Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Another jupload freeze topic  (Read 22128 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Woshee

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Another jupload freeze topic
« on: June 06, 2009, 11:22:05 am »

Hi,

I've got a silly little problem there...

jupload refuses to transfer any image to coppermine (latest version).
With 3.5.1: freeze with a java error message : "No file uploaded ()"
With 3.5.2: freeze with a blank java error message
With 3.5.3: Don't freeze, with another java error message, and the debug output which is attached (it was too long to be paste into the post).


jupload used to work, 2 months ago. I don't use it every day, so I don't know why it doesn't work anymore.
I tried to clean up coppermine and jupload, by reinstalls, but no change.

Any idea?

Thanks for your amazing job.

Woshee
Logged

etienne_sf

  • Moderator
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 908
    • Wiki
Re: Another jupload freeze topic
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2009, 11:46:09 am »

Hi,

  Thanks for trying the three version.

The error in the log file is the same:  ERROR: no file uploaded ()

The problem seems to be link to the server. I'll have to restore my VMWare, to test with my linux box.

Etienne
Logged

Woshee

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: Another jupload freeze topic
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2009, 01:48:34 pm »

I wish you'll manage to find a workaround, it's the only way I have to do massive uploads.
Logged

etienne_sf

  • Moderator
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 908
    • Wiki
Re: Another jupload freeze topic
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2009, 10:54:55 am »

hi,

  Here is my answer in the 'other' freeze thread:

Ok,

  I think the applet freezes, because of an OutOfMemoryError, that can occurs. Actually, this occurs for me, when uploading several files (>50), with limiter memory.

I added calls to free memory. For me, it works.

Can you try the attached jupload version ?

Etienne


Can you try the jupload version attached to this thread ?
Here is the URL:
http://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=59311.0;attach=21735

Etienne
Logged

Woshee

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: Another jupload freeze topic
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2009, 11:30:12 am »

I didn't see any change.

I attached the debug output.
Logged

etienne_sf

  • Moderator
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 908
    • Wiki
Re: Another jupload freeze topic
« Reply #5 on: June 08, 2009, 01:25:41 pm »

Hum, hum,

  First, I confirm you tested the last version. That's a point, thanks for it.

Now: in your case, it's not a memory problem, as your freeMemory is: 155 608 296 bytes. Your maxMemory is even bigger.


So next steps, some questions:
1) In your case: can you upload some pictures, or no picture at all
- If some: what make the applet freeze: one or several pictures, the Nth for the upload (for instance the second)
- If none (which is my understanding), can you give me some info about your system. Could you post me your phpinfo ? (by PM, for security reasons)
2) Do you use ImageImack? there was a thread, saying that it does not work well. This point is on my todo list. But I didn't check it.

Etienne


Etienne
Logged

Woshee

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: Another jupload freeze topic
« Reply #6 on: June 08, 2009, 01:57:38 pm »

1) No pictures. It's exactly the same error if I only select one image.
I send you the phpinfo link via PM.

2) ImageImack? or ImageMagick? Coppermine is configured with GD 2.x
Logged

etienne_sf

  • Moderator
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 908
    • Wiki
Re: Another jupload freeze topic
« Reply #7 on: June 08, 2009, 03:09:52 pm »

1) No pictures. It's exactly the same error if I only select one image.
I send you the phpinfo link via PM.

Ok

2) ImageImack? or ImageMagick? Coppermine is configured with GD 2.x

Yes, I wanted to write ImageMagick. With GD, you stop this possibility.

I read the php info for now.

Thanks
Etienne
Logged

etienne_sf

  • Moderator
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 908
    • Wiki
Re: Another jupload freeze topic
« Reply #8 on: June 08, 2009, 05:53:55 pm »

A second answer to your mail: about phpinfo.

 You have PHP 4.4.9. I have 5.2.6.

Problem: I can't find a way to download it. I'l go on searching. Perhaps you have a linux rpm for it, or the possibility (without insurance) of upgrading to php 5?

Etienne
Logged

Woshee

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: Another jupload freeze topic
« Reply #9 on: June 08, 2009, 06:03:21 pm »

The site is webhosted, I don't have any direct acces to it, but I managed to change to php5.
If you come again to the phpversion link, it'll be updated.

I attached the new debug output if it has changed with php5.

Thanks for your tries.
Logged

etienne_sf

  • Moderator
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 908
    • Wiki
Re: Another jupload freeze topic
« Reply #10 on: June 09, 2009, 11:16:06 pm »

The problem changed between your first debug output, and the second one. I missed that: you had an error 'no file uploaded'. Now, the applet actually freeze.

 Can you try the jupload patch available in the 'JUpload freezes up' thread:
http://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=59311.0;attach=21799


I'm sorry to ask to test that, but I can't really reproduce what happens on your system. So I can not be sure, if I correct or not the issue you encounter.

