Advanced search  

News:

CPG Release 1.6.26
Correct PHP8.2 issues with user and language managers.
Additional fixes for PHP 8.2
Correct PHP8 error with SMF 2.0 bridge.
Correct IPTC supplimental category parsing.
Download and info HERE

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: XP Publish returns an error  (Read 8570 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

reflecs

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 30
  • Respect people then they will respect you too
XP Publish returns an error
« on: August 24, 2009, 01:59:55 pm »

Hello all,

I've installed a new copy of coppermine. Now I tried to upload through XP Publish and the following error is returned to me:

The Wizzard Could not connect to the Internet, or the Web Service returned a wizard page that is nog valid.

To try again, click back.

To close this wizard, click Cancel


I've looked into it myself and concluded the following:
- This problem only occurs when a new album needs to be created by XP Publish
- If I first create an album via the web interface and then I use XP Publish by choosing that album, the files are uploaded correctly.

Regards,
Rob
Logged

reflecs

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 30
  • Respect people then they will respect you too
Re: XP Publish returns an error
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2009, 02:03:54 pm »

A small adition to the toppicstart:

Server: Windows 2003 R2 (x64)
Webserver: IIS v6
PHP version: 5.2.5 (x64)
MySQL: 5.0.51b
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: XP Publish returns an error
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2009, 02:09:09 pm »

Well well. Sounds very promising. Maybe you want to add more details about your favorite drink and color, or what the maiden name of your aunt Emma was.
Or maybe you'll read the documentation, section "Asking for support on upload issues" and do as suggested there.
Logged

reflecs

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 30
  • Respect people then they will respect you too
Re: XP Publish returns an error
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2009, 02:44:45 pm »

I'm sorry for not reading the docs on uploading troubleshooting. I'm also sorry for the way you react. I'm not a small child or a retard and I like your product very much. I understand you get tired of repeating the same questions every time. But if I schould react to a client in a shop like this I will lose lots of customers. You could have asked me in a normal way if I would like to check out the documentation.

Well now that is said. I realy like to see this problem solved and I also know more people with this problem.

I executed all settings on my album and I have created a test account:
Account name: test
Password: test

the URL is: http://mode7.no-ip.com/fotos

With XP Publish when I get the error I get no debug info or any logging.

Regards,
Rob
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: XP Publish returns an error
« Reply #4 on: August 24, 2009, 11:04:25 pm »

I'm sorry for not reading the docs on uploading troubleshooting. I'm also sorry for the way you react. I'm not a small child or a retard and I like your product very much. I understand you get tired of repeating the same questions every time. But if I schould react to a client in a shop like this I will lose lots of customers. You could have asked me in a normal way if I would like to check out the documentation.
Then you should have done as suggested: the test user account doesn't have upload privileges and therefor is utterly useless. Definitely not what I have asked for. What can I say? You say that you don't want to be treated like a child, but you behave like one. Instead of complaining about my reply you should have done as suggested. Do your homework now. Then post back here.
Logged

reflecs

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 30
  • Respect people then they will respect you too
Re: XP Publish returns an error
« Reply #5 on: August 24, 2009, 11:33:55 pm »

I behave like a child??? I don't think so. If I treat people that way at my job I will be kicked out realy soon. What would you do if a shop salesman would talk to you that way? I surely would walk out the store without buying a product.

I checked the rights again and the rights are ok. If I use the test user I can upload files. So the account is ok.

Logged

phill104

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4885
    • Windsurf.me
Re: XP Publish returns an error
« Reply #6 on: August 24, 2009, 11:36:06 pm »


I checked the rights again and the rights are ok. If I use the test user I can upload files. So the account is ok.



Erm.... ::)

Quote
Sorry there is no album where you are allowed to upload files
 
Create / order my albums

File: D:\wwwroot\fotos\upload.php - Line: 876

We do not want to create an album for you.
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

reflecs

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 30
  • Respect people then they will respect you too
Re: XP Publish returns an error
« Reply #7 on: August 24, 2009, 11:43:38 pm »

I will create an album called test. But the problem with XP Publish is the creation of a new album then the error will appear. If a album is created in coppermine and XP publish is used to add pics to that album there is no problem. So it seems there is a small problem in album creation by use of XP Publish.

