Advanced search  

News:

CPG Release 1.6.26
Correct PHP8.2 issues with user and language managers.
Additional fixes for PHP 8.2
Correct PHP8 error with SMF 2.0 bridge.
Correct IPTC supplimental category parsing.
Download and info HERE

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: [Solved]: default category/album?  (Read 4313 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

cyrus6

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
[Solved]: default category/album?
« on: July 09, 2008, 05:13:30 pm »

Okay so here's the deal -
I was wondering if it was possible to have a default/central album or category. What I want is to expedite the upload process for the user. So when a user uploads a photo to my gallery they don't have to 'select an album'. I basically want all photos to go to the same place. I've set up a single category and album and disabled 'personal galleries' but I'd rather have this part just be invisible to the user when they are uploading pics.

If this needs more clarification let me know.

Thanks in advance,

cyrus
« Last Edit: July 10, 2008, 05:57:03 pm by Nibbler »
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: default category/album?
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2008, 05:23:19 pm »

Are you using single or multiple file upload?

You may hit performance issues if you have more than a few thousand pics in the same album.
Logged

cyrus6

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: default category/album?
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2008, 07:35:15 pm »

I was planning on using only single uploads. I was also thinking about 'emptying' the album each month and starting again.
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: default category/album?
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2008, 10:10:59 am »

Edit upload.php

find

Code: [Select]
array($lang_upload_php['album'], 'album', 2),
Change to

Code: [Select]
array('album', 1, 4),
Where 1 is the album number you want uploads to go into.
Logged

cyrus6

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: default category/album?
« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2008, 03:37:58 pm »

Hey,
Thanks for your help. This should do the trick. I guess there is no way around having to select an album though? Maybe I did something wrong - I replaced the code and changed the album number - which creates a more direct upload interface but the user still has to select an album which is what I was trying to avoid if possible.

Either way thanks for your help and quick response,

cyrus
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: default category/album?
« Reply #5 on: July 10, 2008, 04:04:17 pm »

That change is supposed to hide the album selection box. It works on my gallery. Can you post a link to yours plus an account if required?
Logged

cyrus6

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: default category/album?
« Reply #6 on: July 10, 2008, 04:49:52 pm »

http://www.blueridgeoutdoors.com/YourPIC/coppermine/index.php

u: testerNibbs
p: test123

Just a thought - should I do away with the category and album I have set up now?
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: default category/album?
« Reply #7 on: July 10, 2008, 04:59:42 pm »

No. Just make sure you made the change and uploaded the changed file properly. That code appears twice in the file, so make sure you change the first (or both).
Logged

cyrus6

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: default category/album?
« Reply #8 on: July 10, 2008, 05:52:57 pm »

GOT IT! THANKS A TON!

cyrus
Logged

mahdi1234

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 60
Re: [Solved]: default category/album?
« Reply #9 on: July 15, 2008, 11:46:11 pm »

Would there be also way how to pre-select default album? I'm in the situation that 90% of photos are going to the same Album, but occasionally, let's say for thematic competition I'd like user to have a choice to use different album. Is there a way hot to pre-select some specific album to be default one in the dropdown?

thx,
mahdi
Logged

Nibbler

  • Guest
Re: [Solved]: default category/album?
« Reply #10 on: July 16, 2008, 10:00:45 am »

Code: [Select]
$sel_album = isset($_GET['album']) ? $_GET['album'] : 0;
Change to 0 to the id of the album you want to be default.
Logged

mahdi1234

  • Coppermine regular visitor
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 60
Re: [Solved]: default category/album?
« Reply #11 on: July 16, 2008, 06:46:27 pm »

Great, thanks!
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.019 seconds with 20 queries.