Advanced search  

News:

CPG Release 1.6.26
Correct PHP8.2 issues with user and language managers.
Additional fixes for PHP 8.2
Correct PHP8 error with SMF 2.0 bridge.
Correct IPTC supplimental category parsing.
Download and info HERE

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: [Invalid]: Curves - message box  (Read 6805 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

AndrewC

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
[Invalid]: Curves - message box
« on: March 21, 2010, 12:31:15 am »

Curves is a nice theme but trying it out it seems that there is some  space reserved under the menus for when the message box might be present, and it seems there no way to close the box. Am I missing something ?  I get a message such as "welcome user" but I don't want to keep it there for ever.

Andrew
« Last Edit: April 05, 2010, 08:58:10 am by Joachim Müller »
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Curves - message box
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2010, 08:09:26 am »

Yes, that space is reserved. You're welcome to post your suggestions how to change this. Meanwhile, do as suggested per board rules. You've been told so before several times. Start respecting board rules.
Logged

mjg

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 8
    • Michael Gorey
Re: Curves - message box
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2010, 06:24:17 am »

I found the reserved space annoying. Until there is another solution, and if you don't need a message box, this works:

1) Edit the theme's style.css at line 83 and change min-height: 95px; to 25px.
2) Remove {MESSAGE_BLOCK} from template.html
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Curves - message box
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2010, 08:57:54 am »

The CSS attribute min-height is not supported in all browsers, that's why using it is not an option. Getting rid of the placeholder token {MESSAGE_BLOCK} is of course silly and not recommended. For you the same thing applies that has been said above: respect board rules in the future. Locking and marking thread accordingly.
Logged

AndrewC

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Curves - message box space - my solution
« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2010, 10:16:44 am »

I'm not sure I know all the rules to avoid incurring the wrath of the gods but ..

I found the space reserved in "Curves" for the message box annoying. My work around is as can be seen on my gallery at http://www.tirpor.com/cpg_public/index.php is:

1) In the style sheet I:

- reduced the header_block_inner min-height to 35px
- added a new style for the message block with no min-height
Code: [Select]
#cpg_header_block_outer div.cpg_header_block_inner {
background-color: transparent;
background-image: url(images/main_block_tirpor.png);
background-repeat: no-repeat;
background-attachment: scroll;
background-position: 100% -633px;
display: block;
padding-top: 10px; /* mod */
padding-right: 20px;
padding-bottom: 0pt;
padding-left: 0px;
min-height: 35px; /**mod from 95 */
}

#tirpor_message_block { /* mod */
padding-top: 10px;
padding-right: 20px;
padding-bottom: 10px;
padding-left: 0px;
}

2) Edited the background-image to reduce the height of the gradient to just span my normal menu text and "fit" the new min-height.

3) moved the {message_block} into its own division.

Code: [Select]
<div id="cpg_header_block_outer">
<div class="cpg_header_block_inner" style="border-bottom:1px solid white">
<div id="main_menu">
<ul class="dropmenu">
{SYS_MENU}
{SUB_MENU}
</ul>
<ul class="dropmenu">
{ADMIN_MENU}
</ul>
</div>
             <!-- MOD
            <div id="tirpor_message_block">
        {MESSAGE_BLOCK}
        </div>
            -->
<div class="clearer"></div>
</div>
</div>

It seems to work for me. If a message is needed, space opens up for it and collapses when not used. It works in Firefox but in IE there is an annoying line that appears under the menu.

What I don't how to do is add code to let you click on the message box and make it disappear.

I wanted to add this to my original thread but that has been locked and marked invalid for some reason.

If this is a good solution let me know and I'll mark bit closed.

rgds,

Andrew




Logged

AndrewC

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Re: Curves - message box space - my solution
« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2010, 10:28:44 am »

Put the wrong code snip in there, should have been:

Code: [Select]
    <div id="cpg_header_block_outer">
<div class="cpg_header_block_inner" style="border-bottom:1px solid white">
<div id="main_menu">
<ul class="dropmenu">
{SYS_MENU}
{SUB_MENU}
</ul>
<ul class="dropmenu">
{ADMIN_MENU}
</ul>
</div>
             <!-- MOD -->
            <div id="tirpor_message_block">
        {MESSAGE_BLOCK}
        </div>

<div class="clearer"></div>
</div>

Why can't I go back in and edit a post ? Seems a bit odd.

r/ Andrew
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Curves - message box space - my solution
« Reply #6 on: April 05, 2010, 10:40:11 am »

Why can't I go back in and edit a post ? Seems a bit odd.
That's not odd, but intended. We don't want you to edit your postings, simple as that. And we don't want to discuss the reasons why. Stop the meta discussion and silly remarks like
I'm not sure I know all the rules to avoid incurring the wrath of the gods but ..
, OK? Just the facts please.

Merged your new thread with the existing one. Remains locked. Thank you.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.017 seconds with 19 queries.