Advanced search  

News:

CPG Release 1.6.26
Correct PHP8.2 issues with user and language managers.
Additional fixes for PHP 8.2
Correct PHP8 error with SMF 2.0 bridge.
Correct IPTC supplimental category parsing.
Download and info HERE

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: no php . ini file on host, can't seem to create one on a Mac  (Read 4230 times)

faramir66103

• Coppermine newbie

Hi Folks, I'm really a newbie at web stuff and need some help.  I recently upgraded to the latest version of Coppermine, and now get the following message when I log in as an administrator:
The PHP setting register_globals is enabled on your server, which is a bad idea in terms of security. It's strongly recommended to turn it off.

In discussion with the tech support folks at godaddy, they want me to use some windows application to create a php.ini file with "register_globals = off" in the body and insert it into my root directory.  I'm a Mac guy all the way, and there's got to be a regular Mac application that can create the required file.  I've tried TextEdit, Stickies & Kompozer (my html editor).  None of them allow me to save the document with .ini as the file extension.

Could someone tell me how to create this file, or where to get a copy I can modify?

I really appreciate any help.

Thanks,
Adam

Joachim Müller

• Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: no php . ini file on host, can't seem to create one on a Mac
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2009, 07:45:22 am »