Advanced search  

News:

cpg1.5.48 Security release - upgrade mandatory!
The Coppermine development team is releasing a security update for Coppermine in order to counter a recently discovered vulnerability. It is important that all users who run version cpg1.5.46 or older update to this latest version as soon as possible.
[more]

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: [Solved]: Upload:500 Internal Server Error when Uploading  (Read 8959 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Beth182005

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
[Solved]: Upload:500 Internal Server Error when Uploading
« on: April 07, 2008, 03:23:42 am »

i had this same issue a month or so ago,i went back to figure out what i did,(apparently it was also for the same site,but the issues are up again)i went BACK to my gallery,still couldn't figure it out. i also checked that i had 100 URI/http uploads,but i changed that to 1 each and THAT didn't work.
after it says "1 upload successfull",i get the 500 internal server error.

http://days-addicts.com/gallery

Test user/pass;

test
test123

http://www.days-addicts.com/gallery/upload.php
Internal Server Error
The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.

Please contact the server administrator, webmaster@days-addicts.com and inform them of the time the error occurred, and anything you might have done that may have caused the error.

More information about this error may be available in the server error log.

Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.
Apache/1.3.39 Server at www.days-addicts.com Port 80
i contacted my hosting and they do not do support for "3rd party scripts"..

so i need to get this fixed if anyone can help.

DEBUG is on,and i promise my attitude is up to par and won't have any problem this time around.
« Last Edit: April 09, 2008, 08:03:52 am by Joachim Müller »
Logged

Beth182005

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
Re: Upload:500 Internal Server Error when Uploading
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2008, 03:25:05 am »

I'm sorry,i can't find the edit button.. i didn't mean "100 URI"i meant 10 URI.

Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Upload:500 Internal Server Error when Uploading
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2008, 07:16:46 am »

The test user account doesn't have upload privileges. I manually went to upload.php to check if you just have disabled the corresponding menu item. Still no go - see screenshot.
Logged

Beth182005

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
Re: Upload:500 Internal Server Error when Uploading
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2008, 09:31:13 am »

The test user account doesn't have upload privileges. I manually went to upload.php to check if you just have disabled the corresponding menu item. Still no go - see screenshot.

Oh i forgot that the user has to be able to upload.. at least im' suppose to? because i have it where NOONE but the admin can upload anything.cause people was uploading content that wasn't suitable on the gallery.

let me know.
Thanks.
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Upload:500 Internal Server Error when Uploading
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2008, 09:37:10 am »

Temporarily allow non-admin user uploads to allow us to check this for you. If you want help, you should do as suggested in the docs.
Logged

Beth182005

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
Re: Upload:500 Internal Server Error when Uploading
« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2008, 09:38:14 am »

Temporarily allow non-admin user uploads to allow us to check this for you. If you want help, you should do as suggested in the docs.

Ok,Will do let me go do that now :-)
Logged

Beth182005

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
Re: Upload:500 Internal Server Error when Uploading
« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2008, 09:40:29 am »

Ok,Will do let me go do that now :-)

Ok,i fixed it where you can uploed 2/2(uri/url)
and allowed and approval on upload.
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Upload:500 Internal Server Error when Uploading
« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2008, 10:05:26 am »

Read the docs! File upload fields: 1. URI upload fields: 0.
Logged

Beth182005

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
Re: Upload:500 Internal Server Error when Uploading
« Reply #8 on: April 08, 2008, 10:11:58 am »

Read the docs! File upload fields: 1. URI upload fields: 0.

What does that mean... or what do i got to do?thanks.
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Upload:500 Internal Server Error when Uploading
« Reply #9 on: April 08, 2008, 10:16:27 am »

Did you read the docs? If no: read them now. If yes, re-read them, especially the section "upload troubleshooting".
Logged

Beth182005

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
Re: Upload:500 Internal Server Error when Uploading
« Reply #10 on: April 08, 2008, 10:21:09 am »

Did you read the docs? If no: read them now. If yes, re-read them, especially the section "upload troubleshooting".

i checked it out and i didn't see anythign that could help me(plus there was stuff on there i didn't understand... i don't know that much abotu coppermine gallery...)even my friends who know more than i do doesn't even get these errors...

Logged

steveeh131047

  • Supporter
  • Coppermine frequent poster
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 217
Re: Upload:500 Internal Server Error when Uploading
« Reply #11 on: April 08, 2008, 12:55:57 pm »

Beth,
 
The Development Team must be incredibly busy guys (and gals), trying to develop Coppermine further whilst at the same time helping us out when we have difficulties with the present version. It must be very frustrating for them when we don't do EXACTLY what it says in the documentation.

