Advanced search  

News:

CPG Release 1.6.26
Correct PHP8.2 issues with user and language managers.
Additional fixes for PHP 8.2
Correct PHP8 error with SMF 2.0 bridge.
Correct IPTC supplimental category parsing.
Download and info HERE

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: [done] Back to displayimage from editOnePic  (Read 9770 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

johnwr

  • Translator
  • Coppermine novice
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 46
[done] Back to displayimage from editOnePic
« on: May 12, 2004, 05:00:21 pm »

When editing a picture with editOnePic.php (using link from displayimage.php), I can set title, description etc. Then I press Apply Modifications, and the info is saved. This works as a charm using latest CVS as of today (1.3).

But how can I get back to the displayimage.php without pressing my browser's back button twice? If I want to update the next picture in my album (or see the results), I have to navigate all the way back to the picture again from home.

Shouldn't there be some kind of "back to displayimage.php" feature there? Even maybe the breadcrumb?

I know I can use the mass setting feature of the album (editpics.php) instead, but sometimes these texts are best set when browsing.

John
« Last Edit: May 13, 2004, 10:15:54 am by Casper »
Logged

Casper

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5231
Re: Back to displayimage from editOnePic
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2004, 05:27:52 pm »

Hi,

Good point.  One way is to make the thumb a clickable link back to the displaypic, by doing this;

In editOnepic.php, find (line 228);

Code: [Select]
<img src="$thumb_url" class="image" border="0"><br />
Change it to;

Code: [Select]
<a href="$thumb_link"><img src="$thumb_url" class="image" border="0"></a><br />

I will discuss with Gaugau and other devs worth of putting this in main code.
Logged
It has been a long time now since I did my little bit here, and have done no coding or any other such stuff since. I'm back to being a noob here

Casper

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5231
Re: Back to displayimage from editOnePic
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2004, 05:47:15 pm »

Probably a better way would be to make this change, which adds a back button, that returns to the pic display;

Find;
Code: [Select]
<td colspan="3" align="center" class="tablef">
                        <input type="submit" value="{$lang_editpics_php['apply']}" name="submitDescription" class="button">
                </td>

Change it to;

Code: [Select]
<td colspan="3" align="center" class="tablef">
                        <input type="submit" value="{$lang_editpics_php['apply']}" name="submitDescription" class="button">
               <br><a href="$thumb_link" class="button">$lang_back</a></td>

@gaugau, would one or both these be worth putting in the cvs.  No language changes required, and will help with nav from this page.
I can do the above if you like, but I suspect there is a better way.
« Last Edit: May 12, 2004, 06:28:25 pm by Casper »
Logged
It has been a long time now since I did my little bit here, and have done no coding or any other such stuff since. I'm back to being a noob here

Tarique Sani

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2712
    • http://tariquesani.net
Re: Back to displayimage from editOnePic
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2004, 07:22:41 am »

Go ahead, add both and  commit it :)
Logged
SANIsoft PHP applications for E Biz

Casper

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5231
Re: Back to displayimage from editOnePic
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2004, 10:15:35 am »

fixed and committed.
Logged
It has been a long time now since I did my little bit here, and have done no coding or any other such stuff since. I'm back to being a noob here

johnwr

  • Translator
  • Coppermine novice
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 46
Re: [done] Back to displayimage from editOnePic
« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2004, 12:02:36 am »

Great, works fine.

But when I continue to comment on files I find that the same applies to the multisetting feature of editpics.php.
When finishing updating texts, there might be a "Back" button next to the "Apply modifications" there as well?

John
Logged

Casper

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5231
Re: [done] Back to displayimage from editOnePic
« Reply #6 on: May 19, 2004, 10:13:20 am »

From editpic.php the 'album list' link takes you back to the category page.
Logged
It has been a long time now since I did my little bit here, and have done no coding or any other such stuff since. I'm back to being a noob here

johnwr

  • Translator
  • Coppermine novice
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 46
Re: [done] Back to displayimage from editOnePic
« Reply #7 on: May 19, 2004, 01:06:56 pm »

So it does... Sorry, hadn't seen that...
Logged

CasaDelGato

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 13
    • CasaDelGato
Re: [done] Back to displayimage from editOnePic
« Reply #8 on: June 06, 2004, 06:31:41 pm »

Looks like the "Back" button hasn't made it into 1.3 yet.

What would be REALLY nice, is if the "Edit Description" button on the "DisplayImage.php" page would just insert the EditOnePic panel, say between the image and the filmstrip.
This would let me see the full size image, make my changes, click "Apply", and then just click on the next image.
It would make life so much easier to be able to QUICKLY edit the images after a batch add.
   Edit->Apply->Next, etc...
Logged

Casper

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5231
Re: [done] Back to displayimage from editOnePic
« Reply #9 on: June 06, 2004, 09:09:38 pm »

Looks like the "Back" button hasn't made it into 1.3 yet.

