Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: I want the original file to be the thumbnail  (Read 4016 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

crow5716

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
    • Bouncing Trucks
I want the original file to be the thumbnail
« on: May 29, 2009, 11:17:56 pm »

So I searched and found a few things kind of what I was looking for but didn't help too much. I am new to coppermine and am trying to use it on my website. The way I was doing galleries on my webpage was all html and I wanted something easier to change and work with. When I upload files coppermine makes a thumbnail file. I don't want any thumbnail generated. I just want the original file to be the thumbnail. Any file I upload to the gallery is going to be around 100x100 so there is no need for thumbnails. Plus they are all animated Gif files and when the thumbnail is created it loses it's animation. I have a link to my coppermine example now. I manually went in and re-ftp uploaded the top 5 thumbnails into the folder. but the  bottom 2 are how the thumbnails look when uploading them through coppermine.

http://www.bouncingtrucks.com/gallery/thumbnails.php?album=2

-Crow
BouncingTrucks.com
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: I want the original file to be the thumbnail
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2009, 11:22:29 pm »

Then set the dimension for thumbs to a high value, e.g. 400
Logged

crow5716

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
    • Bouncing Trucks
Re: I want the original file to be the thumbnail
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2009, 11:25:57 pm »

i did that but when i upload it coppermine is still recreating it's own gif thumbnail. It stays the original dimension in size but when coppermine makes a thumnail version of it. The Gif loses it's animations and just becomes a static image.

-crow
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: I want the original file to be the thumbnail
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2009, 10:45:43 am »

Can you post a link to your gallery please?
Logged

crow5716

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
    • Bouncing Trucks
Re: I want the original file to be the thumbnail
« Reply #4 on: May 30, 2009, 01:50:38 pm »

http://www.bouncingtrucks.com/gallery/thumbnails.php?album=2

if you look at the entire top row, i want it to look like this when i upload them. i had to manually go in with my ftp program and upload the orginial files for each and rename them with the "thumb_" prefix. if you look at the 2 files in the bottom row this is how they look when i upload them through coppermine. they loose some quality and all of their animation. i just want the original file ot be the thumbnail without going through something where they make a new file for the thumbnail.

-crow
Logged

Joe Carver

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: us
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1504
  • aka 'i-imagine'
    • Home Page
Re: I want the original file to be the thumbnail
« Reply #5 on: May 30, 2009, 02:27:22 pm »

[off category topic]
You can easily find many automated programs to rename large amounts of files. What could be faster than FTP for uploads?
[/off category topic]

crow5716

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
    • Bouncing Trucks
Re: I want the original file to be the thumbnail
« Reply #6 on: May 30, 2009, 02:33:36 pm »

i don't want to have to upload the new thumbnail into a gallery each time there is an upload. there are going to be two people uploading these little animated trucks into the gallery. and i don't want to have to go in and save the original file and re-upload it through ftp as the thumbnail for it anytime myself or friend upload into a gallery. there has to be a way to use original file as thumbnail and not re-create a new file for thumbnail.

-crow
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47844
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: I want the original file to be the thumbnail
« Reply #7 on: May 30, 2009, 04:03:45 pm »

I suggest adding a crude hack that duplicates the file on upload or alternatively going through coppermine's code and removing all instances of the thumb prefix.
Logged

crow5716

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
    • Bouncing Trucks
Re: I want the original file to be the thumbnail
« Reply #8 on: May 30, 2009, 07:31:58 pm »

so i've been looking through code for the past few hours. i'm looking for where is creates the resized copy with the thumb prefix. can anyone point me to where this happens and what i can do for it to just make a original copy of the file with the thumb prefix so the rest of the coppermine code will find the thumb_file. so basically where does it make the thumbnail file and how do i make it just make a copy with the thumb_ name?

-crow
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: I want the original file to be the thumbnail
« Reply #9 on: May 30, 2009, 07:36:36 pm »

Setting the thumb prefix to blank in config should have the desired effect.
Logged

crow5716

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
    • Bouncing Trucks
Re: I want the original file to be the thumbnail
« Reply #10 on: May 30, 2009, 07:50:41 pm »

Setting the thumb prefix to blank in config should have the desired effect.

thank you so much. i think that did it. and it was a super easy fix

-crow
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.022 seconds with 20 queries.