Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: custom menu - main window?  (Read 6228 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

TT

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 18
    • Thiesen-PhotoDesign
custom menu - main window?
« on: January 20, 2010, 10:11:29 pm »

I have added custom menu items in my theme.php like
        <a href="\individual\legal.html" target=" " title="Impressum">Impressum</a><br />
that work fine so far.
You click on it and it opens a new window.

Question: can I somehow show the content within the main window?

Same with any links that are included within anycontent.php...

Any ideas are appreciated.
Thanks, Thomas

Logged

phill104

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4885
    • Windsurf.me
Re: custom menu - main window?
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2010, 10:44:45 pm »

Please post a link to your gallery.

http://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/index.php/topic,55415.msg270616.html#msg270616

I wonder if there is an SMF plugin to add buttons with custom responses, my keyboard is rapidly getting worn ou from just asking for a link.
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

TT

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 18
    • Thiesen-PhotoDesign
Re: custom menu - main window?
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2010, 11:15:49 pm »

Logged

Jeff Bailey

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1322
  • Fishing relaxes me.
    • Bailey Family Co.
Re: custom menu - main window?
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2010, 11:28:01 pm »

Make this
        <a href="\individual\legal.html" target=" " title="Impressum">Impressum</a><br />
look like this
Code: [Select]
        <a href="\individual\legal.html" title="Impressum">Impressum</a><br />
In other words...take out the target attribute.
Logged
Thinking is the hardest work there is, which is probably the reason why so few engage in it. - Henry Ford

Jeff Bailey

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1322
  • Fishing relaxes me.
    • Bailey Family Co.
Re: custom menu - main window?
« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2010, 11:29:35 pm »

Should have checked this first...
<!--Coppermine Photo Gallery 1.4.8 (stable)-->
Upgrade immediately, you are vulnerable to attacks.
http://coppermine-gallery.net/demo/cpg14x/docs/index.htm#upgrade
Logged
Thinking is the hardest work there is, which is probably the reason why so few engage in it. - Henry Ford

Jeff Bailey

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1322
  • Fishing relaxes me.
    • Bailey Family Co.
Re: custom menu - main window?
« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2010, 11:59:14 pm »

OT: @Phil If you use firefox you can use FireForm. Simply right click and select what to fill the form with, after setting it up of course.
Logged
Thinking is the hardest work there is, which is probably the reason why so few engage in it. - Henry Ford

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: custom menu - main window?
« Reply #6 on: January 21, 2010, 08:13:06 am »

       
Code: [Select]
<a href="\individual\legal.html" target=" " title="Impressum">Impressum</a><br />
...and use forward slashes (/) in HTML tags, even if your client operating system might give you the impression that youcould use backslashes (\). They are not the same, your browser just is tolerating nonsensical coding.

You click on it and it opens a new window.

Question: can I somehow show the content within the main window?
The target attribute is of course nonsense as suggested below and it is deprecated (as in "should no longer be used"). If you must use it, use it in a valid way: possible values for the target attribute are "_blank", "_self", "_parent" and "_top" or the name of a particular target frame/window. A space doesn't qualify as valid target attribute value and is treated as "new window".
This forum is not the proper space to teach you HTML basics. As you're German, here are some deep links to the webdesign reference for the German-speaking community: http://de.selfhtml.org/html/frames/verweise.htm and http://de.selfhtml.org/html/verweise/definieren.htm#zielfenster

Anyway, don't take care of that first. Instead, you need to upgrade asap, as your gallery is very vulnerable because you're using an outdated version.
Logged

TT

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 18
    • Thiesen-PhotoDesign
Re: custom menu - main window?
« Reply #7 on: January 21, 2010, 08:18:12 pm »

Joachim, you are right - this is outdated and I have to apologize that I have copied the line from an old version of theme.php (the actual version contains the correct syntax...).
And you are also right, if I take the 'target' option out, the link will open within the main window.... Just not the way I like it:
Header is still ok, but the side menu and footer are gone - I was hoping to find a solution that will display the link in the area where you normally see the album list or a single picture... (but maybe that might require some more work...)

sorry for the confusion

btw.: update will be done within the next couple of weeks
Logged

TT

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 18
    • Thiesen-PhotoDesign
Re: custom menu - main window?
« Reply #8 on: January 21, 2010, 08:27:14 pm »

yeez - I am getting old: the header is part of the webpage I am linking...

But the question still is how do I display the content of the link in between header, menu and footer... 
Logged

Jeff Bailey

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1322
  • Fishing relaxes me.
    • Bailey Family Co.
Re: custom menu - main window?
« Reply #9 on: January 21, 2010, 10:42:18 pm »

There really isn't any point in supporting someone with a outdated gallery. Please upgrade first. It takes very little time and will save you a lot of grief if you get hacked.

You can try MiniCMS.
Logged
Thinking is the hardest work there is, which is probably the reason why so few engage in it. - Henry Ford

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: custom menu - main window?
« Reply #10 on: January 22, 2010, 08:43:52 am »

...or create new pages with custom content as suggested in http://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/index.php/topic,38979.0.html and various similar threads.

When typing your reply here we expect you to have upgraded, as we're not ready to discuss anything else with you but that from now on.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.037 seconds with 19 queries.