Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Link to botom of page  (Read 6677 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

hlabout

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 118
    • Harald Labout Fotografie
Link to botom of page
« on: April 04, 2010, 10:36:37 pm »

I created a "link" button in my coppermine gallery main menu.
The purpose of this link is to show some interesting links that are on the bottom of my index page, just below the coppermine info.
So when someone hits the link I want to show that footer info.

The problem is that I cannot get it to work like that.
Tried several commands, like goto, but all without result.

So the question is: Can it work like that and how is it done.

Currently hitting this link has the command to show the index page.

The link is created in my include/themes.inc.php file.
Used following scripts:

Code: [Select]
// HTML template for template sys_menu buttons
if (!isset($sys_menu_buttons)) { //{THEMES}
  // {HREF_LNK}{HREF_TITLE}{HREF_TGT}{BLOCK_ID}{SPACER}
      .................................(more buttons here).......................................................
      addbutton($sys_menu_buttons, '{LINK_LNK}', '{LINK_TITLE}', '{LINK_TGT}', 'link', $template_sys_menu_spacer); //Harald code 30-03-10
      ..................................(more buttons here).......................................................
  // Login and Logout don't have a spacer as only one is shown, and either would be the last option.
} //{THEMES}

and

  $param = array(
        ......................................(more buttons here)...............................
'{LINK_TGT}' => "index.php", //Harald code 31-03-10
'{LINK_TITLE}' => $lang_main_menu['link_title'], //Harald code 30-03-10
'{LINK_LNK}' => $lang_main_menu['link_lnk'], //Harald code 30-03-10
        .......................................(more buttons here)...............................
I hope to receive some information about this minor problem that I have.

Greetings,

Harald

www.haraldlabout.nl
    
« Last Edit: April 05, 2010, 06:49:11 am by Jeff Bailey »
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Link to botom of page
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2010, 09:06:40 am »

First of all you need to upgrade: you're running cpg1.4.19, so you're running 7 versions behind the package that is currently the most stable release. All versions before cpg1.4.26 contains security-flaws that are actively being exploited. We're not ready to support you if you don't upgrade, as we don't liek wasting efforts on an outdated gallery.

I created a "link" button in my coppermine gallery main menu.
The purpose of this link is to show some interesting links that are on the bottom of my index page, just below the coppermine info.
Well, then add an anchor (something like <a name="my_custom_links"></a> in front of your custom links below the gallery) - to accomplish that, just edit themes/yourtheme/template.html
Next, change the target of your custom link inside coppermine's menu to point to <a href="#my_custom_links">Links</a>. That's plain HTML, no particular tricks needed.
Logged

hlabout

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 118
    • Harald Labout Fotografie
Re: Link to botom of page
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2010, 11:02:59 am »

Joachim,

Thanks for the reply.

Currently i am working on a upgrade of my gallery to the latest coppermine version.
Unfortunately I did not keep track of the changes i made in the coppermine files to change the feel and look of my gallery.
Currently i am going thru the files to discover my changes and mark them.
After that i will upgrade to a newer version.

Thanks for the tip about my link to botom of my index page.

I had found out that i had to make a anchor, but every time a ad <a href="#my_custom_links">Links</a> behind  my '{LINK_TGT}' => my gallery crashes.
Unfortunately i am a technician and not an IT specialist, so i am still struggling with it.

Will do some more investigation soon, an din the mean time thanks for your advice.

Harald
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Link to botom of page
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2010, 11:06:39 am »

Unfortunately I did not keep track of the changes i made in the coppermine files to change the feel and look of my gallery.
Currently i am going thru the files to discover my changes and mark them.
After that i will upgrade to a newer version.
Just use a diff viewer like WinMerge and you'll be done figuring out your changes in no time.
Logged

hlabout

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 118
    • Harald Labout Fotografie
Re: Link to botom of page
« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2010, 11:10:52 am »

Thanks again, this will speed up my upgrade process.

Harald
Logged

hlabout

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 118
    • Harald Labout Fotografie
Re: Link to botom of page
« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2010, 08:33:06 pm »

Downloaded Winmerge, perfect opensource tool.
Will update soon.

I'am still struggling with my link, i think i will remove it.

Harald
Logged

hlabout

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 118
    • Harald Labout Fotografie
Re: Link to botom of page
« Reply #6 on: April 18, 2010, 08:50:02 am »

Well, then add an anchor (something like <a name="my_custom_links"></a> in front of your custom links below the gallery) - to accomplish that, just edit themes/yourtheme/template.html
Next, change the target of your custom link inside coppermine's menu to point to <a href="#my_custom_links">Links</a>. That's plain HTML, no particular tricks needed.


I am half way to upgrade my gallery, perfect tool that Winmerge.

In the mean while i still cannot get my link to the bottom of the page working.
I don't know how to change the target correctly.
When i place <a href="#my_custom_links">Links</a> on the target position of my custom link in my themes.inc.php file my gallery crashes.

I am also looking to a simple go down command but also this is not easy.
I wish i was a s/w programmer so these changes would not be so time consuming for me.

Harald
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Link to botom of page
« Reply #7 on: April 18, 2010, 11:11:50 am »

When i place <a href="#my_custom_links">Links</a> on the target position of my custom link in my themes.inc.php file my gallery crashes.
You're not meant to edit that file, under no circumstances. Perform the upgrade, then ask your next question. Nothing more to say about that.
Logged

hlabout

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 118
    • Harald Labout Fotografie
Re: Link to botom of page
« Reply #8 on: April 18, 2010, 10:07:43 pm »

Successfully upgraded to 1.4.16.
After all i did not had many changes in the original files.

Harald
Logged

hlabout

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 118
    • Harald Labout Fotografie
Re: Link to botom of page
« Reply #9 on: April 19, 2010, 02:18:51 pm »

Not 1.4.16 but 1.4.26 of course.

Harald
Logged

hlabout

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 118
    • Harald Labout Fotografie
Re: Link to botom of page
« Reply #10 on: April 21, 2010, 08:06:00 am »

Joachim,

Same as with the 's problem I think i am not able to solve things like this due to my inexperience with s/w programming and web building.
I will skip the link to the bottom of the page from my site.
I will use straight plug ins only in the future to change / add things on my gallery in the future.

Thanks again for your patience and all the advice.


Harald
Logged

hlabout

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 118
    • Harald Labout Fotografie
Re: Link to botom of page
« Reply #11 on: April 22, 2010, 01:58:54 pm »

Solved problem using Minicms.

Harald
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.025 seconds with 20 queries.