Advanced search  

News:

CPG Release 1.6.26
Correct PHP8.2 issues with user and language managers.
Additional fixes for PHP 8.2
Correct PHP8 error with SMF 2.0 bridge.
Correct IPTC supplimental category parsing.
Download and info HERE

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: batch-add files work on some folders and some not  (Read 4603 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

roynaufal

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
batch-add files work on some folders and some not
« on: August 03, 2008, 05:15:57 pm »

hello,
i am having trouble with the batch-add files
it's generally working on most folders,
but on few folders it is not
and i dont even get an error or anything

i click the folder i want to batch add (from the directory listing, the page u get when u click batch-add), i get the image listing with their thumbnails and all selected, i click "insert selected files", and im simply taken to the page where you select the directory...i get no error or anything...i just simply get the directory listing again as if i didnt click 'insert files'
weirdly, batch-add is working on most other folders, but except a few

i couldnt find any difference between the folders where batch-add is working and where it isn't
any ideas ??

i tried renaming the folders, decreasing the number of images in the folders, chmodding to 755, nothing worked

it is to note that i had a previous version of coppermine installed and everything worked fine with these folders, but i had to re-install the whole thing (moved to a new host), and now some of these same folders are not batch-adding (the version i had before was older than the current one...)

thanks all
i did some search and reading, but didnt seem to have found anything regarding this (or i might have used the wrong search keywords...so sorry if this has been brought up before)
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: batch-add files work on some folders and some not
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2008, 09:37:57 pm »

Yeah, you must have searched really hard ::). 100% of all threads identical to yours have the same kind of reply: "do exactly as suggested in the documentation, section asking for support on upload issues". In this aspect, you're no exception to the rule: Do as suggested there and we might be able to help you. Additionally, post a deep link to one of the files that you're trying to batch-add and that you're having issues with (this is the second most often stated reply to people who are having issues with batch-adding).
Logged

roynaufal

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: batch-add files work on some folders and some not
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2008, 09:50:44 pm »

user: testuser
pass: testuser
i use ftp to upload my files, not coppermine's
trying to add http://www.collegendl.com/gallery/albums/tony_baroud_ndl
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: batch-add files work on some folders and some not
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2008, 09:58:54 pm »

Link to your gallery is http://www.collegendl.com/gallery/

http uploads work as expected (see http://www.collegendl.com/gallery/displayimage.php?pos=-1472). You're running cpg1.4.18, which is currently the most recent stable release. So far, so good.
i use ftp to upload my files, not coppermine's
I understand that - that's the way batch-add works.

Try using lower case extensions (jpg instead of JPG). Does that help?
Logged

roynaufal

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: batch-add files work on some folders and some not
« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2008, 10:03:51 pm »

i already tried that before
some of the files are .jpg and some are .JPG if u notice...
so if that's the problem, technically CM should be able to add at least one of the extension sets (the lower or the upper case ones), or should i rename all?
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: batch-add files work on some folders and some not
« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2008, 10:11:34 pm »

Are you sure that it is not related to the number of files in the folders? Check the output of your phpinfo.php page for any mention of suhosin.
Logged

roynaufal

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: batch-add files work on some folders and some not
« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2008, 10:15:55 pm »

well i did try dividing up the files into subfolder,
maybe the division wasnt enough

there's suhosin
any specific variable to check for?
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: batch-add files work on some folders and some not
« Reply #7 on: August 03, 2008, 10:31:54 pm »

Take the minimum of suhosin.post.max_vars and suhosin.request.max_vars and divide by 3. That is about your limit on files per directory when batch adding. If you need more then review previous discussions about changing these limits. It is not a part of Coppermine so support here is limited. Talk to your host if you need help with that.
Logged

roynaufal

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: batch-add files work on some folders and some not
« Reply #8 on: August 03, 2008, 10:34:22 pm »

alright
will check into it
limit is 200/3
thanks
Logged

roynaufal

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: batch-add files work on some folders and some not
« Reply #9 on: August 03, 2008, 10:53:36 pm »

yeah, it worked
i first assumed it was because of the number of files and not the post requests (in my test i clicked the folder , which had a subfolder of the rest of the images, so the post number was still the same since coppermine displays images in subfolders as well)
now i tested on the subfolder alone, and that was it...
i believe i should be able to edit my own php.ini, so i'll work on that
thanks all
Logged

roynaufal

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: batch-add files work on some folders and some not
« Reply #10 on: August 03, 2008, 10:54:43 pm »

additional quick question,
in which folder do the php files that handle the batch-add reside,
i believe i have to put my php.ini file in every folder that has a php file affected by the issue
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: batch-add files work on some folders and some not
« Reply #11 on: August 03, 2008, 11:07:58 pm »

Coppermine's root folder should work.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.023 seconds with 19 queries.