Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Java code does not seem to work on an installed gallery  (Read 3564 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ichard.ibbotson@gmail.com

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4
    • Sleepy Penguin
Java code does not seem to work on an installed gallery
« on: April 18, 2009, 04:01:48 pm »

Hi

Have a look at this for more info...

http://www.kenshinkan.org.uk/pictures/index.php

Coppermine 1.4.20.  the gallery mostly works but when I select a single picture and click on it to enlarge it and to download a full size picture in a separate frame which is created by the browser the picture tries to download but the java code that makes it work does not start up.  Have tried this with Linux and Microsoft and Mac desktops.  Exactly the same thing every time.

Anyone make any suggestions about what is causing this ?  I've tried to contact tech support at www.nativespace.co.uk who host the site.  Their answer is that there is obviously something wrong with the Coppermine software and they tell me to use the forum here to find out how to fix it.  As far as I'm concerned it the server at the hosting company that is not configured properly.  But, any help would be a good thing.
Logged
Richard

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: Java code does not seem to work on an installed gallery
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2009, 04:08:13 pm »

You've applied some kind of modification here.

Code: [Select]
    <table>
      <tr>
            <td>
          <div id="content">
                <script language="JavaScript" type="text/JavaScript">
                 document.write(applet_tag);
                </script>
               <PARAM name="active_zoom" value="x">

               <PARAM name="filenames" value="albums/sato/sato151.jpg">                  </APPLET>
          </div>
        </td>
      </tr>
    </table>

I don't recognise which mod this is but you should reverse it if it causes issues.
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Logged

ichard.ibbotson@gmail.com

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4
    • Sleepy Penguin
Re: Java code does not seem to work on an installed gallery
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2009, 12:28:34 pm »

You've applied some kind of modification here.

Code: [Select]
    <table>
      <tr>
            <td>
          <div id="content">
                <script language="JavaScript" type="text/JavaScript">
                 document.write(applet_tag);
                </script>
               <PARAM name="active_zoom" value="x">

               <PARAM name="filenames" value="albums/sato/sato151.jpg">                  </APPLET>
          </div>
        </td>
      </tr>
    </table>

I don't recognise which mod this is but you should reverse it if it causes issues.

Okay, that's some help :)  Thanks.  Unfortunately I'm not much good at PHP and don't understand which bit of code to hack on.  Maybe someone out there could explain in simple terms ?  As for the upgrade root.  That's out of the question due to the fact that I don't own the account that the box that the gallery runs on.
Logged
Richard

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: Java code does not seem to work on an installed gallery
« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2009, 04:09:40 pm »

You're using the CPGAnis plugin (and the sample plugin too apparently). Disable them and the problem should go away.

If you don't keep the gallery up to date it will get hacked.
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Java code does not seem to work on an installed gallery
« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2009, 04:58:16 pm »

Sample plugin is still enabled. Not a bright move to enable such things out of curiosity.
Logged

ichard.ibbotson@gmail.com

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4
    • Sleepy Penguin
Re: Java code does not seem to work on an installed gallery
« Reply #6 on: April 19, 2009, 09:42:22 pm »

You're using the CPGAnis plugin (and the sample plugin too apparently). Disable them and the problem should go away.

If you don't keep the gallery up to date it will get hacked.

Yes. Thanks for the advice.  Not much you can do when the hosting company in question refuse to allow you to upgrade to the most recent version.  I have to wait until they switch it on at their end.
Logged
Richard

phill104

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4885
    • Windsurf.me
Re: Java code does not seem to work on an installed gallery
« Reply #7 on: April 19, 2009, 10:02:49 pm »

What do you mean by they refuse to allow you to upgrade? I'm assuming you used their installer and they have not yet caught up?

To upgrade you only need ftp access and to spend a little time reading the docs. You do not have to wait for your host and if you do because they prevent you doing so via ftp then it is time to switch host.

Glad you got the initial problem sorted but you really need to do something about upgrading.
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

ichard.ibbotson@gmail.com

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4
    • Sleepy Penguin
Re: Java code does not seem to work on an installed gallery
« Reply #8 on: April 19, 2009, 10:06:59 pm »

You're using the CPGAnis plugin (and the sample plugin too apparently). Disable them and the problem should go away.

If you don't keep the gallery up to date it will get hacked.

Great, that sorted it out.  Thank you.  Now, if only there were a way to upgrade...
Logged
Richard

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Java code does not seem to work on an installed gallery
« Reply #9 on: April 20, 2009, 07:28:57 am »

As Phill suggested: use your FTP app to access the files on your server - that's all you need. If your webhosting is deniying you access by FTP, start looking for a better webhost immediately. If you need details, start a new thread on the upgrading board after having read the docs.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.019 seconds with 19 queries.