Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: 1 ... 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10   Go Down

Author Topic: Coppermine should also allow Video  (Read 136932 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Casper

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5231
Coppermine should also allow Video
« Reply #140 on: March 30, 2004, 05:06:57 pm »

@ lancefiasco,

a not very pretty workaround, to prevent users from uploading non image files, would be to remove the other files from the 'allowed file types' in config.  

Then just put it back in temporarily when you want to upload.
as I said, not very pretty.
Logged
It has been a long time now since I did my little bit here, and have done no coding or any other such stuff since. I'm back to being a noob here

lancefiasco

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 78
    • http://www.gcfiasco.com
Coppermine should also allow Video
« Reply #141 on: April 02, 2004, 12:20:26 am »

Quote from: "omniscientdeveloper"
@lance:
Question #1: The feature you're requesting isn't possible right now.
Question #2: Make sure you select the folder you want it to be uploaded to. That error is most likely caused when you don't select an upload folder.

@dondo:
Neither GD nor IM handle videos, so no it's not an IM issue. Verify that your files are url friendly, ie., no spaces, no quotes, etc. Sometimes you can get away with it. Sometimes you can't.


I may sound like a complete moron, but how do I select an upload folder?

lancefiasco

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 78
    • http://www.gcfiasco.com
Coppermine should also allow Video
« Reply #142 on: April 02, 2004, 12:24:08 am »

Do I need to alter those?

Accepted file extensions for uploaded pictures
Allowed image types (only valid for ImageMagick)

ntcrawler

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
    • http://www.sketchedmedia.com
Video/flash album?
« Reply #143 on: April 03, 2004, 07:31:29 am »

Is there a way to have a video or flash mov album?

The minimum i would think is at least be able to have a still image, but when you click it opens up a window and plays the mov in a new window.... is this possible??\

What about audio files?
Logged

hyperion

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1317
  • - retired -
Video/flash album?
« Reply #144 on: April 03, 2004, 07:43:37 am »

Yes, you can download the mod for 1.2.x, or you can dolwnload the 1.3 beta where it is standard.
Logged
"Then, Fletch," that bright creature said to him, and the voice was very kind, "let's begin with level flight . . . ."

-Richard Bach, Jonathan Livingston Seagull

(http://www.mozilla.org/products/firefox/buttons/getfirefox_small.png)

lancefiasco

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 78
    • http://www.gcfiasco.com
Coppermine should also allow Video
« Reply #145 on: April 04, 2004, 04:27:02 pm »

Sorry for being stupid! :roll:

...but maybe someone can help me to get started (post-installation)?

omniscientdeveloper

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 901
Coppermine should also allow Video
« Reply #146 on: April 05, 2004, 01:20:54 am »

If your problem is still with mp3s then you need to make sure the variable ALLOWED_SND_TYPES (I think), in the init.inc.php file has an entry for mp3s, which it should, if you're using the original mod. If you're using CPG version 1.3 then your problem is something else.
Logged

lancefiasco

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 78
    • http://www.gcfiasco.com
Coppermine should also allow Video
« Reply #147 on: April 05, 2004, 10:12:04 pm »

Everything is working now :)

omniscientdeveloper

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 901
Coppermine should also allow Video
« Reply #148 on: April 06, 2004, 12:23:39 am »

What was the fix?
Logged

lancefiasco

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 78
    • http://www.gcfiasco.com
Coppermine should also allow Video
« Reply #149 on: April 07, 2004, 05:02:06 pm »

Quote from: "omniscientdeveloper"
What was the fix?


Nothing.  I just used 'Batch Add', instead of manual upload, which for some reason wasn't working.

lancefiasco

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 78
    • http://www.gcfiasco.com
Coppermine should also allow Video
« Reply #150 on: April 07, 2004, 05:07:27 pm »

I too really need the thumbnails...if anyone can help soon rather than later that would be greatly appreciated, as there is an obvious demand present for such.

maZoo

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
MOTiVATiON
« Reply #151 on: April 08, 2004, 08:37:07 am »

Quote from: "lancefiasco"
I too really need the thumbnails...

I don't think that being demanding is the right step for our thumbnails problem :!:
It's not gonna motivate our Coppermine Heros   8)
Logged
maZoo

omniscientdeveloper

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 901
Coppermine should also allow Video
« Reply #152 on: April 08, 2004, 09:04:58 am »

I am considering different methods of uploading the thumbnails for the different filetypes. I want to make it as easy as possible, both the uploading and coding portions. When will I get the chance to code it? I don't know. I'll try to do it soon, but don't be surprised if it's not in the final 1.3 release, as it's feature-locked.
Logged

lancefiasco

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 78
    • http://www.gcfiasco.com
Re: MOTiVATiON
« Reply #153 on: April 08, 2004, 04:42:21 pm »

Quote from: "maZoo"
Quote from: "lancefiasco"
I too really need the thumbnails...

I don't think that being demanding is the right step for our thumbnails problem :!:
It's not gonna motivate our Coppermine Heros   8)


Sorry if you are getting the wrong idea...I just want the developers to see that's it's a needed feature.

Casper

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 5231
Coppermine should also allow Video
« Reply #154 on: April 08, 2004, 06:09:09 pm »

I think it's fairly obvious Omni (and the other devs know this), and is working on the best solution.  But remember, we all have priorites,and it will be done when Omni has the time.  Please remember we are all unpaid for the work on coppermine, and have our real jobs and family lives to live as well.
In other words, please be patient, or even have a go at doing it yorself, and posting your solution.
Logged
It has been a long time now since I did my little bit here, and have done no coding or any other such stuff since. I'm back to being a noob here

lancefiasco

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 78
    • http://www.gcfiasco.com
Coppermine should also allow Video
« Reply #155 on: April 09, 2004, 03:16:10 pm »

^I wish I was capable of doing this stuff.  You guys deserve a lot of credit. :!:

group54

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Coppermine should also allow Video
« Reply #156 on: April 21, 2004, 10:21:55 am »

Why does the config.inc.php file need to be overlayed?  Looks like all that is different is the userdefined db prefs?

I have uploaded everything (but the config.inc.php since it was the same) and at first glance seems okay, but when I try to upload .mpeg, .avi - I get the "no picture was uploaded" message from the gallery.  

Any ideas???

Thanks
Phil
Logged

lancefiasco

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 78
    • http://www.gcfiasco.com
Coppermine should also allow Video
« Reply #157 on: April 21, 2004, 09:17:13 pm »

Try using 'Batch Add Pictures' from the admin menu.  I have a similar problem, but the admin upload via FTP seems to work.

group54

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Coppermine should also allow Video
« Reply #158 on: April 22, 2004, 03:21:34 am »

lance,

Well it worked doing that.  Thanks for the tip.  There must be something we are missing though.  That is not very useful for members to upload their movies.  Do you have a work around for this?

Thanks,
Phil
Logged

hyperion

  • VIP
  • Coppermine addict
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1317
  • - retired -
Coppermine should also allow Video
« Reply #159 on: April 22, 2004, 03:35:05 am »

Phil,

You files most likely exceed the PHP's default 2MB upload limit or one of the other upload relevant php.ini settings.
Logged
"Then, Fletch," that bright creature said to him, and the voice was very kind, "let's begin with level flight . . . ."

-Richard Bach, Jonathan Livingston Seagull

(http://www.mozilla.org/products/firefox/buttons/getfirefox_small.png)
Pages: 1 ... 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.023 seconds with 19 queries.