Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: [Solved]: can not figure out how to center Banner at top of page  (Read 4638 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

bwsdj

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4

I have checked the topics and have not found a answer on how to center a banner i have at the top of my gallery, it is displaying in the top left corner.  here is the link www.bullstailgating.com/photo 

i have gone into the edit template theme and see the banner info but do not see anyting on the alignment option
  thanks
« Last Edit: April 07, 2009, 09:59:24 am by Joachim Müller »
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: can not figure out how to center Banner at top of page
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2009, 08:53:14 am »

Now this is HTML/CSS basics: in http://www.bullstailgating.com/photo/themes/classic/template.html, you have
Code: [Select]
<object id="Igeo1"
classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000"
codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=4,0,2,0", width="998" height="215">
<param name="movie" value="themes/classic/images/bullstailgating banner 3.swf"/>

<param name="quality" value="best"/>
<param name="play" value="true"/>
<param name="loop" value="true"/>
<param name="menu" value="false"/>
<embed src="themes/classic/images/bullstailgating banner 3.swf" type="application/x-shockwave-flash"
 pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer"
quality="best" play="true" loop="true" menu="false"  width="998" height="215">
</embed></object>
as top banner. Wrap that into a container that is center-aligned. Replace the code I just pasted in with
Code: [Select]
<div style="width:100%;text-align:center">
<object id="Igeo1" classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=4,0,2,0", width="998" height="215">
<param name="movie" value="themes/classic/images/bullstailgating banner 3.swf"/>
<param name="quality" value="best"/>
<param name="play" value="true"/>
<param name="loop" value="true"/>
<param name="menu" value="false"/>
<embed src="themes/classic/images/bullstailgating banner 3.swf" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" quality="best" play="true" loop="true" menu="false"  width="998" height="215">
</embed>
</object>
</div>
For such trivial HTML questions, please read up generic help (google for it!) from tutorials that explain HTML basics.

Instead of worrying about the alignement of your banner I would worry about the fact that you're running cpg1.4.16, while the most recent stable currently is cpg1.4.21. Your version is outdated and contains serious security flaws that are actively being exploited. It's mandatory to upgrade instantly to avoid getting hacked. Read up how to upgrade in the docs that come with coppermine and that are available online as well (link at top of screen).
Before you do, you should also consider reading http://coppermine-gallery.net/demo/cpg14x/docs/index.htm#theme_create_rename to make sure that your upgrade doesn't overwrite your custom theme.
Logged

bwsdj

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: can not figure out how to center Banner at top of page
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2009, 07:44:25 pm »

Thank you very much, that worked like a champ. :)   I have upgraded to the latest version as well. Had to go in and re add the banner but everything else looks pretty good.
Logged

phill104

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4885
    • Windsurf.me
Re: can not figure out how to center Banner at top of page
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2009, 07:49:02 pm »

You have upgraded to 1.4.19 while the current version is 1.4.21

Are you using a cpanel or your hosts installer to upgrade?

Whatever the case, install the latest version via ftp but first take a copy of your custom theme and rename it to something else and you will not loose your header when you upgrade.
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

bwsdj

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: can not figure out how to center Banner at top of page
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2009, 09:35:04 pm »

yes i upgraded thru my cpanel. 
Logged

phill104

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4885
    • Windsurf.me
Re: can not figure out how to center Banner at top of page
« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2009, 10:00:04 pm »

Then do as suggested above. Since 1.4.19 a couple of security issues have been fixed and you are risking getting hacked.

The upgrade is simple enough via ftp. Just download the latest release from this site and follow the instructions in the docs.

This is one reason why we are not keen on auto installers as they are often out of date.
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: can not figure out how to center Banner at top of page
« Reply #6 on: April 07, 2009, 09:59:06 am »

yes i upgraded thru my cpanel. 
Why? I already told you what to do. I didn't say "upgrade using your cpanel fantastico crap that you used to install in the first place", but
Read up how to upgrade in the docs that come with coppermine and that are available online as well (link at top of screen).

Anyway, this thread does not deal with upgrading, but your request to center your banner. This has been solved. As per our "one issue per thread rules", I'm marking this thread accordingly and locking it.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.022 seconds with 20 queries.