I think Joachim is hinting that you should re-read this bit:

Quote
    * Go to the "groups" panel
    * Set the upload form configuration for all groups to "Single file uploads only"
         1. set File upload boxes to "1" (1)
         2. set URI upload boxes to "0" (2)
         3. set No. of boxes to "fixed" (3)

# Save your new settings
(click on "Apply Modifications")

Steve
Logged

Beth182005

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
Re: Upload:500 Internal Server Error when Uploading
« Reply #12 on: April 08, 2008, 09:25:08 pm »

so this will fix me being able to upload through the site..besides doing batch add? :)
Thanks.
Logged

Beth182005

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
Re: Upload:500 Internal Server Error when Uploading
« Reply #13 on: April 08, 2008, 09:28:20 pm »

Ok,after doing that,i went to go upload a file under 1mb(about 876kb) and i changed what you said and saved it,etc.

Well,after trying to upload that file and put it in its correct folder,i still got the 500 internal server error msg.
it happenned on this link : http://www.days-addicts.com/gallery/db_input.php
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Upload:500 Internal Server Error when Uploading
« Reply #14 on: April 09, 2008, 07:11:56 am »

The number of file upload fields for the test user that you created is still set to "2" (instead of "1" and the umber of URI upload fields is still set to "2" although it should be set to "0". Are you deliberately behaving like a moron?
Logged

Beth182005

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
Re: Upload:500 Internal Server Error when Uploading
« Reply #15 on: April 09, 2008, 07:28:40 am »

The number of file upload fields for the test user that you created is still set to "2" (instead of "1" and the umber of URI upload fields is still set to "2" although it should be set to "0". Are you deliberately behaving like a moron?

I wasn't told that the TESt user had to,i only did ADMIN.

and the Moron part,i don't appreciate that.Thank you very much.
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: Upload:500 Internal Server Error when Uploading
« Reply #16 on: April 09, 2008, 07:40:21 am »

I wasn't told that the TESt user had to,i only did ADMIN.
Really? Again, the docs, with the corresponding section highlighted:
Quote
Asking for support on upload issues

When asking for support on the coppermine forum, post a link to your site and a test user account (the test user mustn't be in the admin group!) with upload privileges, with the above mentioned settings in place - this way, supporters can see the error messages as well. Do not post debug_output unless requested. If you want fast results, you should disable admin approval for the group the test user is in, so supporters can tell instantly what is wrong without needing to double-check.

When people have issues with uploading and decide to post their question on the Coppermine support board, they usually are told to read this upload troubleshooting section. Many of them fail to do so properly, which results in frustration both for users as well as supporters. To make this absolutely clear: the above mentioned steps are absolutely mandatory, no matter what skill level you have, no matter what upload method you have troubles with. Failing to do exactly as suggested will result in your request for help being ignored. Yes, this applies to you. We mean it!

and the Moron part,i don't appreciate that.
I don't appreciate having my time wasted by people like you who ask for free support and then don't do as suggested.


Uploads work as expected - see http://www.days-addicts.com/gallery/displayimage.php?pos=-1497
Try uploading a file with file size and dimensions that make sense - if you get an internal server error, you're probably running into resources limitation.
Logged

Beth182005

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
Re: Upload:500 Internal Server Error when Uploading
« Reply #17 on: April 09, 2008, 07:47:55 am »

Uploads work as expected - see http://www.days-addicts.com/gallery/displayimage.php?pos=-1497
Try uploading a file with file size and dimensions that make sense - if you get an internal server error, you're probably running into resources limitation.

Well,i was uploading files that are some what HQ(because site use to be able to handle them) and under 1mb..
so your saying i can't even upload anything thats 1958x2817?(under 1.00mb?)
NOW my BrandonBeemerOnline.com site is having the same issue:

http://brandonbeemeronline.com/gallery
test
test123

everything is set where you can upload there to.
Debug is on.
Logged

Beth182005

  • Coppermine novice
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
Re: Upload:500 Internal Server Error when Uploading
« Reply #18 on: April 09, 2008, 07:59:32 am »

nevermind... i didn't realize my pics was over 2000x..... so when i resized them down a bunch they uploaded.

Thanks for your help.. and btw...iw asn't trying to waste your time FYI.
Logged

Joachim Müller

  • Dev Team member
  • Coppermine addict
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 47843
  • aka "GauGau"
    • gaugau.de
Re: [Solved]: Upload:500 Internal Server Error when Uploading
« Reply #19 on: April 09, 2008, 08:07:02 am »

Marking thread as "solved" then. If uploads of such huge files used to work before and have now stopped working, something must have changed on your webserver. This usually happens if your webhost has been adding more shared hosting accounts to the server you're on. You probably only have two options: resize the pics on your client before uploading them (to a resolution that makes sense for use on the internet) and subsequently upload smaller files (in terms of file size and resolution) or ask your webhost to increase the limitations imposed by your webhost (something that they probably won't do for economical reasons).
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.084 seconds with 19 queries.