It is there, in editonepic, under the 'apply modifications' button.
Logged
It has been a long time now since I did my little bit here, and have done no coding or any other such stuff since. I'm back to being a noob here

CasaDelGato

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 13
    • CasaDelGato
Re: [done] Back to displayimage from editOnePic
« Reply #10 on: June 06, 2004, 10:35:52 pm »

Yes it is.  I hadn't updated with the latest code from CVS yet.
It's still kinda awkward when updating lots of pics, and things get rather weird when you are moving pics between albums.
If you change the album, and click on "Back", it takes you to the new album (of course).
This is rather annoying when you need to move a set of pictures from one album to another.
Logged

Casper

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5231
Re: [done] Back to displayimage from editOnePic
« Reply #11 on: June 06, 2004, 10:53:44 pm »

If you change the album, and click on "Back", it takes you to the new album (of course).

Good point, I actually hadn't thought of that.

This is rather annoying when you need to move a set of pictures from one album to another.

If you are doing several from the same album, why not use the 'edit pics' from the album, rather than 'editonepic'.  You can go through the album, choosing which pics to move where, and then just click the 'modify' once.
Logged
It has been a long time now since I did my little bit here, and have done no coding or any other such stuff since. I'm back to being a noob here

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: [done] Back to displayimage from editOnePic
« Reply #12 on: June 06, 2004, 11:06:50 pm »

clicking "back" is a bad idea when using html forms that submit data to the database, or more generally speaking: when changing dynamic content. Nothing that can be done about this...

GauGau
Logged

Casper

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5231
Re: [done] Back to displayimage from editOnePic
« Reply #13 on: June 07, 2004, 12:49:13 am »

I think CasaDelGato was refering to the 'Back' button I added to editOnepic.php, not the back button on the browser.
Logged
It has been a long time now since I did my little bit here, and have done no coding or any other such stuff since. I'm back to being a noob here

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: [done] Back to displayimage from editOnePic
« Reply #14 on: June 07, 2004, 01:13:57 am »

sorry, I didn't notice that one - my apologies to CasaDelGato then.

In my opinion the back button will confuse many users (they may not realize they have to click "apply" first, and the term "back" is usually "not so good" because you don't know where exactly you're going to be sent back to; some may think it means "undo"). I suggest removing the back button for the cpg1.3.0 release and add a feature to the next version with a tick box that says "return to pic view after changes have been saved" (checked by default) or make the back button only show up if the form has been submit at least once. Sorry I have to be a spoiler on this...

GauGau

P.S. The back button is currently not coppermine standards compliant. If we decide to keep it in, it should be made compliant.
Logged

CasaDelGato

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 13
    • CasaDelGato
Re: [done] Back to displayimage from editOnePic
« Reply #15 on: June 07, 2004, 02:11:57 am »

I suggest removing the back button for the cpg1.3.0 release and add a feature to the next version with a tick box that says "return to pic view after changes have been saved" (checked by default)
Oooh, I like that.  Just PLEASE have the pic view it returns to be the one that it was started from - NOT the new album if the pics album was changed.  (Just show the "next" pic since the "current" one no longer exists there.)
Logged

Casper

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5231
Re: [done] Back to displayimage from editOnePic
« Reply #16 on: June 07, 2004, 09:51:13 am »

Removed from CVS.
« Last Edit: June 07, 2004, 10:12:44 am by Casper »
Logged
It has been a long time now since I did my little bit here, and have done no coding or any other such stuff since. I'm back to being a noob here

johnwr

  • Translator
  • Coppermine novice
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 46
Re: [done] Back to displayimage from editOnePic
« Reply #17 on: June 07, 2004, 04:33:29 pm »

So, what your saying is that if someone want to edit several pictures in an album using editOnepic in the cpg1.3.0 release, he/she has to aither use the browsers backbutton with care, or navigate back to that album again from home.
Isn't it better to keep the backbutton functionality (then of course coppermine standards compliant), and instead add the proposed tick box functionality to the next versions featurelist?

I for one use the current backbutton alot, and will miss it...
The issue could perhaps be eased somewhat if the breadcrumb is added to editOnepic?

Of course CasaDelGato's suggestion from his first post in this thread sounds nice and solves this best. But it is definately a bigger issue, perhaps for 1.3.1?

John
Logged

Casper

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5231
Re: [done] Back to displayimage from editOnePic
« Reply #18 on: June 07, 2004, 05:57:44 pm »

You can always add it yourself, just add the code mentioned earlier.
Logged
It has been a long time now since I did my little bit here, and have done no coding or any other such stuff since. I'm back to being a noob here

johnwr

  • Translator
  • Coppermine novice
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 46
Re: [done] Back to displayimage from editOnePic
« Reply #19 on: June 08, 2004, 05:00:55 pm »

Yes, I will of course do that. It just feels a shame to remove a working (and used) feature, but you're the bosses...
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.029 seconds with 20 queries.