Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: custom header, 'relative path'  (Read 8299 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

xbrie

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
custom header, 'relative path'
« on: June 12, 2008, 03:33:43 am »

can someone please explain to me what this means?  thanks.
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Logged

Hein Traag

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Country: nl
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2166
  • A, B, Cpg
    • Personal website - Spintires.nl
Re: custom header, 'relative path'
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2008, 07:55:50 am »

Ah  ;) i see Joachim has somewhat more caffeine in his sytem then me.

I might as wel post this anyway.

(drumroll) GOOGLE IT!

Which leads you to this site for example: http://www.communitymx.com/content/article.cfm?cid=230ad
Logged

xbrie

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
Re: custom header, 'relative path'
« Reply #3 on: June 23, 2008, 12:19:54 am »

i'm sorry, i still don't understand. ???
what exactly do i have to put in the blank?
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: custom header, 'relative path'
« Reply #4 on: June 23, 2008, 03:14:10 am »

You enter the path to the custom header file you want to use. If you don't what that means leave it blank.
Logged

Mahogany Rush

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2
Re: custom header, 'relative path'
« Reply #5 on: July 31, 2008, 08:57:53 am »

Well, like most newbies, I am lost as well. I know the mods are tired of answering, but the answers are given in parts. I have read the FAQ, the Docs, most threads containing the words "custom header" and there is no clear cut final resolution.

On behalf of the other million "dumbarses" may I suggest one final and complete explanation for dummies?

Along the lines of...

To add a header you must open this file and look for this line and add this. On the admin page where it asks for the path, put this in. I would like to see the code (minus the link to your pic). I have worked on this header/footer problem all day and I cannot tackle it. Please use your expertise and spell it out for us.

We bow to your existence.

Thanx in advance.

P.S. Show the footer code explanation if different. I have a sitemap with links to add there.
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: custom header, 'relative path'
« Reply #6 on: July 31, 2008, 11:19:03 am »

On the admin page where it asks for the path, put this in.

You enter the path to the file that contains your custom header. What is it that you don't understand?
Logged

Mahogany Rush

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2
Re: custom header, 'relative path'
« Reply #7 on: August 01, 2008, 03:41:07 am »

LOL, there is much more to it than that. Here is how I got it done.

First, I opened one of my php files that resides in your coppermine root folder (any file will do, I used adfav.php cause it was first ;D) . Then I saved it as "header.php" which does NOT overwrite the "adfav.php", but puts it in the same root folder which is important. I use Dreamweaver, so I could see it right when I saved it.

I highlight then delete all of the code to reveal an absolute blank header.php file.

Next, I put the following code into the blank header.php file that I just created:

Code: [Select]
<?php 

echo <<<EOT  


<img src="/images/jpg/logo_small.jpg" width="125" height="137"  />

EOT

?>

Your path will be different, but it just points to where your file resides on the server (hopefully you know how to upload a jpg to your server). It does not include an absolute path (http:www.) but just a slash (relative path) because your domain is the same for the pic and the coppermine install. You have to use a pic on the same server as your coppermine install.  So if your pic is at your domain and your coppermine install is at the same domain, this will work for you. Your code may look like this one:

Code: [Select]
<img src="/mypics/mylogo.jpg"   />
I do not believe size is important...LOL

Next, save the file and upload it.

Next, you need to login as the admin to your coppermine gallery and click the "config" button. Open the "theme settings" tab and you will see "Path to custom header include" and a big blank space next to it.

Finally, in that space you will type the path to the "header.php" file.

Mine looks like this:

Code: [Select]
/photogallery2/header.php
Save your configuration on the admin page and click the home button. Your image should appear.

I hope this helps those like me who need things spelled out, we all can't be php geniuses :-*
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.022 seconds with 20 queries.