Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: bb code in the descriptions - How to  (Read 2550 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

robynannelise

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
bb code in the descriptions - How to
« on: May 14, 2008, 02:09:04 am »

I sure hope this is the right board as I seem to get yelled at alot here and don't think it very nice to treat new people to coppermine this way since Im trying so very hard to learn everything here, well anyways

In my descriptions

Im trying to make a clickable link with an image. I finally got the image to show up using the bb code but I dont know how to and if I can make it a clickable link. is their a way to do a  (a href) or not? is this allowed? Please advise...

Thanks
Robyn


http://gallery.femininexpressionz.com

[Edit GauGau] Replaced hotlinked image with attachment [/Edit]
 This is the image that Im trying to make clickable..  and my site is http://femininexpressionz.com
« Last Edit: May 14, 2008, 09:02:27 am by Joachim Müller »
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: bb code in the descriptions - How to
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2008, 09:06:01 am »

Well, you already have been told: use bbcode. In your case, something like this should to the trick:
Code: [Select]
[url=http://some_site.tld/folder/subfolder/file.xyz][img]http://femininexpressionz.com/resources/smallmaxinegaddfeminine.jpg[/img][/url]This is the same as if you were using
Code: [Select]
<a href="http://some_site.tld/folder/subfolder/file.xyz"><img src="http://femininexpressionz.com/resources/smallmaxinegaddfeminine.jpg"></a>on a HTML-driven page.

On your page, you have an album description that reads
Code: [Select]
<i>My Signature Tags Using Paint Shop Pro</i)</p><p>Check out my Site.<i> A site for Woman who Dare to be Different!Much to see and experience</p><p><a href="http://femininexpressionz.com"<img src="small maxinegaddfeminine.jpg">Change that to
Code: [Select]
[i]My Signature Tags Using Paint Shop Pro[/i]
Check out my Site. [i]A site for Woman who Dare to be Different!Much to see and experience [url=http://femininexpressionz.com][img]http://femininexpressionz.com/resources/smallmaxinegaddfeminine.jpg[/img]][/url]
Mark that your initial HTML is invalid in the first place.

You shouldn't have started a new thread, as your question is identical to what you aked in the thread some basics questions (silly thread subject btw.).

I sure hope this is the right board as I seem to get yelled at alot here and don't think it very nice to treat new people to coppermine this way since Im trying so very hard to learn everything here, well anyways
Start respecting board rules - you're not being corrected because you're a newbie, but because you don't respect board rules and common sense.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2008, 09:15:58 am by Joachim Müller »
Logged

robynannelise

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: bb code in the descriptions - How to
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2008, 01:59:03 pm »

Joachum Thanks for showing me the correct bbcode to do what I want to do. what you are seeing on my site is still there because Im working round the clock with no sleep to get some things done for work. and getting to my sites when I can. but with that said, you reply about me abusing the boards. It is not my intention to do this. and I have quite alot of common sense! but I am disabled due to a learning disablility from an extremely bad motorcycle accident, (not really your business but) so when I read and I have quite etensively read these boards it does not always cognitively sink in. This is not my fault, nor due to lack of common sense! May I suggest that before you verbally feel that you must chastise and scold , that you might find out what might cause a problem. I'm 56 years old hold two degrees and Im sure my common sense is just fine. nor would I abuse anything. I have read your requests for everyone to check the topics so as not to repeat them. I have read the topics, more than once and try to put my questions to where they fit. but it might get jumbled at times in my head and I might unbeknowst to me post wrongly. its is not a crime fit for hanging, well not in this state anyways...no does one need to be told their abusing a system that is new to them or their common sense is lacking. I rewrote my post so to move it to an acceptable area. if it wasnt acceptable to put this here I do apologise. I do not want to feel that if I have a question that Im going to be chastised for asking. as Im sure their will be more questions as I get into this program. Let us clear the air here. now that I have devulged my personal situation I do hope you understand and will have more patience. if not then it is not my problem to begin with.

 Thanks once again for showing me the code I do need and I will be changing my descriptions. as to a silly thread subject. It wasnt silly to me. Thank you and best Regards, Robyn
Logged

steveeh131047

  • Supporter
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 217
Re: bb code in the descriptions - How to
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2008, 07:24:57 pm »

Robyn,

I hesitate to defend Joachim's comment about a "silly thread subject" because he's big enough and bruised enough to look after himself  ;) The point he is making is that, next time, a more descriptive subject line than "some basic questions"  would be more helpful.

I'm still very new to Coppermine, but I like to help out on the forum where I can. I have limited time to spend on it and it's very helpful to me if the subject lines describe the issues accurately. That way I can quickly scan the subject lines in order to judge whether the topic is something I might be able to help on. It saves me having to open up the thread and "digging" through the detail.

Sorry to hear about your learning problems, but pleased you've solved your immediate problem.

By the way I'm a few years older than you, so it's never too late etc etc.

Steve
Logged

robynannelise

  • Coppermine newbie
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: bb code in the descriptions - How to
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2008, 11:02:19 pm »

Thanks Steve. Yeah I got it now. thought it took me quite a few times to get it right, lol.. I guess you can teach an old dog new tricks. rofl.. Have a great day.  Regards, Robyn
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.021 seconds with 20 queries.