Don't expect a modpack for cpg1.5.x. I'm pretty sure that Stramm won't be wasting his time by coming up with a new modpack for cpg1.5.x. Expect a stable release where hopefully all known bugs will be addressed. Start a bug thread with the needed details about the cropping feature not working instead of waiting for a modpack.
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15765
Re: Cropping thumbnails with the new Coppermine?
« Reply #6 on: April 24, 2010, 10:53:03 am »

I also don't think that there will be a modpack, as we decided to add new useful/needed plugin hooks in cpg1.5.x. So hopefully everything can be achieved as plugins and there is no need for a modpack.
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15765
Re: Cropping thumbnails with the new Coppermine?
« Reply #7 on: May 02, 2010, 09:36:32 am »

I assume that feature can be used with the button 'Crop and Rotate' below the picture. But currently crop doesn't work on my testbed.
Fixed in r7489. Now it's possible to crop the picture and thumbnail to your needs.
Logged

Albe

  • Translator
  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 67
Re: Cropping thumbnails with the new Coppermine?
« Reply #8 on: May 03, 2010, 02:02:56 pm »

Fixed in r7489. Now it's possible to crop the picture and thumbnail to your needs.

Sorry, if I am wrong but despite this topic is closed I'm still able to reply. So I thought I can do this?
(Tell me if I am wrong).

I tried your fix r7489 and would only bring to your attention that this works here in my testbed with te browsers: FireFox, Google Chrome, Opera and Safari.

Either in IE8, with/without compatibility mode, it does not work.
I get this error:

---
Error details webpage

User agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; Trident/4.0; SLCC2; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.5.30729; .NET CLR 3.0.30729; Media Center PC 6.0; InfoPath.3)
Tijdstempel: Mon, 3 May 2010 11:29:22 UTC


Message: 'innerWidth' is not defined
Line: 195
Teken: 14
Code: 0
URI: http://espero-home.net/Test/cfg/js/pic_editor.js


****

My testbed on shared-hosting-server
Apache version: 2.0.63
PHP-version:   5.2.10
   max_execution_time:   30
   max_input_time:      60
   memory_limit:      32 M
   post_max_size:      8 M
   safe_mode:         off
   sql.safe_mode:      off      
MySQL version:   4.1.22-standardlog
Architecture:   i686
Operating Sys:   Linux

My computer Operating System: Windows 7, Ultimate, 64-bit
Internet Explorer 8, FireFox 3.6.3, Opera 10.51, Safari 4.05, Google Chrome 4.1.249.1045
Temporary Testbed:   http://espero-home.net/Test/cfg/
Theme: Curve
User: tester
password: tester
album: testen

****
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15765
Re: Cropping thumbnails with the new Coppermine?
« Reply #9 on: May 20, 2010, 03:23:22 pm »

Either in IE8, with/without compatibility mode, it does not work.

Works for me with IE6. Will test with IE8 later.
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: [Closed]: Cropping thumbnails with the new Coppermine?
« Reply #10 on: May 20, 2010, 04:13:46 pm »

Works for me on my local testbed with IE8, Google Chrome 4.1.249.1064 and Mozilla Firefox 3.6.3
Logged

Albe

  • Translator
  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 67
Re: [Closed]: Cropping thumbnails with the new Coppermine?
« Reply #11 on: May 20, 2010, 07:04:47 pm »

Today, I've tried it from another place wit Vista Ultimate 64-bit, IE 8.
It also does not work.

@Joachim: Do you also have a 64-bit operating system Vista or Windows 7?
Logged

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15765
Re: [Closed]: Cropping thumbnails with the new Coppermine?
« Reply #12 on: May 20, 2010, 08:22:39 pm »

Some more tests:

IE6 works
IE7 works not
IE8 works not

I recognized that the picture is centered usually (when cropping works). On IE7/8 the picture is aligned left (where cropping doesn't work).
Logged

phill104

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4858
    • Windsurf.me
Re: [Closed]: Cropping thumbnails with the new Coppermine?
« Reply #13 on: May 20, 2010, 08:42:22 pm »

Wierd, it is working fine for me on IE8/Vista
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

Αndré

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: de
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15765
Re: [Closed]: Cropping thumbnails with the new Coppermine?
« Reply #14 on: May 20, 2010, 09:38:19 pm »

I made my tests both on my local testbed and on Albe's website. Where did you made your tests Phill?

Maybe it has something to do with IM/GD? I haven't looked at the code and don't know if the same js file will be included.
Logged

phill104

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4858
    • Windsurf.me
Re: [Closed]: Cropping thumbnails with the new Coppermine?
« Reply #15 on: May 20, 2010, 09:43:46 pm »

Only on my local testbed. I could upload the latest to my server and have another test.
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: [Closed]: Cropping thumbnails with the new Coppermine?
« Reply #16 on: May 21, 2010, 07:30:54 am »

@Joachim: Do you also have a 64-bit operating system Vista or Windows 7?
I have performed the tests I refered to in
Works for me on my local testbed with IE8, Google Chrome 4.1.249.1064 and Mozilla Firefox 3.6.3
on a 32-bit Win XP Pro German SP3 machine.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.024 seconds with 19 queries.