Advanced search  

News:

CPG Release 1.6.26
Correct PHP8.2 issues with user and language managers.
Additional fixes for PHP 8.2
Correct PHP8 error with SMF 2.0 bridge.
Correct IPTC supplimental category parsing.
Download and info HERE

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Trouble with batch add files  (Read 7316 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

sanderson

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Trouble with batch add files
« on: September 07, 2008, 08:22:09 am »

I have been using Coppermine for several years now and I love it.  I just upgraded to ver 1.4.19 but am still having trouble with batch add.  I am getting the error message "There are no folders inside the "albums" folder yet...."  I have tried everything listed in the documentation including turning off the browsing folder option, but since it is an admin issue and not a user issue, I have not included a link to a test account.  No errors occur when uploading using http, only when trying to batch add.

I noticed that the default directory that it is looking in is "/hsphere/local/home/sanderso/wsmoa.org/cpg1419/albums/"  I know that we are not suppose to use a period in a file name, but the period in this path is the file name on the server and I can not change that.  Is there a way to get around including the entire path name?  Or am I way off base with my diagnosis?

Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Trouble with batch add files
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2008, 07:16:45 am »

Turn the browsable batch-add interface off if it doesn't work for you. Known issue on Windows-driven servers.
Logged

sanderson

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: Trouble with batch add files
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2008, 07:21:18 am »

I tried that and it didn't work.  I will just use the html upload until I change servers.  Thank you for the response.
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Trouble with batch add files
« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2008, 07:24:49 am »

Post a deep link to one of the files you're having issues with when uploading.
Logged

sanderson

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: Trouble with batch add files
« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2008, 07:39:01 am »

Here is a direct link to the photo 

http://wsmoa.org/cpg1419/albums/ftp_upload/cs06-62.jpg

I was able to upload it using html, but when I try a "batch add" it tells "There are no folders inside the "albums" folder yet...."  It's trying to look in the server directory of "/hsphere/local/home/sanderso/wsmoa.org/cpg1419/albums/" so I assume the 'period' in wsmoa.org is giving it trouble.  No big deal though.....Coppermine is still the best photo album available as far as I'm concerned.  Thanks again.
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Trouble with batch add files
« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2008, 08:06:23 am »

You're right - the period in the folder name is what is causing your issues. Edit searchnew.php, find
Code: [Select]
if (substr($directory,0,1) != ".")and comment that line out by placing two forward slashes in front of it.
Logged

vici

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
Re: Trouble with batch add files
« Reply #6 on: September 09, 2008, 04:24:12 pm »

I have the same problem, but placing two forward slashes in front of that code doesn't help. could you please take a look? thanks in advance!

http://fashion-allure.com/photos/albums/lorri/Caroline_Trentini/Caroline_Trentini.jpg
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Trouble with batch add files
« Reply #7 on: September 09, 2008, 07:01:09 pm »

If you have the same issue, then the same answer applies to you as well:
Post a deep link to one of the files you're having issues with when uploading.
Additionally, post the full local path.
Logged

vici

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
Re: Trouble with batch add files
« Reply #8 on: September 10, 2008, 12:47:57 pm »

I've already switched the batch add interface off and placed two forward slashes but it didn't help either

"/hsphere/local/home/poshmadn/fashion-allure.com/photos/albums/"

http://fashion-allure.com/photos/albums/lorri/Caroline_Trentini/Caroline_Trentini.jpg
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Trouble with batch add files
« Reply #9 on: September 10, 2008, 12:49:47 pm »

Are you sure that you have edited the proper file and that you have overwritten the copy on your server with the modified version on your local hard disk?
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: Trouble with batch add files
« Reply #10 on: September 10, 2008, 03:24:21 pm »

That code just checks for a leading dot (hidden folders). I don't see how it can be causing this problem.
Logged

bagpuss

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
Re: Trouble with batch add files
« Reply #11 on: September 10, 2008, 08:34:32 pm »

I have just used cpg today for the first time and I also had problems with batch add as noted by a few folk here. I tried all the suggestions with no joy.

I did find something that worked for me though. I had uploaded folders of images, where the folders were named in the form name1&name2 or name1_name2. I took out the & or _ in my folder names and the batch add then immediately began to work again.

I am a very basic user so don't know if this is going to help anyone else but thought if it worked for me it might help someone else.

Sorry if this has been said already but I just got excited when I got it to work!
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Trouble with batch add files
« Reply #12 on: September 11, 2008, 07:34:00 am »

As suggested in the docs: avoid using special chars in folder or files names. The ampersand definitely falls into the category "special chars", particularly into the category "special char that has a special meaning in the www". So yes: don't use those characters. In fact, only use alpha-numerals. The underscore should be safe to use though.
Logged

vici

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
Re: Trouble with batch add files
« Reply #13 on: September 21, 2008, 09:52:47 pm »

I've already switched the batch add interface off and placed two forward slashes but it didn't help either

"/hsphere/local/home/poshmadn/fashion-allure.com/photos/albums/"

http://fashion-allure.com/photos/albums/lorri/CarolineTrentini/Caroline_Trentini.jpg

please kindly check it again, I've changed that code for sure again
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Trouble with batch add files
« Reply #14 on: September 22, 2008, 07:17:21 am »

What's the local path?
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.023 seconds with 20 queries.