Now, the bad news is that my laptop is to be formatted. I guess it will take one day or more to have it work again....

Etienne
Logged

Woshee

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: Another jupload freeze topic
« Reply #11 on: June 10, 2009, 11:59:46 am »

With this version, there are no more error message, with the debug output being copied in the clipboard. It just freezes.
Logged

etienne_sf

  • Moderator
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 908
    • Wiki
Re: Another jupload freeze topic
« Reply #12 on: June 12, 2009, 11:32:12 pm »

Ok,

  I think I'm ok with this one. A hard one, I have to say.  :-\

Can you check the release available in the other freeze thread:

JUpload package:
http://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=59311.0;attach=21874

Message:
http://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/index.php/topic,59311.msg297126.html#msg297126


Etienne
Logged

sk8connection

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: Another jupload freeze topic
« Reply #13 on: June 14, 2009, 07:16:50 pm »

Hi,

i have the same problem tryed 3.4.0 same problem. Then i learned that only pictures with a size bigger than 4MB would cause the problem, i could upload pictures with 3.8 or 3.9 MB even with 3.5.1. But if the picture size is greater than 4MB something causes the Warning (without content) message box to appear.
But to give any further help i could not find the logs. Do i have to switch them on somehow? where can i find them?

Sincerely sk8connection
Logged

Woshee

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: Another jupload freeze topic
« Reply #14 on: June 15, 2009, 08:33:16 am »

Thanks etiene, but the same error again.

I attached the new debug output.

Do you want admin/ftp rights?
Logged

etienne_sf

  • Moderator
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 908
    • Wiki
Re: Another jupload freeze topic
« Reply #15 on: June 15, 2009, 10:27:55 am »

Hi,

i have the same problem tryed 3.4.0 same problem. Then i learned that only pictures with a size bigger than 4MB would cause the problem, i could upload pictures with 3.8 or 3.9 MB even with 3.5.1. But if the picture size is greater than 4MB something causes the Warning (without content) message box to appear.
But to give any further help i could not find the logs. Do i have to switch them on somehow? where can i find them?

Sincerely sk8connection

Hi,

  There are actually two problems:
1) The size of picture, that may generate an OutOfMemoryError
2) The reaction of the applet, when such an error occurs.

This thread is about the second point: the previous applet version would freeze, when displaying an error message to the user, while uploading. This error should be solved with the 3.5.3rc5 version.
Please confirm it: I need feedback on this one. It's a really tricky problem, with deadlock in Java internal threads. According to me it's corrected.

Which mean: back to Point 1) again : OutOfMemoryError with big pictures. This again is a complex problem. To manage pictures, the code need to create a big memory area, to work on the picture, and down-scale it to the target size.

The problem is the same on client side (in the applet) or on server side (with GD or ImageMagick). With big pictures, I had to allow bigger size for server scripts, otherwise, I had memory errors.


I'm looking to find a solution there. But, as I can't control the memory used the applet, I guess there are no real solution.


So again:
a) This thread is about 'applet freezing'. Please give me feedback about that. The question: do still the applet freeze, or is the error message properly displayed ?
b) About memory problems: I created another thread. Please use it for this kind of discussion.
Link to this URL: http://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/index.php/topic,60114.new.html#new
Logged

Woshee

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: Another jupload freeze topic
« Reply #16 on: June 15, 2009, 10:34:58 am »

There is no more freezing since some version now.

But I don't upload big pictures. Their size are 200ko each maximum.
Logged

etienne_sf

  • Moderator
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 908
    • Wiki
Re: Another jupload freeze topic
« Reply #17 on: June 15, 2009, 10:38:44 am »

Great !

  So, if I understand correctly, your issue is solved: Jupload is working (again) correctly for you. Correct ?

Etienne
Logged

Woshee

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: Another jupload freeze topic
« Reply #18 on: June 15, 2009, 10:47:54 am »

Not at all!

All debug outputs I sent you from the beginning were obtained with small pictures.

Sorry for the misunderstanding.
Logged

etienne_sf

  • Moderator
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 908
    • Wiki
Re: Another jupload freeze topic
« Reply #19 on: June 15, 2009, 11:17:04 am »

Not at all!

All debug outputs I sent you from the beginning were obtained with small pictures.

Sorry for the misunderstanding.

Right, sorry. The misunderstanding is mine.

  We're now back to the original problem. The error is 'No file uploaded'. This problem occurs on server side.

But, still: the applet now should no longer freeze. Correct ?

Do you want admin/ftp rights?

  Hum, hum, yes, I would need that. And a set of pictures that don't work, if possible ... ?

Etienne
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.025 seconds with 20 queries.