Thanx for your reply!

Regards,
Rob
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: XP Publish returns an error
« Reply #8 on: August 24, 2009, 11:50:27 pm »

If we get the error message
Quote
Sorry there is no album where you are allowed to upload files
this proves that you haven't even bothered to try for yourself. So I went ahead and created that folder and the upload may or may not have worked as expected, because you have admin approval turned on. Why are you behaving difficult?
We believe in taking one step at a time.
Logged

reflecs

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 30
  • Respect people then they will respect you too
Re: XP Publish returns an error
« Reply #9 on: August 25, 2009, 12:06:00 am »

As stated before. This is a fresh installation. I tested throughout but deleted my own test albums again. So don't tell me I didn't try a thing because I did. Troubleshooting IT systems Linux aswell as Microsoft is my job.

I also took a look at the code. I can read PHP and so on but if you didn't create it yourself it isn't that easy troubleshooting. You know the code so troubleshooting should be lots easier for you and less time consuming.

Logged

phill104

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4885
    • Windsurf.me
Re: XP Publish returns an error
« Reply #10 on: August 25, 2009, 12:19:52 am »

You still have not turned off admin approval  ::)
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: XP Publish returns an error
« Reply #11 on: August 25, 2009, 12:32:44 am »

Edit xp_publish.php, find

Code: [Select]
$query = "INSERT INTO {$CONFIG['TABLE_ALBUMS']} (category, title, uploads, pos) VALUES ('$category', '" . addslashes($_POST['new_alb_name']) . "', 'NO',  '0')";

Change to

Code: [Select]
$query = "INSERT INTO {$CONFIG['TABLE_ALBUMS']} (category, title, uploads, pos, description) VALUES ('$category', '" . addslashes($_POST['new_alb_name']) . "', 'NO',  '0', '')";
Logged

reflecs

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 30
  • Respect people then they will respect you too
Re: XP Publish returns an error
« Reply #12 on: August 25, 2009, 08:09:42 am »

Nibbler,

The solution you posted is working!

Many thanx!

Regards,
Rob
Logged

reflecs

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 30
  • Respect people then they will respect you too
Re: XP Publish returns an error
« Reply #13 on: August 25, 2009, 08:45:40 am »

I was to early with my conclusion. The error is not there anymore but now album information is not updated in XP Publish and files are not uploaded into the newly (by XP Publish) created album. Any idea on that?
Logged

reflecs

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 30
  • Respect people then they will respect you too
Re: XP Publish returns an error
« Reply #14 on: August 25, 2009, 08:57:05 am »

Ok I'm a bit further. I solved the problem of the files not being uploaded to the album by replacing the XP_Publish.php with a fresh copy and I made your change again. Now XP Publish can create an album and it is filled with the selected pics.

However the list of albums in XP publish is not being refreshed. Therefore I now cannot upload pics to existing albums because they are not shown in the list.

Regards,
Rob
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: XP Publish returns an error
« Reply #15 on: August 25, 2009, 11:38:45 am »

I noticed that too. Just press F5 to reload the list.
Logged

reflecs

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 30
  • Respect people then they will respect you too
Re: XP Publish returns an error
« Reply #16 on: August 25, 2009, 11:51:40 am »

That is working too!! Many thanx!

I noticed that after a while the list refreshes automaticly too.

Regards,
Rob
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: XP Publish returns an error
« Reply #17 on: August 25, 2009, 12:04:58 pm »

See if adding a no-cache header helps.

After

Code: [Select]
<title><?php echo $lang_xp_publish_php['title'?></title>

Add

Code: [Select]
<meta http-equiv="Pragma" content="no-cache" />
Logged

reflecs

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 30
  • Respect people then they will respect you too
Re: XP Publish returns an error
« Reply #18 on: August 25, 2009, 12:24:12 pm »

That seems to do the trick!

Another thanx!!

Regards,
Rob
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: XP Publish returns an error
« Reply #19 on: August 25, 2009, 12:51:16 pm »

Great. Thanks for confirming. These fixes will be in the next Coppermine release.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.022 seconds with 19 queries.