Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Problem  (Read 4559 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

lidiyab

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Problem
« on: July 16, 2008, 08:14:47 pm »

I've got a problem with my gallery, when I try to attend the link, it says this:
"Coppermine critical error:
Unable to connect to database !

MySQL said: Access denied for user 'backstr0'@'localhost' (using password: YES)"
What am I to do?  :'(
Logged

Phill Luckhurst

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4822
    • Windsurf.me
Re: Problem
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2008, 08:20:44 pm »

This means that either there is a problem with your MySql server (check with your host), or that you are providing incorrect details to connect to your MySql server.

These details are stored in the file include/config.inc.php . Check these settings are correct.
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

lidiyab

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: Problem
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2008, 09:09:49 am »

This means that either there is a problem with your MySql server (check with your host), or that you are providing incorrect details to connect to your MySql server.

These details are stored in the file include/config.inc.php . Check these settings are correct.
My host says they are ok, and how can I get to that file?
Logged

Phill Luckhurst

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4822
    • Windsurf.me
Re: Problem
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2008, 10:40:13 am »

You access that file with the same ftp software that you used to install coppermine with, or did you use your hosts installer?

If you used your hosts installer you are probably running an outdated version of coppermine so you should read the docs on this site and upgrade.
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

lidiyab

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: Problem
« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2008, 02:15:00 pm »

You access that file with the same ftp software that you used to install coppermine with, or did you use your hosts installer?

If you used your hosts installer you are probably running an outdated version of coppermine so you should read the docs on this site and upgrade.
Here what I got, when I decided to see the file:
"config page using an outdated link - the file config.php has been renamed to admin.php. You probably updated your site and haven't changed your theme as suggested in the theme upgrade guide". What am I to do now?
Logged

Phill Luckhurst

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4822
    • Windsurf.me
Re: Problem
« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2008, 04:31:14 pm »

Have you installed yourself or used a host based installer such as fantastico?
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

lidiyab

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: Problem
« Reply #6 on: July 17, 2008, 05:04:54 pm »

Have you installed yourself or used a host based installer such as fantastico?
To tell the truth, I don't know. It was installed for me by somebody... And is it possible to find out how it was installed?  :)
Logged

Phill Luckhurst

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4822
    • Windsurf.me
Re: Problem
« Reply #7 on: July 17, 2008, 10:37:27 pm »

Your best bet is to download the latest version and follow the upgrade instructions carefully.

http://coppermine-gallery.net/demo/cpg14x/docs/index.htm#upgrade
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Problem
« Reply #8 on: July 18, 2008, 06:54:53 am »

Here what I got, when I decided to see the file:
"config page using an outdated link - the file config.php has been renamed to admin.php. You probably updated your site and haven't changed your theme as suggested in the theme upgrade guide". What am I to do now?

You're not supposed to look at http://yoursite.tld/your_coppermine_folder/config.php, but at http://yoursite.tld/your_coppermine_folder/include/config.inc.php
Logged

lidiyab

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: Problem
« Reply #9 on: July 30, 2008, 07:59:43 pm »

Logged

Phill Luckhurst

  • Administrator
  • Coppermine addict
  • *****
  • Country: gb
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4822
    • Windsurf.me
Re: Problem
« Reply #10 on: July 30, 2008, 08:24:55 pm »

Are you trying to browse to it or downloading that file via ftp and viewing it in an editor?

You should be downloading it and viewing it in an editor. If you are unable to do this then ask that "somebody" for help.
Logged
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

lidiyab

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: Problem
« Reply #11 on: August 02, 2008, 02:12:55 pm »

Are you trying to browse to it or downloading that file via ftp and viewing it in an editor?

You should be downloading it and viewing it in an editor. If you are unable to do this then ask that "somebody" for help.
Yeah, I was trying to browse it, will try to edit it... I've asked "somebody" but he disappeared!  :'( One more question: there goes: .../gallery/include/... Shall I write include or shall I change it to smth?
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Problem
« Reply #12 on: August 02, 2008, 02:38:36 pm »

We have a strict "one question per thread". Respect it! I don't even understand your question though.
Logged

lidiyab

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: Problem
« Reply #13 on: August 02, 2008, 09:05:35 pm »

but at http://yoursite.tld/your_coppermine_folder/include/config.inc.php
You gave me this link, that's why I'm asking what shall I type instead of ".../include/.." in this link?
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Problem
« Reply #14 on: August 03, 2008, 11:40:16 am »

You're not supposed to type anything, but download that file from the server to your client (using your FTP app) and then view the contents of that file using a plain text editor (notepad.exe is fine).
If you view that file in your browser, nothing will happen. That's expected behaviour - if that file would actually output your mysql connection data, every visitor could use that piece of information against. Subsequently, the contents of that file can only be viewed if you download that file and then view it locally. That's the point of any PHP-driven app: the output of a PHP file is not the source code of that file.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.019 seconds with 20 queries.