Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Thumbnails poor quality  (Read 4868 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

andrewedmondson

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
Thumbnails poor quality
« on: August 03, 2008, 03:53:44 pm »

In my gallery

http://www.balcombevillage.co.uk/coppermine/thumbnails.php?album=2

the thumbnails are poor quality.

I can't remember how I uploaded them now, but I think I used an automated process.
Logged

Crazymodder

  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 117
Re: Thumbnails poor quality
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2008, 04:12:12 pm »

Which version gd do you use?
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: Thumbnails poor quality
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2008, 04:36:49 pm »

You are using GD1. Change to GD2 or ImageMagick in config then rebuild your thumbnails using admin tools.
Logged

andrewedmondson

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
Re: Thumbnails poor quality
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2008, 10:47:24 pm »

I used phpinfo.php and it said the installed version is GD2.

I used Admin panel to update thumbnails, but they are still poor quality.

Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: Thumbnails poor quality
« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2008, 10:48:04 pm »

You need to actively switch to GD2 in config.
Logged

andrewedmondson

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
Re: Thumbnails poor quality
« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2008, 11:11:46 pm »

Done that but still have the same problem.

Perhaps there is something wrong with the original files?

Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: Thumbnails poor quality
« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2008, 11:14:06 pm »

Originals are fine, we can see that for ourselves. Verify that you switched to GD2 in config and then rebuilt thumbnails.
Logged

andrewedmondson

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
Re: Thumbnails poor quality
« Reply #7 on: August 03, 2008, 11:19:17 pm »

Yes, I've double checked both.

PS If you reply much quicker, you'll be replying before I ask a question  ;D
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Thumbnails poor quality
« Reply #8 on: August 04, 2008, 07:17:38 am »

Try adding a new pic and see if that comes out fine as a thumb. My guess is that you're having issues using the admin tools, so let's look into this later. Try fresh uploads first.
Logged

andrewedmondson

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
Re: Thumbnails poor quality
« Reply #9 on: August 08, 2008, 09:33:47 pm »

Thumbnails of newly uploaded photos are OK.

I could upload all photos again, but I will lose the numbers of viewings.
Logged

Stramm

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 6006
    • Bettis Wollwelt
Re: Thumbnails poor quality
« Reply #10 on: August 09, 2008, 12:29:10 pm »

Use the admin tools to recreate the thumbnails as Nibbler already suggested.

andrewedmondson

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
Re: Thumbnails poor quality
« Reply #11 on: August 09, 2008, 01:37:51 pm »

I tried that twice, to no effect.
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: Thumbnails poor quality
« Reply #12 on: August 09, 2008, 01:47:53 pm »

Check your file permissions. The albums directory and all subdirectories and files must be writeable. Coppermine won't be able to create the new thumbnails otherwise.
Logged

andrewedmondson

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
Re: Thumbnails poor quality
« Reply #13 on: August 09, 2008, 04:18:20 pm »

Yes, they are all 777. I changed all folders to this and used Admin to resubmit thumbnails.

Same problem.
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Thumbnails poor quality
« Reply #14 on: August 09, 2008, 08:01:05 pm »

777 might not be correct. Read up the permissions section of the docs. If this doesn't help, ask your webhost for support.
Logged

andrewedmondson

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
Re: Thumbnails poor quality
« Reply #15 on: August 09, 2008, 10:34:51 pm »

Checked that. 777 is correct. I'm close to giving up. I can't imagine these damned thumbnails appearing normal.
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Thumbnails poor quality
« Reply #16 on: August 10, 2008, 08:18:34 am »

What did your webhost say?
Logged

Stramm

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: 00
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 6006
    • Bettis Wollwelt
Re: Thumbnails poor quality
« Reply #17 on: August 10, 2008, 09:13:19 am »

And make sure all files in those folders are chmodded 644 or 666 (depending on your server setup). If one doesn't work, try the other. In case overwriting the files still won't work, contact your webhost.

andrewedmondson

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
Re: Thumbnails poor quality
« Reply #18 on: August 11, 2008, 07:06:35 pm »

I thought you'd cracked it for a moment.

I did not CHMOD individual files to 777. Now I have done so, the problem remains.

I have emailed my webhost VISPA, but don't hold out much hope of them helping.

666 allows reading and writing. 777 allows execution additionally. All of the image files revert to 666 after CHMOD to 777. I suppose this is because they are not executable.
Logged

andrewedmondson

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
Re: Thumbnails poor quality
« Reply #19 on: August 21, 2008, 07:41:26 pm »

I contacted VISPA ISP support. Here is their reply:

I have run "[root@neptune coppermine]# chmod -R 777 albums/" as per their request. You can actually do this using a good FTP client such as SmartFTP, WinFTP etc...

I've just had a look at the album and I see what you mean  :-(

To be deadly honest, it could well be that the version on the server is out of date. I suggest you try downloading the latest version and installing it manually using FTP.


I recently updated to the latest version, so I am back to square one.

Any more ideas? If not, I'll just have to start again, and forget about the viewings history. I'd rather have good thumbnails.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.077 seconds with 20 queries.